We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Undisclosed Remodeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    201
    69
    26
    15
See reviews for
214
212
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We booked a standard king room because of the photos on their website. My husband has failing vision, and the light, bright nature of the room with a large window over the sliding glass door, was very appealing. When we arrived, the front door of the 3-unit building was propped open. We climbed the stairs up to the third floor, and as soon as we started climbing, the musty smell began. When we opened the door to our room, the smell intensified, and we were shocked at how dark and dank the room was. The beautiful, large window above the sliding glass door was blocked off, so no light came through. Outside our room was a dying oak tree, which didn't help the ambiance or the light in the room. There were multiple stains on the ancient carpet. The only "glasses" in the room were paper cups. Paint on the walls was chipped in places. Had we not paid for our room in advance, we would have left. When I mentioned the window being covered up to the owner upon checkout, she looked perplexed - like she didn't know they were all covered - and said I must've been looking at photos of the suite. I told her I didn't think so, and when I got home I double checked. The title of the photo showing the large window said "Standard King Room". In my book, this is false advertising.

Room Tip: In order to choose a good room, choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojopgrove, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
I do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay with us and would like you to contact me at the Hotel at your earliest conveyance as we are a new management team that has taken over the property and herewith voice your Concern.
Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Disappointed all the way. Owner treated us horridly. Maybe it was because we are young couple celebrating our wedding anniversary that made them not want us there, or the fact that we were dressed nicely right before going to a nice restaurant in Carmel, hard to say but there callous attitude and total lack of customer service is why I am leaving my first really bad review. I have never in my life been treated so badly. We were offered a couple comp nights and apparently they had forgotten or couldn't full fill it. Very sad but it is a weekday and we drove over a hour for our wedding anniversary to have a nice little romantic mini vacation. So at least offer us a room to pay for. We both took time off of work and did a lot of planning for this week of activities. It was a big deal to us. So just offer us a room we have money, we have credit cards etc. Nope they say sorry you came all this way out guess you will just have to drive home. Maybe you can just come back later or something. As if it was no biggy, didn't say well you could pay for a room. We would have been more than happy to. I mean we did pick the place because we thought we were getting it comped but we were planning on doing something either way. . But no, We were about to say, we saw a triple AAA sign, can you at least offer us a triple discount??? Even if they had told us they had nothing available we would have been okay with that theses things happen. But no and judging by the empty parking lot and middle of winter, middle the week I'm going to go with they had rooms. I mean you are a motel right? U take money right? The owner clearly clearly not caring if we were happy or the fact that this was such a special day we left. We decided to go get a cup of coffee and get on our notebook and see what we could find. Being as now it was totally last minute unlike before us thinking we had everything set up for a few weeks before, the motel we got was a little pricey for what it was but it was warm had a cute little fireplace and the people amazingly enough were more than happy to take our money. That night we had a little more time didn't have a reservation to make and found a really nice hotel with a spa etc, also probable a little pricey but was well worth it and no thanks to Howard Johnson we did have a lovely anniversary vacation. Next day got a super nice hotel after being able to have a little more time to look with spa, heated pool the works. So I suppose it worked out for the best, no thanks to them. But sad to say they didn't even offer us a room which in all honesty annoyed us the most. Been treated that rudely was just unacceptable. The owner of this establishment was terrible to us. Have some customer service skills please.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Autumn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojopgrove, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
I would like to take this opportunity in replying to your comments and the unfriendly experience during your wedding anniversary and stay with us,and would like to invite you again to our Hotel as we are under a new Management team and soon to be a different Franchise brand, please do contact me at the Hotel when you do get time.

Ralph Felsinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central california
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have stayed at this location since it was originally built as condos--this is definitely not your typical Howard Johnson. I hesitate to submit this review as I don't want everyone to know this little secret location...so close to Asilomar and the beach, yet totally quiet in the wooded area one block away. Great breakfast, good rooms, very comfortable. The decor could use updating, but who comes for that anyway? We visited during the monarch butterfly migration and were amazed at the beautiful fluttering creatures swarming around us. The ocean--beautiful as ever--and long beach walks were outstanding. Took a leisurely drive down to Big Sur and back one day, the coast is gorgeous this time of year and whales everywhere if you take the time to look. Hiking, beach walks, dining, relaxing. This is what makes a vacation!

Room Tip: Top floors have the largest room, but only one bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamperedheiress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojopgrove, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel! We value your feedback as we put a high emphasis on our guest experience. Please note we are currently renovating our entire hotel as well as upgrading all furnitures, fixtures, equipment, as well as decor. We hope you visit us soon and see the changes we are implementing! Have a great day!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
1.8 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove

Property: BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Address: 660 Dennett St, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3832 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#1 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Green Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and relaxing, the BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove offers spacious townhouse-style accommodations in a quiet neighborhood just minutes from the beach. Explore the incredible coastline from your cozy home, located right off 17-Mile Drive on the incredible Monterey Peninsula. The large guest rooms and suites with high ceilings are comfortable and convenient for discovering the area, and you will love the complimentary high-speed Internet access and deluxe continental breakfast served daily. The Monterey Bay Peninsula is one of the most beautiful slices of the coast of California, and the BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove provides the perfect home base from which to explore all of the area's attractions, from water activities to scenic hikes and wine tastings to whale watching. Nestled between pine and eucalyptus trees in a quiet residential neighborhood, this charming hotel is within walking distance to Asilomar State Beach and Asilomar Conference Grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Monterey Pacific Grove Hotel Pacific Grove
Howard Johnson Pacific Grove
Pacific Grove Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing