We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacifica Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel itself is a little off, it is laid out weirdly, and it seems like it was never quite finished, or like they ran out of money while building it. But I have stayed here a few times because it overlooks the beach and the ocean. And every room has a jacuzzi and fireplace. So from San Francisco it is a great little escape for not a lot of money. The staff has always been great and the place is clean, so I will continue to escape the city here.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, pay the extra 15 dollars or so and get a higher room with a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    105
    62
    21
    33
See reviews for
52
141
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I got very worried after reading bad reviews, after I had already booked this hotel for one week. However, I was pleasantly surprised. I stayed in a double room which was huge, and the shower and jacuzzi tub were in great working order and very clean. The window had blackout curtains, which was essential as the parking lot outside is very brightly lit. The beds were very comfortable. The things that were run down were a very flimsy curtain rod, a loose ceiling tile in the bathroom which rattled every time the door opened, slightly ripped lamp shades and a very slow running sink drain. Breakfast is negligible; really just dry packaged pastries and tiny yoghurts. As pointed out in other reviews, the only security is the room door itself, as the door between the hallway and the outside was zip tied open, for some reason. It's definitely a pretty run down place, but the bottom line for me is comfortable beds, huge room and quiet surroundings, so I was able to sleep really well.

Room Tip: Non-ocean view rooms face an extremely brightly lit parking lot, so make sure the room has blackout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed here for 1 night because of the location. It's located directly across the street from the beach. Our hotel room was very dated. The air conditioner didn't work. Maintenance had to replace the knob on the air conditioner in order for it to work properly. The jacuzzi tub was an ugly blue color and we didn't even use it. The tv, desk & chair were dated. The sides of the bathroom vanity was made out of plywood. The shower stall was so small that you could barely turn around in it. There was a large gap between our hotel door and the floor which allowed us to hear everything going on in the hallway. There was a sign on the fireplace that said it was temporarily out of order. The only good thing about this hotel was the location and the spectacular view of the beach from our room. I would not ever stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania M, Front Office Manager at Pacifica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hello, and we are sorry that your stay with us was not better, We are in the process of updating our rooms, and revamping the entire hotel. We want all our guest to feel good about their stay and we do apologize that your stay was not more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, excellent price, clean and comfortable rooms, super view, close to San Francisco. Literally booked online with smartphone minutes away as we drove north on hwy 1 and loved it so much we stayed a 2nd night.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barleypeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I've stayed in three different rooms here in the past month. This hotel was chosen because it was conveniently located. The first night, it was cold in the room and we woke up shivering in the middle of the night because there is only a sheet and blanket on the bed. Yes, we could have called for more blankets but we didn't. The second time, I asked for blankets at check-in and it was fine.

There are rodent traps on the outside of the building but that didn't bother me. The doors to the hallways do seem to be open all the time. There are two women who worked the front desk at check in and check out. One of them definitely needs training in customer service and I thought it all three times I encountered her. The other one is very good. The rooms are OK, nothing special but there is a giant Jacuzzi tub in the middle of the room.

If you need to stay in the San Francisco area, this is one of the less expensive places to stay. It's very convenient to Daly City.

Room Tip: The hotel has a few rooms with 2 doubles and the rest seem to be king. I've only stayed on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yes
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Everything is broken. It has a rat problem and there's RAT TRAPS full of DEAD RATS all over the grounds. The hotel is not secured, the door locks are broken, the security cameras are gone. Fireplace is broken. They told us all to expect a fire alarm test AND IT DIDN'T WORK?? The phones are broken. The place is barely staffed and you can get no help. The manager hides all day and won't help.

Beware: the front desk is occasionally staffed by a complete sociopath. I have never witnessed such a horrible verbal attack on a customer as I did when I checked in. It was a taller, younger girl with curly hair, who has a clear disdain for life. She is single handedly annihilating the already shaky reputation here.

As for the facility itself...NASTY. There are a few major problems that almost make you question whether the owners even want to own this place, or have owned hotels in the past. First off, the exterior is great and clearly redone. The landscaping, however, is an insurance claim waiting to happen. We are talking pathways made of of lumpy broken bricks. Someone fix that! Come on!?!? Broken bricks?

1. Only 3 pillows on a king size bed? Why? The towels are ancient and gross.

2. The sociopath at the front desk is costing this place more money in bad attitude than they will ever know and is somehow still employed.

3. The rooms aren't dark enough. There should be two curtains but what they did was only leave one and try to cover the door with it, and presumably use the other half in other rooms. So you have a big curtain rod, half a drape, and a bunch of light. THE BLINDS ARE RUSTED. Tetanus much? Gross.

4. Highlighting that "all room include free breakfast" should lead to something other than gas station continental breakfast. You gotta hike down to the front desk, grab you a smashed breakfast bun in a bag and some single serve cereal, then hike back up to your room. It's not even continental, its seriously like a gas station. The fridge is broken too.

5. phones are broken, red light flashes constantly.

6. Fire alarm system may or may not work.

7. Hotel guest buildings and hallways are insecure because the locks are all broken.

8. Security cameras have been removed. Dunno why.

9. Plumbing is terrible, clogs for no reason. There is literally one toilet plunger and you have to wait after the other guests are done plunging their toilets to use it.

10. This place is busted up and falling apart. All they did was PAINT OVER RUST and it's all just coming off again. Walls are busted, concrete is busted, facilities are busted, everything just doesn't work. Fireplace? Doesn't work.

11. There isn't enough parking even for paying customers. It's hit or miss. THEY TOLD ME JUST TO PARK IN HANDICAP!!! No thanks, that's immoral and illegal. Wow.

Avoid this place, it's a total trap and they completely misrepresent it. It's 1 1/2 star at best.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pfullinwider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania M, General Manager at Pacifica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Pfullinwider,
We are so sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay at our hotel. Management is currently working with our maintenance and staff to address all these issues and improved not only our facilities and amenities, but also our customer services. We definitely appreciate letting us know what you thought and this will all go into improving our business further.

The hotel is working hard to reverse all the points you’ve presented and completely deliver on our promise. We hope you will give the hotel another visit in the future so that we can show you better facilities and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pacifica hotels

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We booked this resort and planned on staying for 4 days. Thankfully I only booked it for one day, as I couldn't find the star rating.
I cannot express my relief at knowing we only had to stay in this dump for one night.
The check in girl was rude and sarcastic with us. We had planned on extending our stay before we saw the rooms. She argued with us over the web price compared to the Hotels price. There was a $40 difference per night. When I said I wanted to confirm the web price she replied "whatever" not only was this rude to talk to a stranger this way, but to guests was beyond acceptable.
We then checked into our ocean view room, it was ocean view. However we were unable to open the sliding doors due to the incredibly loud main highway right under our windows. The view looks great, it looks like you're on the beach. YOU'RE NOT!! There's a main hwy 1 that runs right beside the hotel, so you're unable to hear the waves at all over the noise of a freeway!
Then there was the door that didn't close properly and had to be slammed, it was off the hinges somewhat and made me extremely nervous. The hot tub in the middle of the room taking up the majority of space was ridiculous to put it mildly. There was the college dorm style bathroom, which was covered in black mould along the silicone. The bed spread was stained, as was the bed skirt With dark brown stains??!! The pillows were lumpy and smelled horrible, I slept without a pillow. Then there was the patio with no furniture, but a bright light that could not be shut off and lit up the bedroom, so you had to close the black out curtains. My husband unscrewed the light as we didn't want to miss the sunrise, and close the curtains. The breakfast was set up in the check in area, it was really a joke. Boxed cereal and packaged pastries that looked cheap and artificial. We ate elsewhere. This was by far one of the worst hotels I've stayed at ever. I travel monthly for work and have stayed in some dumps, but this topped them all! This is more like a 1 star hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank skusderci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania M, Manager at Pacifica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
We would like to apologize about the issues you experienced. Some of the rooms may have better views than others. This is unavoidable as there are different angles of rooms. Having said that, Based on your comments, we’ll endeavor to make the rooms a quieter and more relaxing experience.

Maintenance is also an important aspect of our business that we would like to enhance to ensure that all our guests will have fresh white linens and fluffy pillows. We always change any old sheets and room materials when necessary. We hope to see you in your next visit and provide you our improved services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacifica
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
6.9 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
12.2 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 6 in Pacifica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
6.7 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
7.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacifica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacifica Beach Hotel

Property: Pacifica Beach Hotel
Address: 525 Crespi Dr, Pacifica, CA 94044-3423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Pacifica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacifica Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelClick, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Pacifica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacifica Beach Hotel Pacifica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing