We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monarch Resort
Nearby Hotels
Sunset Inn(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Deer Haven Inn(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Butterfly Grove Inn(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Gardens Inn(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lovers Point Inn(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$124
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
US$341
US$300
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosedale Inn(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monterey Peninsula Inn(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
US$186
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
34
70
36
23
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
70
36
23
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheated poolhard boiled eggsnice place to staymonterey areawe've stayedbalconyfireplacecerealoceansignaldeer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Very clean and nice staff , good continental breakfast too. The pool is a salt water pool w a hot tub as well, only bad thing is how the pool closes early, feel it should be open later but thats just my opinion

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Staying at the Monarch Resort in Pacific Grove has become a yearly anniversary tradition for us. This Spring we included our lifelong friends who we flew in from the East Coast to enjoy a three week trek from San Francisco to Big Sur.

I look forward each year to our stay at the Monarch! It may not be the fanciest lodging on the peninsula (we’ve stayed at those too), but it offers everything we need, and does feel like our home away from home when we’re in the area. It’s all about the extra personal touches. The thoughtful desk clerk assigned us the exact same room we had last Spring! We all stayed a week at the Monarch this trip. Each room was clean, and restocked each day, as always. Large, comfortable, quiet rooms with a microwave, fridge, and a touch or romance. A fire log is placed in the fireplace each day, and evening burning provides relaxing down time. An exquisite touch I appreciate!

This year we bought Aquarium tickets at the hotel which charged a nominal fee (3.00 regardless how many tickets you buy), but… tickets are valid for 2 days! Our guests went to the Aquarium the second day, we opted to shop on Cannery Row. When we were finished shopping before our guests, it was great to get back into the Aquarium with tickets used the first day, and we did see a couple exhibits we had missed the first day. I would encourage everyone who has an interest in going to the Aquarium to purchase your ticket at the Monarch, as this came in handy for us. FYI wheelchairs are available if anyone in your party has a need for one, and they’re free of charge for use inside the Aquarium. Continental breakfast was as good as other visits. Parking is free. Internet is free. There is a sauna, hot tub and pool on property. Each room also has a little balcony. Additionally, the grounds keeper must be a horticulture genus… providing lovely plants and flowers all around the property.

A delightful stay again this year!

Room Tip: Room 222 last room on the left!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for a night. We were a group of 3 families, with children ranging from ages 3 to 13. Good experience. Friendly staff. Only thing I didn't understand was the price difference between a room with fireplace and without fireplace.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gladyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My wife and I tried this motel for the first time as we visit Pacific Grove two or three times a year. It is an older place that had been renovated to some degree. The staff was welcoming and pleasant. The room was average but was clean and orderly. I was impressed by the bath towels that were Real towels not the usual "motel quality" thin pieces of cloth. Maid service was very good. The price for the room was great. The only real negative we experienced was a ceiling fan we couldn't use because it wouldn't stop clicking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

After reading glowing (recent) reviews on Tripadvisor, we booked two rooms for one night. Our room, 107, was dated but clean. Most of the older reviews citing filthy carpets, dirty bathroom,etc., did not apply to our experience. HOWEVER .... my husband and I both awoke simultaneously early in the morning, petrified, after having simultaneous nightmares. (Not the same nightmares, but similarly frightening.) After talking for a few minutes, we fell back into fitful sleeps to awaken again after both having nightmares (different ones). We were, frankly, freaked out. The fact that we had nightmares at all was amazing, since there was a mysterious, loud sound of water flushing every 10 minutes or so from approx. 1 a.m. to about 5 a.m. with no one in the adjoining room (this was designated as the breakfast room). When we checked out, bleary-eyed, the next morning, I made a point of our unsatisfactory experience. The desk clerk noted she couldn't authorize a discount or refund for the room and directed the maintenance person to investigate the mysterious water noise. We were grossly disappointed in the quality of our experience, including "breakfast," which was probably purchased at Wal-Mart. The family members in the other room,down the hall, also heard water in the middle of the night but were not plagued by nightmares or bad vibes. I can attest that the feeling in their room was vastly different and pleasant. Stay away from room 107 or this motel at all!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 559Rosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews