We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay, clean, great price close to beach”
Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay, clean, great price close to beach”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed one night at Sunset Inn and was quite pleased for the price I paid for with advance rate (<$100). The room was cozy with a large fireplace and large bed. The room was spacious with a mini fridge and coffee maker. As in other reviews, I also had an issue with the hot/cold shower faucet trying to maintain "warm" water. I eventually turned it all the way to the left and it was tolerable. I agree that there was outside noise that came in whether that was from thin walls or lots of windows, I do not know. I had an end unit and would park outside my window next time so as not to hear someone else coming and going. The hostess was very pleasant and informative. The beach is a short walk away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domyownstunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    260
    82
    27
    20
See reviews for
93
482
42
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Group of 5 friends in 3 rooms. Rooms were nice, but walls were thin; could hear neighbors talking and making other noises. Faucet of shower in 1 room had been installed backward and it wasn't intuitive how to get the water hot (they could have left a note in the bathroom to explain how). Bathroom was nicely remodeled, bed was comfortable and room was clean. There is a window in the door, so the lights outside each room shine in. I unscrewed the bulb outside my door which helped. Overall an ok place for a few nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PE_WSNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

One of the few decent AND affordable places in this area. Good value for what you pay.

PROS
Cozy (but still had a nice big bed)
Fireplace (gas)
Rainfall showerhead
Free parking (some people said parking was difficult to find, but we did not have a problem)
Free internet (just ask for the username and password upon checkin)
Courteous manager (thanks Barbara!)
Location location location (the beach is literally down the street, but it's just not close to downtown Carmel)
Gorgeous sunsets (hence the name)

CONS
Small place (but who sits in the hotel room around here anyway)
No breakfast
No screened windows or doors (so it was heat vs. bugs at one point)
Difficult to adjust the shower temperature. My biggest peeve here as the water was either scalding hot or freezing cold.

Overall, not perfect, but great value in this area!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nutstarr02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Did I mention it's of great value!? My wife and I were surprised at how nice our room was. It was part of a small cottage where our room and one other share the small cottage type of house which makes it private.

Small fireplace right in room with your average plasma tv. We liked the ray shower though the pressure wasn't the one it needed.

Overall we had a nice experience here and would definitely be back here.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank W0rldViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Or, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is an old motor court, in a fab location, refurbished for value travelers.
Very cute, but lots of little details need attention. Things like a missing piece in the shutters, lousy shower head (no pressure, hard to get warm).
We had to have staff come twice to get the fireplace going, but they did so without complaint.
The room is pretty small, but the bed and linens are good.
My biggest complaint is that the floors, especially in the bathroom were very dirty.
I'd stay here again, but mainly for the other features of Pacific Grove.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We live on a property in San Jose with lots of fruit trees, which bring in a lot of squirrels, racoons, posums, etc, which in turn bring in fleas that get on our dogs. So, we have to have our property sprayed for fleas every 2 months. The spraying sets off my asthma, so we have to leave the house for a couple of days. Pacific Grove is a great little excursion for us, as we love the small town atmosphere.

We've stayed at the Sunset Inn a number of times, and found it to be extremely clean and well managed. With advance planning, we book can book 30 days before our trip. We believe we get a great value on the rooms.

Room Tip: The upstairs kitchen suite was rather dated. Stick to the ground floor units unless you really need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AandNcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

It has a cute little fireplace and is right next to Asilomar beach. They were super nice after having a horrible experience at the Howard Johnson in PG. The only reason I don't give it five stars is if you stay on the bottom floor there is a light that glares right into the window. So I suggest getting a towel or something to cover it. But other than that is was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
328 reviews
0.8 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
569 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
818 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Property: Sunset Inn
Address: 133 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2094
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1939 historic landmark is located one half block from the Pacific and right next to Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy redesigned rooms with wood floors, plush beds and linens, and large flat screen televisions. Free wireless Internet access and continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Pacific Grove
Sunset Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing