We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, maybe 3.5...”
Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Okay, maybe 3.5...”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I'm definitely comfortable saying the Sunset Inn was better than average, but "very good" is pushing it a little -- I'm a teacher, so I want to grade accurately!
We had a King Suite, in the back of the property, and even though the building is older, the room was recently painted, and clean. The shower, as others have said, was very hot and nice. Our suite had a full kitchen, which was very old-school with gold-flecked Formica counters and old electric stove, but everything was clean and usable -- it would have been nice, though, if the website had a little more detail about what was provided in the kitchen. We did manage to locate enough dishes and pots, but were surprised that a few kitchen basics, like teakettle, paper towels, and dish-soap, weren't provided.
It was nice to have a balcony -- the two units in back have them -- but I don't know why the website described a "forest view." Both balconies look out on the driveway and other units, and the view is of the other guests walking to and from their rooms. Still, you get afternoon sun and, if you stare hard, you can see a patch of ocean! We were spending most of the daytime out and about, of course, but one thing that could be an issue if you planned to spend much time inside was that this unit was over the laundry room, and around 9:30-10:00am, a very loud and vibrating noise intermittently shook the room -- I don't know if it was some kind of generator or boiler just below us, but it was a little alarming when it first started.
The website booking/follow-up was actually one of the least fun parts about staying here: we booked our two nights separately, as one night was available with a lower rate that way (?). But for some reason, one of the bookings didn't go through, and there were several phone calls back and forth to secure both nights' bookings. Soon after we returned home from our trip, I received an online survey from the Inn, with a discount code offered for completing it. I did the survey...no code. I emailed the Inn to ask for the code...no reply.
We would stay here again -- it's clean and comfortable, and a nice location. But if someone we trusted recommended another place...eh, we'd probably check that out.

Room Tip: The two suites in back felt more private and quiet (except for the morning generator noise)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BarbaricYawp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    275
    83
    29
    20
See reviews for
115
502
45
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

On a recent business trip, our meetings were going to take place at the Asilomar Conference Center. While Asilomar is a beautiful place, I wanted to stay in a place that had a few more amenities - and Sunset Inn turned out to be a really great option.

This cozy hotel - made up of a series of rooms that open onto a long driveway - was just down the lane(less than a mile I think) from the Asilomar Conference center. The hotel has clearly been renovated in the last couple of years, and it was clear that a lot of effort went in to making this a really clean, comfortable destination. Everything at the hotel was extremely clean and well-maintained.

My room was an upstairs 'suite' that included a king size bed, nice sitting area and sofa, and a large flat-panel TV. The room also had a nice balcony with chairs that would be great to sit in with breakfast or a glass of wine in the afternoon. The room also had a full kitchen (I didn't use it - but it would be fantastic if you were staying at the hotel for more than a few days or with a young child). The bathroom was large and had stone floors and travertine shower enclosure that was very nicely done. There was a large jacuzzi tub (I didn't use it) with a shower option as well. I think that some of the rooms have a fireplace option - but my room didn't have one (and I knew that since the online reservations system told me EXACTLY the amenities that my room would include).

My room included a continential breakfast that was what I would expect... Bagels, coffee, juice, and yogurt - that you could eat in the small lobby OR take back to your room on the trays provided for that purpose. It was a nice start to the day.

The hotel is just a block or two (certainly walking distance) from the sand and walking trails of Asilomar State Beach. Beautiful.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone heading to the Pacific Grove area that wanted a clean, cozy, well-run and affordable place to stay near the water.

Room Tip: There are two upstairs rooms at the end of the property that seemed like a very nice option. Their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkSandieg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at the Sunset for 3 nights and it was brilliant. The room was one of my favourite over the entire holiday. The bathrooms were stunning and the beds were lovely and comfy. The staff were very pleasent, and with it being a two minute walk from the sea it was a fantastic location aswell. I would definately recomend this hotel to anyone staying in Monterey.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123California123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The Sunset Inn has done a nice job of remodeling their bathrooms since we last stayed there with faux stone floors and large showers. The rooms remain somewhat spartan though quite clean. We paid just $73 for our standard king and it was a good value. My two negatives are the baseboard heater, which never did get the room warm on a cool, rainy April evening, and the meager breakfast, which didn't even include cold cereal. Otherwise, a quiet, comfortable stay in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holmes49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at the Sunset Inn for one night during our last trip. The rooms were very clean and updated. The front desk was extremely helpful and the breakfast was an unexpected surprise! The room wasn't large that the breakfast was held in but there were trays to take food back to the rooms which was even nicer. If you want to, reserve bikes through the front desk and they will be waiting for you at the hotel rather than having to go in town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keoh1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire england
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I am not quite usre how this to get be number one in Pacific Grove. The room is fairly spartan , the lighting is horrible and the breakfast was a muffin or bagel at a little table in the motel office. If you just want a bed for the night fine. If you think you've bee nsmart by getting at the number one rated accommodation in Pacific Grove... but certainly not value for money.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanCheshireEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGSunset, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Let me first apologize that you did not feel that your experience was a great one. That is our priority. I apologize that our breakfast offerings did not suit your taste, however due to our limited space, we do not offer a full service meal. We definitely could have recommended some fantastic breakfast spots though.

In terms of our #1 ranking, the great thing about Tripadvisor is that the hotel does not have any influence regarding the ratings or its rankings. Therefore, achieving a #1 rating is based solely on feedback by guests, such as yourself. We continually strive to set our hotel apart and provide a wonderful experience, and although some will not always enjoy this, on the whole our guests leave our hotel very much satisfied thus resulting in our #1 rating.

Thank you again for your review!

Sincerely,

Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed in a queen room with fireplace. It was clean, quiet and an excellent location. Very close to everything yet in it's own quiet setting. Great shower. Would definitely stay here again. Also Barbara the host was very helpful and we were able to buy tickets to the Monterey Sea Aquarium at a discount. The inn seemed to offer some special touches (italian style bathroom tile, hardwood floors, fireplace) compared to other similarly priced motels in area. Felt more like an inn than motel.
Not sure the bed was actually queensize. It seemed smaller. We are both tall and a queen is always a good choice for us. Maybe what is called the king room would be a better choice if bed size is different. This didn't affect our desire to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGSunset, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for your review!

I am pleased to hear we were able to make your experience a memorable one! As far as the bed is concerned, we definitely have queen beds in our queen rooms. As you mentioned though, a king is definitely bigger and we would be happy to upgrade you to a king should you choose to return back to stay with us!

Thank you again for your review!

Sincerely,

Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
594 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Property: Sunset Inn
Address: 133 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2094
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1939 historic landmark is located one half block from the Pacific and right next to Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy redesigned rooms with wood floors, plush beds and linens, and large flat screen televisions. Free wireless Internet access and continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Pacific Grove
Sunset Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing