We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish in the view and on the plate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonraker

Moonraker
Ranked #4 of 85 Restaurants in Pacifica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: highway 1
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fish in the view and on the plate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a favorite of ours that we frequent at a minimum of twice a month. Their nightly specials are quite a bargain especially during Happy Hour. Our favorite is the Thursday all-you-can-eat fish and chips. The fresh catch is succulent to say the least.
I have back problems so the elevated backless bar stools become uncomfortable after a while.
There is ample parking and a great place just outside this restaurant to take a stroll.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank_Wentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    98
    19
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breathtaking View and Excellent Food/Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Wow! My husband and I were thrilled at how good the food and service was at this restaurant! We stayed at the Best Western Lighthouse Hotel for our last night of a wine country weekend so we could be close to the airport in the morning. We didn't even know about this place until we got there and almost missed it because the front desk didn't tell us about it. We happened upon it while we were walking around and looked at the menu and decided to go there for dinner. We were not sorry with that decision! It was one of the best dining experiences ever! We sat at a booth that faced the huge window (the whole restaurant is surrounded by windows) and looked at the ocean and surfers during our meal. The food was excellent - some of the best Oysters Rockefeller I've had, and the grilled/smoked crab was different and delicious!! My husband had the braised lamb shank that was perfectly braised, and my lobster was also perfectly prepared. We cannot wait to go back to Pacifica, stay at the Light House Hotel and go to the Moonraker again. Loved it!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele33657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unpretentious great food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our default restaurants are mostly the excellent choices available in San Francisco. Stumped for "some place new," we discovered Moonraker in Pacifica, a delightful surprise. Their version of surf 'n' turf with seared scallops atop Kobe beef sirloin was a star, not to mention the freshest, most delicious $1 happy hour oysters enjoyed at ANY price. We'll come again...and again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb steak with a sea view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Friendly service in the restaurant (but strangely less so in the bar where we started before moving) and top rate food. Excellent view over the shore. Very pleasant evening.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
209 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Third time - still excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

First with girlfriends, second time two couples and this time with my mom and husband for Mother's Day. In each case we had a leather booth facing the pounding ocean. Regardless of what we order, each dish is delicious, innovative, well-prepared. My cioppino over squid ink pasta with a terrific sauce was exceptional; the pot roast pleased my mom, my husband's scallops over medallions of kobe beef was also good. We had the 'taste' of soup, a good way to sample a starter and the desserts were good. The only negative is that the kitchen gets backed up (according to the waiter) and it was a long wait for the main courses and just about everything else. With this great view, we won't let that wait stop us from returning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tapestries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moonraker also viewed

 

Been to Moonraker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing