We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and very comfy!”
Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and very comfy!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our room at The Sunset Inn. A great deal and so close to the walking path on the beach. Very nice reception and thoughtful greeting. Room was very clean with a beautiful 2 person italian tile shower... Would highly recommend this quaint and cute place!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChaCha2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    254
    80
    27
    20
See reviews for
92
473
37
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I visited the Sunset Inn for two nights. It's got a great location minutes from the beach. The room was clean and well-decorated, and the bathroom, with the ceiling skylight, was beautiful. You'll be greeted in the reception by a very friendly woman.
The Inn is a short distance to Carmel or Monterey. I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VT
Level Contributor
326 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

This property shows how well an older design can be updated. The driveway and parking are done with pavers, making it quite attractive. The porches of the units have wooden seating, also attractive. The paint color, sort of a dark mustard, is somewhat unusual but really works. Our room was large, cozy, well-appointed. The bed/bedding very comfortable. Small refrigerator but no microwave. When we called to make a reservation we were directed to the web site and given a promo code that brought the price down to under $75 a night. The staff was very nice. The only issue was the shower, which couldn't be regulated to give a steady temperature that wasn't scalding or ice cold. The towels weren't quite as beefy as you'd expect. Lovely stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank VTLongTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Quaint and comfy. Several small buildings house a few rooms each in an old-fashioned roadside inn that has been updated to modern standards. Much more charm than what you get in a chain motel. The fireplace was a nice touch (though it didn't work in my room) and the bed was comfortable. It is less than two blocks from the beach. There are many small inns along Asilomar Drive but I liked the fact that this one is further from the conference center.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dixiedorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

It has everything you need for a stay. wine and cheese in the evening and simple breakfast. nice rooms. comfortable beds and internet access. it located close to the beach and restaurants. the manager, barbara is helpful. I have stayed there several times.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larry155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed one night at Sunset Inn and was quite pleased for the price I paid for with advance rate (<$100). The room was cozy with a large fireplace and large bed. The room was spacious with a mini fridge and coffee maker. As in other reviews, I also had an issue with the hot/cold shower faucet trying to maintain "warm" water. I eventually turned it all the way to the left and it was tolerable. I agree that there was outside noise that came in whether that was from thin walls or lots of windows, I do not know. I had an end unit and would park outside my window next time so as not to hear someone else coming and going. The hostess was very pleasant and informative. The beach is a short walk away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domyownstunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Group of 5 friends in 3 rooms. Rooms were nice, but walls were thin; could hear neighbors talking and making other noises. Faucet of shower in 1 room had been installed backward and it wasn't intuitive how to get the water hot (they could have left a note in the bathroom to explain how). Bathroom was nicely remodeled, bed was comfortable and room was clean. There is a window in the door, so the lights outside each room shine in. I unscrewed the bulb outside my door which helped. Overall an ok place for a few nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PE_WSNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.7 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.2 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Property: Sunset Inn
Address: 133 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2094
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1939 historic landmark is located one half block from the Pacific and right next to Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy redesigned rooms with wood floors, plush beds and linens, and large flat screen televisions. Free wireless Internet access and continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Pacific Grove
Sunset Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing