We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best French bakery on the Monterey Bay hand's down”
Review of Patisserie Bechler

Patisserie Bechler
Ranked #2 of 4 Dessert in Pacific Grove
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Pacific Grove, Ca
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best French bakery on the Monterey Bay hand's down”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Patisserie Bechler is a local favorite for the best in Alsace-Lorraine cuisine. It opened in 1984. Chef Bechler can thank the mother of his children for giving this place the warmth and feel of the area he calls his homeland in France, complete with a stork on the roof! I remember when the wall mural was being done to depict his hometown in France....Marie was so excited about it.
This local treasure continues to consistently provide wonderful dishes and top of the line desserts. If you want to have a truly enjoyable meal and feel a bit of France as well, try Patisserie Bechler. This visit today for a quick lunch provided us with a delicious roasted vegetable soup and sandwich. We wished as we got on with our day that we took some soup home for later! During the holidays we order his quiche for Christmas morning and New Year's Day. The best!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debinmonterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    8
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
On the road again
Level Contributor
1,117 reviews
599 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
“Bakery Heaven if you like real authentic French pastries”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Was visiting from Florida and saw this old shabby building with a B on, with a sign that read Bakery Open. Being a sort of world baked goods connoisseur I said even though building looks dumpy better check it out.

To my amazement when inside this was the real deal even better than Paris and I am in Northern California. Try anything with Apple, Almonds, Pear, Quiche whatever. Frankly it is all good and a great value for the quality received.

You will not be sorry but the scale will trend up next time you step on it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorVonCueBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Best croissants in the US best quiche ANY where”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This bakery is fantastic. The owner is from Alsace Loraine , he make te best quiche I have eaaten anywhere!
In action, his pastries are fantastic...especially the almond croissant, desserts, Christmas cakes,
Cookies ,etc.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laoban173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a side trip off cannery row!”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

On our last trip to Monterey Bay, we got a tip from some of the locals to try Patisserie Bechler. Fantastic! True bakeries with their own specialties are becoming more and more scarce. This bakery offers authentic French pastries for breakfast and a delicious lunch menu for the afternoon. If you are headed to Point Lobos or the Carmel Mission from Monterey Bay... take a scenic ride up Forest Avenue and pick up your goodies on the way.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLSThousandOaks_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
312 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Coffee and cakes”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Afternoon coffee and cakes were delicious and tied one over until a late dinner. The cakes were sweet and the coffee was fresh - just what the doctor ordered.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcmonScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Patisserie Bechler also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Patisserie Bechler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing