We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little quiet place for a get-a-way!”
Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
San Mateo, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little quiet place for a get-a-way!”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights for our trip to Monterey/Carmel and found that it is the perfect location to be near both. It is very nice and quiet in Pacific Grove away from the noise of Monterey/cannery row, yet you are just minutes away! The room had everything we needed and it was very very clean. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    268
    82
    29
    20
See reviews for
102
490
42
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Sunset Inn. Barbara at the front desk made us feel so welcome. It was a nice break from the big hotel chains like Hyatt and Westin.

The rooms are absolutely beautiful and the huge jacuzzi tub was awesome. Unfortunately, our fireplace didn't work too well (very tiny flame) but it was nice just the same. The only major minus is that the plumbing was extremely loud in our building (we were in the very back building). When the room next-door used the sink or showered, it would wake us up ... and we're not light sleepers.

The location was only a couple miles from downtown Monterey and very close to the ocean. The day we arrived, the PCH was so foggy from San Luis Obispo to Monterey that we couldn't see the ocean much. Fortunately, Sunset Inn is close enough to Big Sur that we were able to go back and explore that amazing area again the next day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leashfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We booked last minute for the Concours at Pebble Beach and were wonderfully surprised!
The location is wonderful as it is out of the fray and traffic, but easily accessible to everything. We had a vehicle, but the trolley which takes people all around the peninsula stops right there. We were a short walk to the beach, short drive to 17 mile drive and many food choices within a 5-10 minute drive. The unit was very comfortable with a king bed, jacuzzi tub/shower, fireplace and flat screen tv. Parking was off the street and ample. The units as well as the area were very quiet. Clean, comfortable, accessible with a helpful, friendly on site manager. The Sunset Inn was a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Had a good stop here for a night on our honeymoon. The inn is a short half mile walk/run to the beach. The shower was very spacious and probably the highlight of the room. Room was nice and clean. It isn't high end luxury, but it is a nice, clean, modern room. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Booked online at the last minute based on TripAdvisor reviews and got just what I expected: recently remodeled large queen bed room with electric fireplace, Cute, and clean, with friendly manager. Pluses: short walk to ocean, lighthouse, and free trolley to downtown Pacific Grove and Monterey Bay Aquarium (during summer), which Barbara pointed out upon my arrival, modest breakfast, adequate parking. Minuses: mattress seemed extra firm, not what I'm used to; noise from refrigerator in room. Great getaway place; I'd stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nayasabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bredsten, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here for one night during our trip down the coast, and we were really positively surprised by this hotel! BIG rooms included a spa, own kitchen as well as a terrace! Everything looked really good, and receptionist was very helpful to answer all our questions!

Beach is very nearby, and this has very good views as well!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone - but treat yoursel and stay more than just one night :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidispeedway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is not a fancy place, but cute wth a very clean room. Room was small, but not a problem for us. Barbara, at the front desk was very nice. A very lovely short walk to the ocean, and a very short drive to Monterey. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpcdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.8 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
279 reviews
2.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
579 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
824 reviews
2.3 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Property: Sunset Inn
Address: 133 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2094
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1939 historic landmark is located one half block from the Pacific and right next to Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy redesigned rooms with wood floors, plush beds and linens, and large flat screen televisions. Free wireless Internet access and continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Pacific Grove
Sunset Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing