We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed a Regular Guest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointed a Regular Guest”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is usually a wonderful treat for us and we stay here several times each year - hotel on the beach, quiet and usually the HIE best practices for quality and care. Not sure what went wrong this trip so just a heads up for future reservations. First, check on the Pet Policy. Web site says "no pets" yet we had a dog barking in the room next to ours. Second, though a room selection is not guaranteed, we always make weekday reservations to do our best to get the room we want for the weekend and that didn't work this time. Third, we have always been greeted as IHG members and wished "happy [whatever] occasion" by the usually very friendly and personable front desk staff and again, not this time. Everything and everyone else was perfect!

Room Tip: Junior Suites ocean view well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frantic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEPAC650, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your continued patronage and are disappointed to hear that your most recent visit was less then perfect. Your valued feedback has helped us in re-coaching our team members in recognizing each individual guest for their continued support of IHG Brand hotels especially our return guests and valued IHG Rewards Members. We also understand your disappointment in not being able to get you accommodated in your preferred room number request that you had noted on your reservation at time of booking. At times, it is difficult for us to guarantee these requests due to unexpected situations such as previous guest extending their stay, unscheduled repairs and/or limited availability. We apologize for the barking "dog". We are completely pet-free hotel however, as with all public places in the USA we have to accept "Service Animal" if the guest staying has special needs. This was the case during your recent stay. If this Service Animal causes any disturbance to other patrons and this matter is reported, the establishment is allowed to request the guest with a service animal to either remove the animal from the premises (and they can continue to enjoy their stay) or allow the guest with special needs to find alternative establishment without any penalty. Once again kindly accept our apologies.
Sincerely,
James, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    112
    25
    8
    9
See reviews for
115
144
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Picked this hotel while visiting the SF area based on reviews and we're more than pleased! Awesome location outside the city. Rooms are quiet despite being on the edge of the highway. Great view from the deck. Everything meticulously cared for from breakfast to the bathrooms. Staff is very friendly and helpful. No exercise room, but a trail outside our hotel was challenging with spectacular views- even better!! We can't thank them enough for making out stay just what we had hoped for.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kmmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEPAC650, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are happy to hear that you took a gamble based on previous guests' comments and we were able to meet your expectations. We thank you for giving us high marks on our cleanliness and services. Thank you also for recommending us to future travelers like yourselves. We hope that you come back and see us soon.
Sincerely,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolling Hills Estates, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We've stayed here several times now. The last two times I reserved well in advance and chose the 'refundable rate', because I was told by the IHG attendant (not onsite) that I could call a few days before arrival and change it to the nonrefundable rate. To my dismay, when I called back, they told me that they would reelase my room, but it would take hours to be available again and someone else might grab it before I could get it back. No reflection on the property; reservations must be made through IHG.
I love the ocean view here!! In the rooms I have stayed in, we could watch seagulls, hawks, feral cats, surfers and wave-riding canoeers, as well as the wind blowing, waves crashing and ever-changing sky. Yes, it is EXPENSIVE to stay here, but isn't most of SF? The high-rise property downtown had similar rates, but I opted for the natural scenery rather than the city view.
There is always food available at this property, which a nice option when the crack purchased at Trader Joe's gets overwhelming, one can downstairs for an apple or orange (never get started on the dark chocolate peanut butter cups or the dark chocolate covered ginger ; HUGE mistake).
Finally, a word about the service, which is actually what prompted me to write this review: after two nights of uncomfortable bed and pillow and beginning to feel grumpy, i complained and their response? The manager had three people deliver a brand new mattress to our room and showed me where the firm pillows were in the closet. Much better night's sleep after that, although they are too soft for my best night's sleep.
Oh, and while you are there, go visit Leo at Christmas By the Cove if you collect any of these things: Christmas ornaments, Wizard of Oz items, antique teacups, pumpkins or fun Día de Muertos items - you just might find something you can't live without. Also, Puerto 27 was a disappointment this visit, but we had a great meal at Moonraker and good breakfast at Breakers. But what am I thinking?! SF is SO close, even though it feels a world away.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEPAC650, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are pleased to hear that you found our location and services perfect for your travel. We are glad that our team members were able to promptly address your concerns regarding your sleep quality. It is our goal to make each guest's stay a memorable experience. We look forward to your return visit.
Sincerely,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great location, attentive and friendly crew. Having breakfast at the patio looking over the Pacific is just awesome. Rooms are clean and beds gave us a good nights rest. Driving into San Francisco is a breeze. Worth coming back to!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEPAC650, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
We thank you for your gracious feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We spent the July 4th weekend here so that we would avoid the high expense of staying in the city, get the beach access and be able to drive and sight see. It was perfect. Incredibly clean, great breakfast (Included), beautiful view, and great access to SFO, Golden Gate, Santa Cruz and Ponite Reyes - north and south. Plus quick trip back to SFO at the end of our trip. A perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEPAC650, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
It has been a pleasure to host you and we appreciate your valued feedback from your recent stay. We will always do everything possible to merit the confidence you have shown in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckley Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Nice to have access to juice, milk, coffee 24 hours a day. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. We could hear the ocean from our room and the bed was very comfortable. Room was very clean and nice. Would stay again.

Only thing is the parking garage has a high bump that we hit bottom on and we have a high clearance vehicle. Just go slow and no issues.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buckleyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEPAC650, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for giving us a high rating in all expects of your stay at our hotel. Our aim is to meet all our guests expectations and we are pleased to hear that we were able to deliver this. We look forwrad to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My family has stayed at this hotel several times since my first review. We love it here! I have siblings who live in SF and it's so easy to visit them in the city or for them to come down to Pacifica when we stay at this hotel. It's only a 15-minute drive.

I have a few tips if you decide to stay here. First, book early! This hotel only has 38 rooms and they can fill up very quickly. Two of the rooms are suites which are very convenient for small families, although note that there's only one king bed and a queen sleeper sofa and the suites do not have ocean views. If you want an ocean view, ask for rooms 101/201, 106-110/206-210. The first level (not lobby) has a communal area with comfortable couches and coffee tables. We like to stay on the first level because it's easy for friends and family to congregate in the middle. Bring some quarter rolls and laundry detergent if you want to do any laundry. There's only one washer and dryer but it's a heavy duty set. And for the kids - the cookies are baked and set out at 2pm.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mailmanorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEPAC650, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
We thank you for your valued feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. We thank you for your continued confidence in our services, amenities and location. We hope that we remain your number one destination hotel whenever your plans are to visist San Francisco and Bay Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacifica
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Pacifica Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Pacifica
287 reviews
7.5 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 6 in Pacifica
75 reviews
12.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
568 reviews
7.3 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica
Address: 519 Nick Gust Way, Pacifica, CA 94044-3243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Pacifica
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Pacifica, CA is where your Northern California vacation or San Francisco Bay area business trip begins. Located minutes south of San Francisco off HWY-1 and next to the Pacific Ocean, we have beaches, ocean, sunsets, restaurants and public transportation within walking distance to meet your needs. We are conveniently located near the Daly City and Colma BART Stations and I-280 offering easy access to San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Union Square, Moscone Convention Center, Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco State University (SFSU) & the San Francisco International Airport (SFO). Within driving distances from Half Moon Bay, Napa Valley, Sausalito, Silicon Valley, Santa Cruz and Monterey you are never too far from a fun-filled family weekend. We offer deluxe accommodations in our oversized rooms with free high speed Internet access, microwaves & refrigerators and free weekday newspaper delivery. Relax in our premium suites featuring a fireplace, Jacuzzi tub & oceanviews. In the morning, enjoy our complimentary Express Start deluxe breakfast in our great room. Whether you are staying for business or leisure, it will be difficult to choose between relaxing in your spacious comfortable room or walking along the beach at sunset. Come and Stay Smart with us ~ have the ocean as your backyard and San Francisco as your play ground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Pacifica
Holiday Inn Express Pacifica
Holiday Inn Pacifica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing