We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Missing the simple things”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Missing the simple things”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here last Saturday on the final night of a week's holiday in San Francisco and area. When we went to sit outside to enjoy a glass of California wine on our patio with a lovely view of a cement wall and mostly dead shrubs, there we no chairs available. So we went to the pool, thinking we'd sit in there and at least have a nicer view of the ocean. Same problem, only one chair.

We've stayed in plenty of rustic lodges in Costa Rica and Belize and at least there you are provided with a place for two to sit and relax on your deck or patio.

Too bad.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    106
    62
    21
    35
See reviews for
53
143
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limburg, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I had the pleasure to stay here with my wife for three weeks in May 2013 and met the most wonderful and helpful staff! They were there for me the entire time and I just wanted to say I really enjoyed my stay there. What can I say about the breakfast? - that's for sure the only bad point - it's a negligible breakfast - it's Ok for a fast breakfast - but that's no problem just 1 minute away there are dinners e.g. Kerri's Coffee Shop- and two more hints there is a great cheap surf shop around the corner: Sonlight Surfshop (even the pacific almost pulled me out and I nearly drowned at my last try to surf - I was to careless) finaly you can get a great cheap hair cut at 'The Cut Scene'

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HM_aus_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at this hotel in Pacifica while visiting my aunt in San Francisco. We decided to stay in this area due to the proximity of the beach which is right across the highway from the hotel. The drive to my aunt's in San Francisco only took 20 minutes. The room had a partial view of the ocean, was clean and included a jaccuzzi which we did not use. The room rate was very good. The only complaint was my wife thought that the room was somewhat moldy and see has allergies. We would go back there again or check out one of the other hotels in Pacifica. If you like being at the beach this is the best area (for the value) to stay near San Francisco for access to the city and the choice of accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view on an upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCloud, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Mixed reviews maybe lowered my expectation, but I found the staff helpful and the room adequate.
The shower was small, and the Jacuzzi tub was right there, but the room had a partial view of the beach and was quite comfortable. We spent two nights and really enjoyed ourselves. If we were paying full price I might have been a bit more critical, but we got a great rate and would stay here again.
The commute to the city was a breeze and seeing the surf/surfers from our room was cool.
Yes, if it were brand new or just remodeled it would be awesome, but It would cost a whole bunch more too. The room had a mini fridge, microwave, coffee pot, closet and ample storage for the two of us. We didn't try the fireplace, so cant say that it worked, or added any ambience.

Room Tip: We really liked the ocean view we had. Even from the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mountndream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania M, General Manager at Pacifica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Hello there we are so glad that you decided to stay here with us at Pacifica Beach Hotel, and we want to thank you for you gracious review.
We are always glad to hear back from our guests, and we are thrilled that your stay with us was wonderful and that you would be returning to stay again at Pacific Beach Hotel.
We take pride in our staff and are glad to hear that they were helpful. We are in the process of revamping the fireplaces and redecorating the rooms.

Once again thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

weird hotel. it kinda feels like they splurged on a jacuzzi for every room, which is RIGHT THERE when you walk in, like "WHOA !!! it's a jacuzzi !!! right by the bed !!!", and then ran out of money for much of anything else? nice jacuzzi, nice bed... near zero decor - almost like someone's frat boy boyfriend got drunk and blew the budget on jacuzzis and then the decorator had to scrape by with what was left over for decor, you can almost hear some bit character from Caddyshack shouting "JACCUZIS FOR EVERYONE !!!" - the place isn't awful, the bed was super comfy and the room was clean, and if you're really into jaccuzis then it's a good deal for the area for sure. just a little odd, that's all.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zackreview2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania M, General Manager at Pacifica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Zack,

Thank You for the positive review that you graced us with. We are thrilled that you stayed with us and that your experience was a good one, we do want all of our guests to enjoy their stay with us, at Pacifica Beach Hotel.
We would like to explain about the Jacuzzi, we did not build the hotel and we have found that the majority of guests are very happy with the Jacuzzi. and just to let you know we are in the process of redecorating every room.
The beds were one of the first we change, because a good nights sleep is so important and makes for a happy experience.
Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I'm used to staying in pretty cheap hotels, one or two stars but my husband and I wanted something nice and relaxing for our last night in San Francisco. This was perfect. It was affordable, right across the road from the beach and only 15-20 min from the airport. We had a king bed jacuzzi room and found it very comfortable and spacious.
Only minor complaints would be that if there was an elevator, I'm not sure where it was. The jacuzzi was a bit awkward to get in and out of as it was right next to the bed.
Room included a small love-seat with a coffee table, desk and chair, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer. We didn't make it to the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MysticN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania M, General Manager at Pacifica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Hello MysticN, and thank you for your review of Pacifica Beach Hotel.
We are glad that your stay with us was enjoyable, we are committed to make sure every guest is happy.
Sorry to hear that you did not make it to the continental breakfast but we are glad that your room and your bed were so comfortable.
We are also very proud that our location fits travelers either coming from the airport or going into the city, or just playing at the beach.
We are looking to get elevators soon so they may be her the next time you stay with us.

Thanks again
We look forward seeing you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

A good clean and comfortable hotel. Rooms lack personality but the view of the ocean and beach is wonderful. The facility if built on a steep hill so you can see a lot of the area. Our room was large, bright and well kept. The in-room Jacuzzi spa was very nice. The look of the outside of the facility reminds us of an imitation of the Del Coronado in San Diego --- however, there is only one Del Coronado. We stayed for two days and our only complaint was that it took housekeeping until 3:00 on our second day to service the room. It was expensive for what it was. Our favorite thing about our stay was the attached restaurant and bar called Puerto 27. The Peruvian food was excellent and it is a fun place to eat and drink!

Room Tip: The corner suites are large and sunny with great views of the ocean. Third floor was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacifica
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
6.9 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
12.2 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
2.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 6 in Pacifica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
7.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacifica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacifica Beach Hotel

Property: Pacifica Beach Hotel
Address: 525 Crespi Dr, Pacifica, CA 94044-3423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Pacifica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacifica Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacifica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacifica Beach Hotel Pacifica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing