We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Bakery on the Peninsula”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pavel's Backerei

Pavel's Backerei
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best Bakery on the Peninsula”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hands down, this is by far the best bakery on the Peninsula. Be prepared for gargantuan portions (great for sharing!) and budget friendly prices that will make you wonder if they forgot to ring out part of your order. The freshest bakery items are all made to perfection. There is usually a line here, but the staff works quickly so be ready to order. If there is something you want that you don't see, ask, as often times they rotate items on display and have other options in the back. There is very little seating available and it can be quite chilly inside, so you may want to make your order to go. You can also phone ahead to place orders, especially for popular items that go quickly, such as the cinnamon bread. Everything is delicious and you won't be able to stop yourself from coming back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank worldwidewyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    28
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mukilteo, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stop for Coffee and a Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

On a recent revisit to Monterrey my cousin's took me to this wonderful bakery. This health nut just stood there in awe at all the indulgences laid before me in the display window. I treated myself to a lovely, warm, buttery croissant-plain. I was in heaven. I did taste some of the treats my cousins brought home which were equally devine. The locals hang here to so stop and enjoy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank catchasunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Don't take your counter with you here because the pastaries are worth every calorie. Actually the best bear claw ever!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank oaspms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The best??”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Yea, Pavel's rates right up there! Arrive as early as possible for the best selection; noon and everything's picked over. The pastries, bread and cookies are all fabulous. Try a bombolini, coconut macaroon and their range of breads. Minuses: 1. Pavel's is closed on Mondays and 2. we only can visit once a week or there goes the waist line!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1globetrekker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great local bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Made it to Pavel's for the first time. The chocolate croissant was huge & terrific. The multi-grain bread was great as was the mixed cheddar bagel. Cute store, everything seems fresh. I have a nut allergy and was pleasantly surprised how the staff was knowledgeable about ingredients. I will go there again the next time I am in town!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank montereydream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pavel's Backerei also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Pavel's Backerei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing