We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware! New Ownership! Not the Same Wonderful Inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old St. Angela Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beware! New Ownership! Not the Same Wonderful Inn!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have been coming regularly to this inn for over 15 years (3x in the past year alone!) and have always loved it. But the inn has a new owner who lives in another state. It is being run by a couple who have no idea how to treat guests. I was screamed at for getting a glass of milk from the fridge, something I have done for years. If the rules have changed, why not inform me in a civill and polite manner? Why be so nasty? We had already noticed a change for the worse in the ambiance but after being subjected to such rude and unprofessional conduct we left early with a heavy heart. So many years, so many lovely memories. We will never return but will always hold a special place in our heart for the 'old' Old St. Angela Inn.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank alicejesset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stangeladm, Public Relations Manager at The Old St. Angela Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
I am sorry you had a negative experience during your last visit. Although the kitchen of an inn is typically off limits to guests due to health and safety regulations, you are right to say that you deserved a kind explanation rather than a terse directive.

As to the changes in ownership and staff, collectively, the new team at the inn has over 75 years’ experience in the service industry. The new owner, not only is interested in his client's comfort and well-being, as proven by both new and planned upgrades to the inn, but is also committed to their intellectual life, as demonstrated by the inn’s new library, which is populated by local authors, like John Steinbeck, tomes chronicling Monterey history, as well as a plethora of key resources on the marine life of our vast and beautiful coastal waters.

We do hope you might reconsider and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    34
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
131
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have been going to the Monterey Peninsula for more than 40 years, so we have tried a lot of places. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We like the location, the amenities and the breakfast was great. This is not the fanciest place, but the prices are also very reasonable, especially for an inn 1 block from the ocean.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I just returned from a quick two-night trip at the Old St. Angela Inn. The Inn is only a block away from the ocean. It has a warm and comfortable feel with spacious and well-appointed rooms. We enjoyed reading in the sitting room by the fire eating the fabulous home-made cookies!

We made last-minute reservations so we got one of the more affordable rooms in what is probably the least desirable location, right beside the breakfast room and kitchen. (Nantucket room) But we are early risers and breakfast is at 8:30 so we were up early enough that the noise was not a problem. The kitchen staff are really quiet in the morning anyway and we were not woken by them. We were close to the road and we did hear the road noise during the day and evening, but the road noise does die down decently in the middle of the night. But definitely bring ear-plugs just to be safe.

The breakfast they serve is fantastic! The food is fresh daily. They always have a wonderfully fresh fruit bowl, yogurt, granola, cereal and a variety of bagels, toasts and fabulous homemade muffins. They also serve a different hot breakfast each morning which was great. Since you are at a B&B and not a restaurant, do not expect to ask them to cook you something different. We saw some reviews of people getting upset because they asked for something else and were told it was difficult to accommodate this. Keep in mind they have set costs and space since it's a B&B. Go out to a restaurant if you are not happy with the set-up. But be assured, the food is fantastic and we had no trouble getting full either morning. A big thank you to the wonderful cooks!

They also serve a great happy hour/appetizer hour at 4:30. They truly put effort into this food and change it up daily. They always serve an amazing home-made dessert along with an array of food and wine. For example, one day we had a great beans, cheese and olive dip with salsa and guacamole and chips, with fresh carrot cake. Another day we had fresh fruit, cheese and crackers and a fantastic home-made brownie. I could not drink any of the wine since I'm pregnant, but my husband said it was great. My only recommendation here is to move happy hour to 4:00, just a bit earlier because we had to leave really early to get to restaurants since the good restaurants got jammed so early. We didn't get much time to enjoy happy hour before we had to leave for dinner.

Overall this Inn is a fantastic value and I am sure you will enjoy your stay. If you are worried about the road noise, plan in advance to ask for one of the two outside rooms away from the road or the upstairs room that faces the gardens. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road facing the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
157 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Great breakfasts and lovely location. Only two blocks from the water. We stayed in the Otter Crest room which faces the garden and side street. It was very quiet and we heard no street noise at all. Lots of good restaurants close by. Diane was very helpful and Julia her helper, was an absolute delight. Afternoon tea with wine and appetizers was a real plus. I've seen some negative comments here about the cost for such small rooms, but this is Pacific Grove after all! You get lot for your dollar here...good food, good location and friendly people. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I would choose a room facing 7 th street for more quiet, although another couple that stayed in one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbymcsnoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was our second time at this lovely bed and breakfast in Pacific Grove. The beach which is really just a rocky shore is only a short block away. The views were fantastic. Breakfasts were very good and they accommodated my need to have a gluten-free breakfast by preparing something special for me each morning (scrambled eggs or an omelette.) My wife and the other guests got gourmet pancakes one morning and a quiche of some sort the next - she said it was very good. Guests gathered in the living room (by the fire) in the early evenings for some wine and a snack. The rooms are clean and well cared for but still have that old home feeling. There was a bit of road noise - our room was right above central avenue - not enough to be a real problem. We will be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The location of this Inn is fantastic, only one block away from the ocean and within walking distance of the Monterey Aquarium. Since it is located in Pacific Grove, it is away from the bustle of Monterey. Also, it's not as commercialized as some of the local B&B's are and the price is reasonable. The rooms are lovely, filled with antiques and having a very comfortable bed. Breakfast is delicious, and served at small tables either inside or out on the patio, not around a communal table, which I don't care for. Every evening the hosts offer wine and snacks along with homemade cookies. The common areas are very inviting with plenty of places to curl up and be comfortable. I've been in several B&B's in the Monterey/Pacific Grove area and this is absolutely the best.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGinSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stangeladm, Manager at The Old St. Angela Inn, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to have you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stopping off during our road trip, we came across this beautiful B&B and decided to stay. So thankful that we did because the hospitality was wonderful from the moment we stepped in. We were welcomed with homemade cookies, cakes and refreshments anytime we wanted. After a long day traveling we sat in the garden and chilled out to the sound of the water feature. Cannery Row is a short walk away as are the fabulous ocean views and wildlife. Our room was beautifully decorated and comfortable. Breakfast was a choice of fresh fruit, cereals, muffins and a special each day. Jerry and Diane are superb hosts and I only wish I lived nearer to visit on weekends! Sadly I don't but I've brought the Inn's own recipe book home to try out until I can return and taste the food like it's supposed to!

Room Tip: We stayed in the bedroom with the red duvet and teddy (see photos for reference. Not taken by me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyCat013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stangeladm, Manager at The Old St. Angela Inn, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
We are so glad you decided to stay with us! We certainly hope you lived closer so you could stay with us more often. Have you tried making any of the recipes in our cookbook? Please let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,966 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.9 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old St. Angela Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old St. Angela Inn

Property: The Old St. Angela Inn
Address: 321 Central Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old St. Angela Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Old St. Angela Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old St. Angela Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing