We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, excellent location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pacific Grove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old St. Angela Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2006

This is a charming B&B. Lovely common areas and in a great spot to walk into Monterey or along the Coast. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Some of the rooms are bigger than others and the road can be noisy if you're facing the ocean. Would definitely recommend a stay here and we look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CBramley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    34
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
129
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2005

This B&B is well run and my wife and me enjoyed our stay there. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. The room was clean and the innkeepers are very friendly. The inn is within walking distance to the beach, Monterey Cannery Row and downtown Pacific Grove. I just rate this B&B with 4 points because a B&B in Santa Cruz was in various aspect even better as Old St. Angela Inn.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2005

I just returned from a 2-night stay, and was so pleased with my experience at the Old St. Angela Inn! I stayed in the Cape Cod room, which did have some traffic noise during the day (as reported by other reviewers) but was very quiet at night. I enjoyed the jacuzzi tub, the pot-belly stove fire, and the big comfy bed. I also loved the gourmet breakfasts which I enjoyed outside in the garden near the small waterfall. The landscaping is truly beautiful, and everything (interiors and grounds) are kept spotlessly clean. I appreciated the many small touches that contribute to making this place so special - the small stained glass window in the bathroom, beautiful furnishings, lighted candles in the living room with delicious hors d'oeurves and sweets in the afternoon, the cold sodas and bottled waters always available for the guests, the cozy teddy bear on my bed. But the absolute best part of my stay was the warm hospitality of the hosts and small staff. I felt welcomed from the moment I stepped into the place, and felt as comfortable as if I was visiting a favorite relative's home. Their friendliness is comfortable (but not intrusive), and their special thoughtfulness towards me was greatly appreciated. I have a new favorite B&B now, and look forward to going back for another stay as soon as I can manage it!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2005

My wife and I celebrated our 3rd anniversary with a trip to Monterey for Labor Day weekend. We stayed at the Old St. Angela Inn and loved it. The staff was very accomodating. I called ahead and initially booked Fri. and Sat. nights. I then realized that Monday was a holiday and added Sun. night. Later my boss told me I had to work Fri. and so I cancelled Fri. night. And last minute on that Friday I was able to leave work early, and fortunately the room was still available! They didn't even complain about my fickleness. Not only that, but Diane set me up with some flowers and a personalized card to be waiting for my wife in our room when we arrived.

We ended up arriving at about 10:30 at night, and that wasn't a problem either. They left a key for us in an envelope outside with directions to our room.

The house itself is fantastic. Very clean and nice and pretty, yet not "stuffy" at all. It just feels like a home you could live in. It's inviting. You don't feel weird about taking your shoes off and putting your feet up on the coffee table. The breakfasts were very good (especially the french toast). And it's close enough to everything.

We stayed in the Crow's Nest and thought it was perfect (all the other rooms we saw looked wonderful too, though the Whale Watch is definitely the nicest, with the most space and a private patio). Plenty of room so you don't feel cramped. The decorations were great and the fireplace made it seem like we were in our own little cabin. I would recommend any of the upstars rooms in particular because they're a little more removed and private than the downstairs rooms.

I don't think I heard any of the other guests the whole time we were there unless we were out in the living room, dining room or backyard. The hosts were friendly and ready to talk/listen, but knew how to stay out of your way as well! We will stay again at the Old St. Angela, and we've already recommended it to friends!

Other tips: Make sure you bring or rent bikes while you're there. Monterey has a great bike path all through town. Don't bother with 17-mile drive. It's not that great.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2005

The Old St. Angela Inn is located on Central Av. in Pacific Grove. Its location on this busy street might be its only drawback.

We found the Inn to be beautifully decorated, and the new Innkeepers/owners, Jerry and Diane, to be very friendly and WONDERFUL hosts! The grounds in the garden area were very nicely landscaped. There are a few tables outside, as well as a firepit for foggy Pacific Grove afternoons/eves. The main floor of the house is a cozy, welcoming area where guests can chat, and the breakfast area, a wonderful sunroom, allows one to look out into the garden while dining on scrumptious breakfast treats. Diane is a wonderful and creative cook, and traditional B&B fare is served up here. During our stay, we feasted on a french toast croissant with raspberries and an artichoke fritatta. Other baked goods available were fresh and tasty as well. Wine and appetizers are also served in the afternoon.

The Inn has nine rooms, according to its website. We chose the Whale Watch room, based on the website, because we wanted to be able to have private outdoor seating with our room, and a view of the ocean. The Whale Watch room is a second story room, nicely decorated in blues and whites, with beautiful antiques as well. Our room had a private bath with jacuzzi tub, which we enjoyed very much, as well as a private patio. The only drawback to our stay was the location of the room above Central Av., which is a relatively busy street, even at night. After walking onto our patio upon arrival, we could see the ocean, but had to overlook the triplex across the street and the power lines. At first, the view was a bit disappointing, but I found I began to appreciate it more, seeing the morning fog bank over the ocean upon awaking, and the clear blue of the ocean in the afternoon. What was hard to "overlook" was the street noise. It really did continue on into the night, and it was hard for us to sleep. We do live in a quiet area, so maybe that makes a difference in our tolerance level. This was our only disappointment on this trip, especially since the Whale Watch room is the most expensive room in the house ($255/night). We did not get to see any of the other rooms, but some that looked worth further investigation were the ones which looked out onto the garden (on a side street). I think that would have been more relaxing due to the noise factor.

Everything else was wonderful... the hosts, the food, the area. We did have a good time, and would come back again, but to a different room.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank montereychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2005

This B&B is tastefully decorated, located within a block from the beach. The owners are very welcoming, friendly and smiling. They serve a great homemade breaksfast. We stayed in the Cape Cod Room and it has a nice antique stove, nice bathroom. This room was in front of the house, facing the street with some traffic noise, but not much. We would definitely return to this B&B to try another of their room!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank xxxLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2004

8 years ago I unexpectedly needed a room for 2 nights in Pacific Grove, and had the extraordinary good luck to find one available at The Old St Angela. Since then I have returned virtually every year, and I look on it now as a second home. The inn is warm, relaxed, and exceptionally welcoming, and Lew and Sue are the gold standard in innkeepers. Not only are they delightful to know, but Lew cooks up a sumptuous breakfast every morning (ask him about playing with the Detroit Lions), which you can either share with other guests in the light-filled glass walled breakfast room, or enjoy at a table in one corner of the lovely little garden this room looks out on. My favorite room is Crow’s Nest, the upstairs corner room overlooking the bay, but I have also stayed in Bayview and Whale Watch: the former is comfortable and intimate, the latter spacious and airy, with a French door opening out onto its own balcony. All 3 have gas fires, plenty of light, a bay view, and much charm. Monterey Bay is a block away, alive with seals and otters, and a recreational walking/biking trail runs for miles along the edge of the bay. The downtown area, with a wide variety of cafes and restaurants, is an easy walk from the inn. This is a wonderful, inviting place to stay...and to come back to!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.0 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old St. Angela Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old St. Angela Inn

Property: The Old St. Angela Inn
Address: 321 Central Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old St. Angela Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing