We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

It has a cute little fireplace and is right next to Asilomar beach. They were super nice after having a horrible experience at the Howard Johnson in PG. The only reason I don't give it five stars is if you stay on the bottom floor there is a light that glares right into the window. So I suggest getting a towel or something to cover it. But other than that is was very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Autumn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (818)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 818 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed one night at the Sunset Inn on our way up to Napa. We had the superior king room with (gas) fireplace. The room was quite small but had everything we need. New furnishing and wooden floor - not bad for a motel. Breakfast (included in room rate) was served in the office and was just coffee and pastry so we ended up going to Frank's. I agree with other reviewers that the place was a bit overpriced for what it offered.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a stop in Pacific Grove for one night on our trip up north. We arrived around 7:30 p.m. in the evening so we didn't get to really enjoy the area as much as we would have liked since it's very close to the state beach. In the tiny front office, we did pick up a coupon for a free appetizer of a nearby restaurant that the woman in the office recommended. The restaurant was great. She also gave us a tip about not walking at night because of the deer and other wildlife that roam a bit more freely in the area so that was helpful. We stayed in a room that was adjacent to this driveway with limited parking. There was supposed to be enough parking available but when we came back from dinner, all of the spaces were gone. Luckily someone left, and we were able to get that space. This property was basically a motel which made the price we paid seem a bit much given that we could stay at a much nicer place for the same price. The outside light to our room was out, but it was a well-lit area. The room was small but it looked nice. The bed wasn't that comfortable though. We like a firm bed, and we found it to be too soft. The fireplace was a bit disappointing in that the flames didn't go very high at all, it didn't emit much heat, and it timed out very quickly. The actual wall heater was super loud all night with knocking and pinging. The next morning, my husband said he found a hair underneath his pillow which had freaked him out all night long so he didn't sleep well. And there was a hair in the tub so I didn't take a bath in the tub and opted for the shower. The next morning, we had to really work with the shower handle to get the water to the right temperature. It wasn't very easy to work with. We are surprised that this property rated so highly because we thought it was overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solana711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Room was nice and clean, proximity to the beach and walking around Asilomar could not be beat. Quiet, and cozy, only problem was cold water in shower, however, it was VERY cold weather and early in morning when attempted shower. Don't know if that had anything to do with it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a fireplace/jacuzzi/king room and enjoyed the stay except our first night the water in the jacuzzi would not get hot even though it was on the hottest setting. Other than that had no complaints, saw deer walking across the street in front of the inn. Got to see several whales in the bay that is walking distance from the inn. The second night the jacuzzi was nice and toasty so I don't know why the problem the first night. Also a golf course about a block away, only 5500 yards but several hole right by the ocean






Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank canesfam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Beautifully decorated. Loved the fireplace. The bed was very comfortable. Loved the close proximity to the beach. The onky problem was the shower. It would only run hot water or cold water only. It would not mix the two to get warm water. We did notify the front desk so.hopefully they will fix that. I would stay.there again despite the water problem. Very

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bonnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Sunset Inn is a perfect little spot to stay when in the Monterey area. Very quiet and charming and a great location near Asilomar Beach and Pacific Grove golf course. Very clean rooms and comfy bed . Very friendly and helpful staff made our stay here a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,988 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
605 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
839 reviews
2.3 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 133 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2094
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range: £103 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1939 historic landmark is located one half block from the Pacific and right next to Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy redesigned rooms with wood floors, plush beds and linens, and large flat screen televisions. Free wireless Internet access and continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Pacific Grove
Sunset Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing