We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

We love staying at Lighthouse Lodge our young children love it it's perfect it's really close to the aquarium and to the children's museum. The kids love the heated hot tub. Their prices are really reasonable and they actually have discounts to go to the aquarium which we loved. The first place we book when we want to come to Monterey Pacific Grove area

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mamalalajimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    120
    90
    65
    50
See reviews for
117
170
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

We had driven by this location on a previous trip and thought it looked good. We like the location set among pine trees and walking distance to the ocean and Point Pinos Lighthouse. Our room was in poor shape. The wood door frame in the bathroom was rotted away from repeated water exposure and the doors were in need of refinishing. The afternoon BBQ was a nice idea but of poor quality. We cut our stay short and moved to a better location on Cannery Row. By the way, we did pay more for this better location but we felt it was worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHLCManager, Guest Relations Manager at Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for your review! We have made alot of upgrades to out cottage property as you will find in some of the previous responces to reviews, however we have not yet shifted out focus to the lodge property which is where I believe you stayed with the BBQ. We hope to have all of the lodge doors refinished and rooms repainted by the start of busy season. Hopefully you will join us again on our cottage property and better enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Califonia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

This propery is super close to the beach, lighthouse and monarch butterfly sanctuary. Really a great location. Our room was just okay, your average hotel room with a view of the parking lot. We paid extra for a fireplace that did not function, we mentioned it to the front desk, who said they would get it fixed, they did not. Upon check-out they gave us the rate for a non-fireplace room. The room was dark, furniture arrangement was awkward, and there was an odd spell. The continental breakfast was just your usual unappetizing fare, in a small crowded room. We didn't eat there our second morning. We have decided we would not stay here on our next trip, there are too many better options for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imadoll2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHLCManager, Public Relations Manager at Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
We are sorry to hear that your stay was not everything that you expected. We hope that you will come and stay with is again in out Cottage Rooms, which are entirely updated and come with jacuzzi tubs and chef made breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

REVIEW OF SUITES (not lodge side)

Pros:
Very close to beach (10 minute walk)
Great jacuzzi bathtub
Mini kitchen
Free afternoon appetizers and wine (take advantage of this!)
Free (real) breakfast (take advantage of this!)
Great fire pits in courtyard
WiFi $3.99 a day

Can't say much negative about this place. Don't know what the lodge side is like but the suites are great, especially if you can get one at a discounted price.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Whisk-Chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHLCManager, Guest Relations Manager at Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review!! We have great news!!! Our wireless internet has recently been upgraded and is now offerd complimentry for our guests!! We also have high-speed interet avaliable for a fee for our guest who may require high-speed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

This is my favorite hotel in pacific grove. I travel there quite frequently and have stayed at two other places, but once I found this one I return here every year. Our room was updated and big. We had a living room and a bedroom. There was a stain on the carpet I mentioned to staff, and they mentioned how they are under the process of renovating, totally understandable. Pacific grove is a rustic area and compared to the other hotels around the area it looks the nicest. The food was amazing for breakfast, best breakfast I have had at any hotel. The location is perfect to walk to town or to the ocean. I feel very at home while I am here. Can't wait to vacation there again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nickelback76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHLCManager, Guest Relations Manager at Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review!! Make sure to like us on Facebook to recieve updates on sales and event that may be helpful for your next visit!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

This review is for the Lodge side, the only part that accepts pets. My husband and I like to travel with our dog ~ a Shepard/Rottweiler/Lab mix named Mulligan. Seldom do we all get all of our wishes in one room. This time was no exception. The King size room did have a nice fireplace (My desire), it did accept pets (Mulligan's wish) but the cable TV and the bathroom size were underwhelming (my Hubby's hope). The room was clean with sliding glass doors that opened onto a fire escape sized deck overlooking the parking lot. At check in the staff was friendly and organized, but when it came to ordering the "Room Service" advertised in the room, it simply did not exist.The bathroom as stated was tiny. I could not close the door of the room with the sink, toilet, and tub without putting at least one foot into said tub. The evening BBQ was hotdogs and hamburgers (good for kids, but not for us) and the breakfast on the lodge side was typical of a "Best Western" sort of "buffet" (Formica tables, paper napkins, make your own toast, help yur'self). The cable TV was basic with movies you could purchase, but no premium channels offered. We did walk over to the Cottages side, and peaked into the Breakfast;WOW! linen on the tables, wait service,and a lovely room. All in all I would have LOVED to stay in one of the cottages, but with a dog, ya can't have it all. The room was worth what we paid for it, but for our next trip I think I'll keep looking for the "Trifecta" of all our wishes".

Room Tip: If you're traveling with out a pet choose the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parmsbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHLCManager, Guest Relations Manager at Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
While we do have two seperate properties that offer a different ambiance, we do allow all of our Lodge guest to upgrade to the Cottage Chef Prepared breakfast or afternoon wine and appitizer reception for a fee. Guest are not stuck to partaking in one properties meal options if they would prefer the other properties options. Also, as we do pride ourselves on being pet friendly on the lodge, we also pride ourselves on be able to offer rooms to guest who have pet allergies, and guarentee them a room that has not had any pets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

I stayed here in a king room. Keep in mind the cottages are different then the lodge.The cottages are where the rich stay and we peasants have to stay at the lodge property acorss the street. The lodge property is a dump. Its a neglected falling down old 70's motel. Holes in the bathroom floor, dirty bathroom ,toliet did not work right, faucet on the bathroom sink broken, carpet was so bad I was afraid to take off my shoes. Microwave was a danger and obviously in need of repair. WHen I complained they acted as if I was the problem and not their filthy broken down rooms. They moved me to another room but with a nasty attitude about it. The next room was worse, I stripped the bed just in case of bed bugs as the comforter was, well let me just say, disgusting! The 2nd room was not clean either and had a excessively loud party next door going on until 3 am that they did nothing about. In the breakast they used obviously old food gone bad & past its expiration as I had the trots all day and that was all I ate. A miserable stay. Save yourself and go elsewhere. The only good quality is its walking distance to the beach, lighthouse and for fitness buffs.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Harmony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pacific Grove hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
4.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages

Property: Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Address: 1150 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2360 (Formerly Lighthouse Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lighthouse Lodge & Suites is a boutique hotel that is nestled amid the Monterey Pines, 1- 1/2 blocks from the tip of Monterey Bay and the Pacific Ocean. We are conveniently located next to Pacific Grove Golf Links, Point Pinos Lighthouse & the historic El Carmelo Cemetery. The property has two unique sections located across the street from one another. Each day, we provide a complimentary continental breakfast from 7:00 A.M. - 9:30 A.M. Pool & Spa available for guests. The Cottage property is a thirty-one unit property. Our Cottages have a king size beds, microwave, mini refrigerator and gas burning fireplace in all rooms. The Cottage patio has tables, chairs and fire pits. The Cottages include a daily chef prepared breakfast each morning from 7:00 A.M. - 10:30 A.M. and wine & hors d'oeuvres from 4:30 P.M. - 6:00 P.M every afternoon. We have a variety of meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 40 people classroom style. We also offer group rates for those booking 8 or more rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Lodge And Suites
Lighthouse Resort Pacific Grove
Lighthouse Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing