We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than advertised!”
Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than advertised!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Sunset Inn is better than the pictures, quiet, close to the ocean/ bay. The accommodations are VERY homey. The entire property is IMPECCABLY maintained, including the rooms.
I will stay here anytime I am in the area!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    253
    80
    27
    20
See reviews for
92
471
37
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Convenient to Asilomar for a walk by the sea and a short walk to town. Awesome bed & fireplace! The Fishwife restaurant is down the street for excellent seafood. We especially liked the rain shower, since two could use it at the same time! Friendly staff called to remind me of the checkin time,as we were running late.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Friendly service, nice location in Pacific Grove. Lots to do in this area. We stayed two nights and spent some time in Monterey. It was great to come back to this quiet little area after a busy day. The room itself was comfortable. No elevator which wasn't a problem for us but might be for some getting to the second floor. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
178 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is our second visit to the Sunset Inn. Last year we chose it because of its top rating on Trip Advisor. It lived up to that rating. It is still a very nice place, but they need to do some work to keep up their rating. On the good side, the location cannot be beat for a motel in this price range. Just a short walk from Asilomar State Beach, on a pretty quiet street, and comfortable rooms.

But some examples of lack of attention to detail include the following. They have dropped their breakfast. It was just bagels and juice and coffee and rolls, but it was very convenient. There is no restaurant within walking distance. We brought breakfast supplies, but that meant a cooler, etc.

Our room (109) was nice, but up some covered stairs. The automatic lights over the stairs do not come on until around 8 pm, well after dark in the winter, making the stairs hazardous. If you are here in the winter, get a room that does not involve stairs.

Maybe they have not changed since last year, but the towels are quite thin.

The bed was fine, but it is not too far from needing to be replaced. The window hardware failed when the window was opened.

We would come back again, but with lowered expectations. The management needs to pay closer attention, or the rating of this property is going to slip.

The cleaning people were very friendly. The manager not so much.

Room Tip: stay away from rooms with stairs until they fix the lighting problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank harvey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The rooms are the best feature of this inn, with location a close second. Rooms are clean, decor is nice (fireplace, hardwood floors). Apparent re-models and a lot of good housekeeping goes into making these older rooms look good. Only downsides -- unwelcome noise in the bathroom (shared wall with TV in next room) and outside (coming and going of guests to their cars, and housekeeping carts). It's not a huge deal, but I guess that's the thing with motels. Very easy access to downtown PG and the beach. Loved that convenience. Beautiful area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swandling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just spent the weekend here with our family (7 rooms) - it was very nice and an excellent location for getting out and walking - less than 5 min walk to the beach. Pro: Location and unique room set ups. Pictures on the website are accurate. Rooms were clean, nice little happy hour at night. Nice fireplace in room for winter. Cons: Some rooms were a bit small & no A/C. Will return for sure. Service was very nice & rates were pretty good.

Room Tip: For a King room 110 was nice and a bit larger than most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vijocass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

spacious quiet clean.it is always a pleasure to check into a hotel like Sunset Inn without ever having to go back to the front desk to complain.It is as advertised.Would definitely return.The hotel is also close to wonderful coastal walk and bike path.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheriki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.7 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.2 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Property: Sunset Inn
Address: 133 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2094
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1939 historic landmark is located one half block from the Pacific and right next to Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy redesigned rooms with wood floors, plush beds and linens, and large flat screen televisions. Free wireless Internet access and continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Pacific Grove
Sunset Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing