We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They are not handicap accessible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olympia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Olympia Lodge
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“They are not handicap accessible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

I have heard great things about this lodge so every time I am planning a trip to Pacific Grove I try to stay at this hotel. I need a handicap accessible room and for the past two years I have been trying to book a room and they say their handicap rooms are "under renovation". My friends have also had the same problem. I think that this is a lie and that they don't have any handicap accessible rooms which is against the law. I'm looking up online how to report this.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonbartholemew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    77
    59
    34
    19
See reviews for
66
95
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

Don't know why this is listed under specialty lodging it's a motel. The pros and cons-
Location- near the beach but little else in walking distance.
Breakfast- nice that it's included, but the office doesn't open until after 8am- very inconvenient so wasn't able rate (or eat) it.
Room location- although the hotel was nearly empty we were given a room overlooking the parking lot from the balcony and the storage area for a restaurant on the side. Very noisy, so poor nights sleep.
Room- nice decor. Went to shower at 8:30- unfortunately the shower door (glass) was jammed closed and the office was closed (again) as well. My husband was able to jimmy the door open enough to squeeze in.
Internet connection- Nice that's it's free but the signal doesn't reach all the rooms. At check in we specifically mentioned that internet access was critical as we had work to do. Gave up after an hour of trying to stay connected and stood in the parking lot with my computer.
Front desk staff less than helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank restlessbynature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pacific Grove hotels

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

We spent two nights at the Olympia and were very pleased. It is about a 3 block walk to the beautiful shoreline, through forest and we saw several deer along the way. We had an ocean view and balcony. As the lodge is among the trees, our second floor room felt like a treehouse. The rooms seem to have been remodeled quite well and the beds are comfortable. I checked the prices of several other motels in PG and Carmel and the Olympia's were very good in comparison. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 52cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

We stayed at the Olympia Lodge after checking out many other high priced hotels in the area. It was recommened by a local as being clean, quite and a good value. She was right on all accounts!!! The room was very clean and the huge king bed couldn't have been more comfortable. We paid 99.00 for the night, considerably less then the others that we checked out and just as nice. We were given a corner room (2nd floor) with a small deck that had a veiw of the beach in the distance! The room was large and spacious with a great "California" style decor as well as a very high ceiling. The place was very quite, we were able to get a great nights sleep. The staff (check in and out) were very friendly and helpful. It has the added bonus of being just a short 5-10 min walk to the beach! Yes, it could use a little updating but nothing major. The overall experience was just great we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k00lhandluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

My family and I have stayed annually at Olympia Lodge for the past 3 years. The lodge lost my business after today. I called to make a reservation and the manager, Mary Lou, answered the phone. She quoted me a completely different price for two standard rooms that I was interested in. I called a few days ago and was quoted a cheaper rate which is the rate I have been paying annually when I stay there. I told Mary Lou that this is not what I was quoted a few days ago, and I have never paid this rate before. I wanted two rooms with two beds. She said that the two beds is a higher rate, which has never been the case before when I stayed at this lodge. When I tried talking out the price with her she had the nerve to raise her voice and was very rude and unprofessional. Some other friends of mine called because they were interested in staying at this lodge also and encountered the same experience with this manger. This manager needs to improve her customer services skills. It's costing her business.

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank annabringas30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

Since 2004 I have been vacationing several times at year at the Olympia Lodge and absolutely love it! The rooms are clean, quiet, and smell good and the location is convenient and peaceful. I am thankful to have found this jewel and look forward to staying at the Olympia for many years to come.

  • Liked — peaceful and clean
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LalaNorthBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2008

We usually have enjoyed staying here for the Laguna Seca Race weekend for a few years but this year we in-countered some unpleasant problems. Someone entered our room while we were out to dinner the first night and stole our friends; credit cards out of a purse that she tucked away in the dresser drawer. She found out about it only because the next day the bank called to question the charges that were made locally in Sand City the next morning which is 30 minutes north of Pacific Grove. We live in Orange County CA so we could only assume it was some local that stole them. We mentioned it to the Manager and we were disappointed that she was not very sympathetic to the situation and only said we will change the locks the following Monday. The types of locks they have are keyed locks and the rooms are not visible to the office or the street so they can easily be entered. One more thing. We made our reservations a year in advance and paid $275.00 per night, Sunday's rates were the same so we did not stay. Two guys on Motorcycles arrived the same day and were only charged $180.00. So they do charge much more for those who like to plan in advance.

  • Liked — The area it's in
  • Disliked — Un friendly staff and room being entered and cards stolen
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruestan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.0 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
3.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages
Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages
#1 of 4 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Lodge

Property: Olympia Lodge
Address: 1140 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2398
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympia Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Olympia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing