We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you insist on a quiet room, beware!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old St. Angela Inn
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“If you insist on a quiet room, beware!”
Reviewed 29 September 2006

We booked the Old St. Angela on the strength of the TripAdvisor's recent reviews. We spent two nights there September 2006. While I agree with my fellow tripadvisors comments on numerous postive aspects of the Inn, my overall experience was rated okay due to: road noise from Central Ave. which woke us up repeatedly through the night and the postage stamp size of the closet which necessitated hanging our clothes (we were there for a wedding) around the room. If you do not stay in either the bay view or crows nest rooms your experience will probably be above average certainly not excellent. I would strongly encourage management to get the rooms in the front sound proofed.

  • Liked — Location/quality of furnishings
  • Disliked — Road noise.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay out of the front of the house rooms. Bay View, Crows nest and the one downstairs.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WorldTraveler1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    34
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
131
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Europe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2006

My husband and I booked this B&B for our short honeymoon and were pleasantly surprised. Usually everything on the picture looks better than in person, so we did not expect too much, but this was surely the exception. The Old St. Angela is very nicely decorated, clean and well maintained. Small garden is very cute, too. Even better, the owner first gave us a discount when we were booking a room and then even upgraded it to a nicer one for the same price when we came. Rooms, of course, don’t have TV, but wireless Internet is available. Breakfast is ok and the atmosphere is like at home. You can see that the owners are trying to make your stay special. It is really a perfect place to stay for people that like that kind of accommodation.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — cannot remember anything I did not like
  • Tips/Secrets — take a room on the 2nd floor
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank angella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2006

If you are coming to Pacific Grove this is the place to stay. The rooms are beautiful and leave you not wanting to leave. The inn is 100 yards from the ocean, where I saw sea lions, otters, and starfish. It was incredible! It is also very close to all of the local attractions.

The mornings start out here with a very large and amazing breakfast from scratch. It was like breakfast at grandma's house. The garden is so beautiful, and the fire pit is a great treat in the evening. The hosts of the B&B, Jerry and Dianne really are a big draw also. They are so helpful and really are amazing at making everyone feel right at home.

  • Liked — Amazing room, great food, close to everything
  • Disliked — Loved it all!
  • Tips/Secrets — Check with Jerry and Dianne for things going on in the area!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Traveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2006

My husband and I have stayed at many Pacific Grove B&Bs and found this one very comfortable - while still in the local trend of prissiness that seems to dominate the B&Bs here - at least this one wasn't quite as over the top as some are (no Grecian statues - yea!). It's still girly, but comfy too. The afternoon nibble spread is very nice and breakfast includes both a hot item served to guests, plus cereals, a bread item, fruit and juices. There were some noises in the house at night/a.m. - we could hear neighboring showers easily, but not toilet flushing and only a slight sound of voices now and then. We were on the second floor in back with a king bed. We had one of the larger (largest?) rooms. As an aside, our king bed was two twins together (common in these places where hauling a king mattress up the stairs is impossible). However, one side of it dipped a lot, and rolling toward the center was an uphill roll. Next time we'll get a room with a queen bed. The only reason we didn't give the fifth dot/star was due to the bed, and that we had no dresser at all. We had a large armoire to hang clothes, but had we stayed more than two nights, we would have missed the lack of dresser drawers. The end tables had small drawers where one could fit a sock or two, but it wasn't enough. We heard another room did have a dresser. Also, we had a desk, but no desk chair, which my husband could have used to work. There seemed to be ample room for a chair. The hosts and staff were all VERY nice. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank breadpuddn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 July 2006

We stayed here for a couple of days last week. The rooms and the bath were tastefully decorated. We stayed in the newport room near the garden. We were doubtful about the breakfast noise as the room was near the solarium where the breakfast was served. But there wasn't any noise that disturbed us. The breakfast was wonderful. The hosts were great. We went there at 6.00 pm and weren't planning for the tea time. (which ends at 6.00). But jerry offered to extend the teatime for us. The stay was a very nice experience. Will return.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2006

This is a charming B&B. Lovely common areas and in a great spot to walk into Monterey or along the Coast. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Some of the rooms are bigger than others and the road can be noisy if you're facing the ocean. Would definitely recommend a stay here and we look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CBramley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 November 2005

This B&B is well run and my wife and me enjoyed our stay there. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. The room was clean and the innkeepers are very friendly. The inn is within walking distance to the beach, Monterey Cannery Row and downtown Pacific Grove. I just rate this B&B with 4 points because a B&B in Santa Cruz was in various aspect even better as Old St. Angela Inn.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.0 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old St. Angela Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old St. Angela Inn

Property: The Old St. Angela Inn
Address: 321 Central Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old St. Angela Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Old St. Angela Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old St. Angela Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing