We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent facilities, great location and proximity to beaches”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Olympia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olympia Lodge
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
312 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Decent facilities, great location and proximity to beaches”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Overall Olympia lodge is a great place to stay, but has limited amenities. The pool happen to be closed when we were there. Great proximity to some of the best beaches in Pacific Grove. We did not get a chance to try it, but we heard the free continental breakfast in the mornings were good, particularly for those staying with kids. The front desk and staff are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brix510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    77
    60
    34
    19
See reviews for
66
98
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
newnan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a lovely, quiet setting and a very convenient location on the end of the main street, close to the shore and a short walk to shops, great restaurants, and the beach. Monterey, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, the Aquarium, Pebble Beach, and Carmel are a short drive away. The building is old and in need or repair. Our rooms smelled terrible! Musty, moldy, mildewy! I had to spray perfume on my bed and in the room just to be able to fall asleep. There is only a small wall heater for heat--this is an area that can be very cool, windy, and damp. There is a good chance you will be needing the heat. The bathroom is old and in need of updating. The whole property needs a good cleaning and complete renovation! The front desk staff were very friendly. The coffee was excellent, and the donuts were the best we ever ate. I would not want to stay here again--it was quite expensive for the poor conditions! The swimming pool was not open and was supposedly "being repaired".

Room Tip: Rooms that have sliding doors facing the parking lot have bright lighting that interferes with sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggirlNewnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merced, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The beds are comfortable. The rooms are nicely decorated but on a budget. It is a nice, clean room. Somewhat dated but nicely refurbished and redecorated. The bathrooms could be updated. The hotel is in a nice area not too far from the beach. The staff is helpful and polite. I recommend the hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOULTORCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Came with an open mind and was pleased when we opened our door to find spaciousness and cleanliness was to priority for these curators. Definitely a good value. We booked two other rooms for family and almost prolonged our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novato, ca
Level Contributor
254 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We got a great price and know the area, so we were happy with the location. Very near Point Pinos lighthouse and a short walk down to the beach.
I would not stay here again completely based on the ridiculous entry to the room via a sliding glass door. It was very hard to lock - lots of shoving and pushing - and because this was your entry and no other windows were in the room we could never have it open for fresh air or have natural light as anyone walking by could look in. From what I could see most rooms had this set up.
The breakfast is Costco muffins, toast , cereal and coffee. You bring it to your room on trays, no room to eat in the lobby. You may also walk to the golf course grill - 5 mins away for a nice breakfast, lunch or dinner if you like.

Room Tip: If you upgrade you may have a balcony, but check to see if entry is via a sliding glass door. Views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
I was very comfortable in my room, the deck and view of trees and even a little bit of the ocean.
I loved the peaceful location and the closeness to the ocean.
Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyLuciana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willits, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

This lodge is clean and very accommodating. Close to the ocean. Nice staff. Continental breakfast, coffeemaker in room, little refrigerator. Can't see the ocean from my room, but just go for a morning walk and walk straight to ocean. Lovely!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terbear5550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
3.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#2 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages
Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages
#1 of 4 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Lodge

Property: Olympia Lodge
Address: 1140 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2398
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympia Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olympia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing