We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not be Better”
Review of Pavel's Backerei

Pavel's Backerei
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Could not be Better”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I teach Baking and Pastry and this bakery is amazing. Don't expect a glamorous seating area or fancy interior, but the goods are wonderful!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    29
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Get there early!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

That was a recommendation from a previous guest via Trip Advisor so we thought...let's check it out. Not taking the time to check what time they opened, we took an early morning stroll in that direction. We arrived at the door fifteen minutes till 7....they open at 7am. One lady in line...says she's never been there, but has heard it was good. Thinking we had time, we strolled up the block but upon seeing another person arrive in line, though it best we head back. Five minutes till 7 and all these people show up seemingly out of nowhere! There was a line of at least 15-20 people waiting for the doors to open at 7! My son had a donut the size of his head!! Actually, all 3 of us shared it. Fresh baked breads, pastries, croissants...heaven!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank helovesmedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Get there early!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stumbled upon this bakery our first day in Pacific Grove. We arrived shortly before closing time and there were literally 3 loaves of bread and a half of a chocolate cake left. The chocolate babka cake was moist like a pudding cake due to the ganache baked right in. Yum! We came back the next morning to a line out the door and the case fully restocked. The wide array of delicious pastries with an Italian influence made it hard to decide! Bomboloni (Italian doughnuts), were light and airy. The breads were fresh and crusty. Croissants weren't as flaky on the outside as you typically find, but I actually liked the crustiness: really different and still buttery and flaky on the inside. We also tried the potato pizza and the salami pizza. We took them on a picnic on the beach and ate them at room temperature. While they were tasty, I think they would be better warmed.
As you stand in line, you can watch the pastry chefs making more goodies in the kitchen. Everything is clearly handmade and everything we tried was a winner. A must-visit while in this town!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrm1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Level Contributor
215 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Always a line”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This local gem has fresh breads rolls and breakfast goods is wonderful But the bake goods can sell out so make this an early stop. Everything is fresh.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A local treasure”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is one of those places you can find by following your nose...the scent of fresh bread and pastry is intoxicating. One weekends you can also spot it by the long lines. Once in the door you will be distracted by the displays that always temp you to buy something more than you planned. People in line are happy to share their favorites. The breads are wonderfil, particlarly the 9 grain and Shepherds loaf. My weakness is the berry cream cheese danish but it is hard to resist a cherry turnover when they have them. The doughnut and apple fritter are the size of a dinner plate and so delicious you'll be surprised at your ability to eat the whole thing. The only thing I don't care for are the very popular cinnamon rolls but in fairness I love to bake and cinnamon roils are my specialty!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poroyart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pavel's Backerei also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Pavel's Backerei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing