We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sunset Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Room was nice and clean, proximity to the beach and walking around Asilomar could not be beat. Quiet, and cozy, only problem was cold water in shower, however, it was VERY cold weather and early in morning when attempted shower. Don't know if that had anything to do with it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    245
    79
    27
    18
See reviews for
88
457
35
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a fireplace/jacuzzi/king room and enjoyed the stay except our first night the water in the jacuzzi would not get hot even though it was on the hottest setting. Other than that had no complaints, saw deer walking across the street in front of the inn. Got to see several whales in the bay that is walking distance from the inn. The second night the jacuzzi was nice and toasty so I don't know why the problem the first night. Also a golf course about a block away, only 5500 yards but several hole right by the ocean






Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank canesfam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Beautifully decorated. Loved the fireplace. The bed was very comfortable. Loved the close proximity to the beach. The onky problem was the shower. It would only run hot water or cold water only. It would not mix the two to get warm water. We did notify the front desk so.hopefully they will fix that. I would stay.there again despite the water problem. Very

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antelope, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Sunset Inn is a perfect little spot to stay when in the Monterey area. Very quiet and charming and a great location near Asilomar Beach and Pacific Grove golf course. Very clean rooms and comfy bed . Very friendly and helpful staff made our stay here a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed in two other hotels in addition to the Sunset Inn on my recent travels to Cali...and I must say, those two pricier hotels couldn't beat the charm of this place. A block away from Asilomar Beach, so close to 17 mile drive/Pebble Beach, and the lovely downtown Pacific Grove...all contribute to this subdued setting, away from the crowds of Monterey. It was so quiet at night...you could hear the waves crashing on the rocky beach a block away. You can take a stroll on the beach at sunset, and just really cast aside stress for a stolen moment. Turn off your phone, your gadgets, and take it all in. It's nice not having to fight through crowds to get to the beach. The room, albeit not new, is easy to access (no long hallways, parking garages, elevators to contend with), felt fresh and inviting with warm colored walls, had a small fridge, a coffee maker, fireplace and recently updated bathroom. I loved the pebble mosaic floor of my shower. Overall, the interior felt very reminiscent of a coastal New England cottage. The only con, would perhaps be that the linens were gently worn (then again, that may contribute to the charm). I've had high maintenance moments in my life, particularly in my youth, where I wouldn't have considered this inn because it didn't have a grand view or atmosphere...but I'm glad I did. Absolutely no regrets, and I will certainly stay here next time I'm in the Central Coast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Sunset Inn is better than the pictures, quiet, close to the ocean/ bay. The accommodations are VERY homey. The entire property is IMPECCABLY maintained, including the rooms.
I will stay here anytime I am in the area!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Convenient to Asilomar for a walk by the sea and a short walk to town. Awesome bed & fireplace! The Fishwife restaurant is down the street for excellent seafood. We especially liked the rain shower, since two could use it at the same time! Friendly staff called to remind me of the checkin time,as we were running late.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
2.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.2 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Property: Sunset Inn
Address: 133 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2094
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1939 historic landmark is located one half block from the Pacific and right next to Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy redesigned rooms with wood floors, plush beds and linens, and large flat screen televisions. Free wireless Internet access and continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Pacific Grove
Sunset Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing