We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay but consider size of your room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old St. Angela Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pacific Grove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old St. Angela Inn
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to stay but consider size of your room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2007

Just returned from a stay at the Old St. Angela Inn 06/16 and 06/17.

We stayed in the Newport Room. This was the only time during our trip to California where saving money was a bad decision. Our room was entirely too small for two people. It was a beautiful room with antiques and the bed was gorgeous. It was immaculate. However, there was barely room to walk and only one chair to sit in. So usually ended up sitting on the bed. I would say that this room is best for only one person. I would stay here again but I would definitely spend more bucks and get a bigger room. I looked next door at the Nantucket Room and it had more space and a love seat for seating. Didn't get a look at the other rooms.

Tip: No TVs here. This came to a shock to my husband especially (likes to watch sports highlights at night) and to me too as I do like to watch some TV when I'm getting dressed or at the end of the day.

On the positive side: The enitre Inn is beautiful. The garden is beautiful and there is a gas firepit which my husband and I sat around at one night.

The breakfast is good, they always had a fresh fruit salid, homemade muffins, bagels, toast, juice, cereal. Coffee and tea are always available. After your seated, they serve you a hot meal. We only had one and it was a vegetable quiche and homefries. Tea was also very good. We only made one but there was a sort of cheese tart very good with bread and crackers, fresh vegetables and dip and a bundt cake. The sweets left over are usually set out to nibble on during the evening.

The owners are very nice and are there if you need help but give you space. We also met a lot of very nice people.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank dapmag3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    34
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
128
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2007

This bed and breakfast is the best! I stayed at the Pacific Grove Inn years ago, and this place is 10 times better. The food is great. The afternoon tea is almost a meal. The bed are extremely comfortable, and the rooms are cozy, comfy, and quiet. The flowers in the garden are lovely. The inn is within easy walking distance to Cannery Row, the aquarium, the recreational bike/walking path, and many great restaurants. Check the menu binder for the innkeepers' recommendations. Takara Sushi, Pepper's Mexicali Cafe, and Hulas are all great. There is also a Carrows right down the street. We stayed in the Lands End room off the garden which was only $140/night. Check this place out, you won't regret it.

  • Liked — Fantastic Food and Value
  • Disliked — Wireless Internet Non-Functional
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank angelab36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2007

This is an excellent B&B, with comfortble rooms and good breakfasts. It also has an attractive garden. We were upgraded to a bigger room on arrival, and the owners were most helpful in recommending restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anon2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2007

We spent Christmas Eve and Christmas Night at the Old St. Angela Inn and we couldn't have asked for a better home away from home. The Inn was more beautiful than it looked in the brochure - the amazing garden in the back was adorable all lit up with white Christmas lights. Our room could have been upgraded for free to one with an ocean view, but we chose to stay in our chosen room off the garden because I just loved looking out the window at it and the room was filled with our favorite Eastlake antiques. Quiet room.

Food - from the "afternoon tea" to the breakfasts was superb. The owner is a gourmet cook and we sure missed those comprehensive breakfasts after we've moved on. She was always helpful and friendly, making dinner reservations for us without us even asking.

Pacific Grove is the perfect place to stay on the Penninsula. Carmel was too perfect and Monterey a little too rundown, but Pacific Grove with its historic downtown and great walking opportunities fit us perfectly. A short walk to the Monterey Aquarium, The Cannery, Harbor Seals and a lovely walk along the ocean in Pacific Grove to the lighthouse. We love to walk and the town is set up so we could walk to just about every restaurant we wanted.

If you go in the winter, be sure to stop at the Butterfly Sanctuary and look up and visit the amazing Christmas light show at Candy Land Lane!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Bellefontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2006

My husband & I stayed at the Old St. Angela Inn this first week in October (2006) and it was wonderful. We stayed in the Whale Watch room. It was very quaint and enjoyed the beautiful antique furnishings. The bed was extremely comfortable and linens were awesome. Granted, we would have rather had a king bed but the view was worth the "closeness!" The Inn is remarkably clean and not the oldness you would think of having an old home and antique furniture. The owners and staff were very nice & pleasant. We met some very nice people. That's one reason enjoy B&B's. It's great meeting people from all over the nation/world. The meals (breakfast & tea time) were extremely delicious. Much more enjoyable than going out to a restuarant.
For those needing alot of quiet for sleeping, this probably not be the place to stay. Yes, there is noise from Central Avenue and sometimes you can hear your neighbors in adjoining rooms, but we have found that B&B folks are very courteous toward others and do not make alot of noise. I feel safe and it feels like home away from home.
Don't expect huge rooms. Remember that this is a old home and the rooms are not huge! We would return to the Old St. Angela. It was lovely.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed, delicious food, nice people
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — book early. enjoy the gas outdoor fire pit at night!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schnauzerlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lathrop, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2006

I stayed here with my mom on Columbus day. When we arrived for check-in they were just finishing up an evening snack spread but Jerry offered to leave it out longer for us. We weren't very hungry so we didn't try the dip that looked tasty but we did have some of the carrot cake and it was very good. Jerry offered us another larger room right next to ours since it was not booked, but since it only had one bed and our room (the Nantucket) had a pull out we declined. The room is adorable just like in the pictures. I slept on the pull out which wasn't too bad. I wish B&Bs had more two bed rooms. My mom slept great on the queen bed and wanted to find out what kind of mattress it is so she could buy it. It was pretty quiet but then again we were so tired we may have slept like the dead. You can hear cars driving past some and the water pipes but it wasn't too bad. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful- apple french toast, yogurt, granola (all homemade), fresh fruit, bacon, different breads and juices. After breakfast we sat outside in the lovely garden and admired the beautiful house. Very nice stay.

  • Liked — coziness and the breakfast
  • Disliked — wish the pull out bed was more comfortable but what can you expect?
  • Tips/Secrets — check in by 5pm? (not sure what time it's put out) to get in on the snack spread
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelle2020--
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2006

We booked the Old St. Angela on the strength of the TripAdvisor's recent reviews. We spent two nights there September 2006. While I agree with my fellow tripadvisors comments on numerous postive aspects of the Inn, my overall experience was rated okay due to: road noise from Central Ave. which woke us up repeatedly through the night and the postage stamp size of the closet which necessitated hanging our clothes (we were there for a wedding) around the room. If you do not stay in either the bay view or crows nest rooms your experience will probably be above average certainly not excellent. I would strongly encourage management to get the rooms in the front sound proofed.

  • Liked — Location/quality of furnishings
  • Disliked — Road noise.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay out of the front of the house rooms. Bay View, Crows nest and the one downstairs.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WorldTraveler1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.0 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
0.1 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#3 of 8 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old St. Angela Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old St. Angela Inn

Property: The Old St. Angela Inn
Address: 321 Central Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old St. Angela Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing