We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for basic lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good option for basic lodging”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

If you are looking for a basic place to stay with a few amenities, this is a good option in Pacific Grove. Room was clean, bed comfortable, and the free wi-fi was fast - I didn't need to pay for the high speed to access all of my work items. Breakfast was the same daily - scrambled eggs, potatoes, hot oatmeal, one cold cereal option, fruit and toast. Good enough for free. The pool is small. The rooms are showing their age. The bathroom sink counter was limited. The place was not full but it had the potential for being noisy. It seemed like if I had neighbors next to me, I would hear everything because it was somewhat noisy when the neighbors 2 doors down did anything. Definitely ask for the top floor to reduce this issue. Great location and parking is plentiful. Good place if you do not care about anything fancy.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtnLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    121
    97
    66
    53
See reviews for
120
181
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have stayed at this property several times over the past 10 years and it seems to change ownership a lot. This time our room wasn't ready at 3:00 and the clerk took my cell phone to call me when it was ready. She never called, I had to call back. The room is dated and hasn't changed much over the years. The comforter is very worn (looks like it came from a garage sale) and the screen door had a large tear in it. Even though we reported it, it was never fixed. Guess it wasn't a priority. One of the main reasons we like to stay here is the complimentary full breakfast and evening wine/appetizers in the lodge. The breakfast was disappointing as well as the evening appetizers. Seems like they are trying to cut costs and it shows! The cottages are supposed to be remodeled next year and I was told that the general manager is "temporary". I hope they get their act together, because this used to be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have an extra window, which is nice for brightness and fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I made a change in plans so came into Pacific Grove on Wednesday morning with no reservations. The Sunset Inn was sold out and they recommended this property. My room overlooked the cemetery so it was super quiet. The balcony & fireplace were a nice touch. I could hear the ocean at night. The property is worn and needs serious cleaning and remodeling but it was quiet and in a great location. Close to the 17 Mile drive, walk to the beach, close to Monterey Bay Aquarium, golf, restaurants, lighthouse and state parks even Carmel and Big Sur. Reasonable price for the area just needs a facelift.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the cemetery are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a night while we were driving up the coast. The hotel is in a great location not far from the beach, we were able to walk to it in a few minutes. This was great for watching the sunset. The room we had was a corner room on the 2nd floor of the main lodge. It was huge with vaulted ceilings, a fireplace, and a nice balcony. You could see a tiny bit of the ocean from the balcony as well as the cemetery behind the lodge. I actually liked the peaceful view out back of the woods and cemetery. The room itself was very outdated but the price we paid for a Friday night in the Pacific Grove/Monterey area was a very good value. The property used to offer a bbq dinner but they gave discontinued that, I think it is under new ownership. However, they did offer a full breakfast of scrambled eggs, toast/bagles, potatoes, juice and coffee. We would probably stay here again if we could get the same price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Recently visited the Lighthouse Lodge with a group of friends. Wonderful location and we walked everywhere from the Lodge. Very nice and helpful front desk staff...especially Kylie, who was upbeat and cheerful to everyone. Very welcoming and made us feel good being there.
The rooms are a bit "tired" and in need of some updating. I heard that they will start remodeling soon..this is a good thing! The Lodge has great potential so I look forward to seeing the end result. Breakfasts are not so great...we ate in town a couple mornings. They definitely need to change their food selection and get someone who can prepare the basic egg dishes, potatoes and oatmeal. The rates are very reasonable compared to other hotels in the area. A short walk to the beautiful Pacific! nice trails, lovely restaurants, great shops.
Hope to return again.

Room Tip: upstairs corner King rooms...very spacious with nice decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mendovaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio City, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

It was so so - Our room was right on the main road so the passing cars woke us up. The hot water was not hot enough to use the jacuzzi tub properly. A warm jacuzzi does not do the trick. The carpet was stained and needed to be replaced. Because of all this, the price of the room was too high. However, the staff was nice. The deer, hummingbirds, and sound of the surf was beautiful. The breakfast was okay too. I would try someplace else next time.

Room Tip: No AC. Do not get a room on Lighthouse Road. Too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banchewmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The room itself was not bad. Nothing like some other reviewers described- both good and bad. But it lacked the charm some of the other area hotels have and is on the worn side. And for me, it was a drawback that our room didn't overlook the cemetery. A quiet peaceful view would have better than our view of the parking lot. But the beds were comfy, the breakfast was good, and as always the trinity of real mini-coffeemaker (yes i pack my own coffee), microwave and fridge made it a thumbs up over all. The location is just a couple blocks from the coast, which is hard to beat.

Room Tip: If you want quiet and a view in the lodge, ask to face the cemetery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garblefritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#2 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
4.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages

Property: Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Address: 1150 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2360 (Formerly Lighthouse Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lighthouse Lodge & Suites is a boutique hotel that is nestled amid the Monterey Pines, 1- 1/2 blocks from the tip of Monterey Bay and the Pacific Ocean. We are conveniently located next to Pacific Grove Golf Links, Point Pinos Lighthouse & the historic El Carmelo Cemetery. The property has two unique sections located across the street from one another. Each day, we provide a complimentary continental breakfast from 7:00 A.M. - 9:30 A.M. Pool & Spa available for guests. The Cottage property is a thirty-one unit property. Our Cottages have a king size beds, microwave, mini refrigerator and gas burning fireplace in all rooms. The Cottage patio has tables, chairs and fire pits. The Cottages include a daily chef prepared breakfast each morning from 7:00 A.M. - 10:30 A.M. and wine & hors d'oeuvres from 4:30 P.M. - 6:00 P.M every afternoon. We have a variety of meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 40 people classroom style. We also offer group rates for those booking 8 or more rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Lodge And Suites
Lighthouse Resort Pacific Grove
Lighthouse Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing