We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I chose this place because anything else closer to San Francisco was ridiculously priced. Well, I still spent $200 for one night and it wasn't worth it. The walls in our room were just plain dirty! I would try to find something else.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Bill42328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania M, Front Office Manager at Pacifica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Hello and thank you for the review we are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.


I chose this place because anything else closer to San Francisco was ridiculously priced. Well, I still spent $200 for one night and it wasn't worth it. The walls in our room were just plain dirty! I would try to find something else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

During a recent trip across the US, we had one more night in which our wives would be with us before flying home (the rest of us were driving our motorcycles back home). The wives wanted a special last night's stay on the ocean, so we started searching for hotels earlier in the day. We chose the Pacifica because it boasted it's ocean front views, etc., and while the price was a little steep we figured it just had to be worth it- WRONG.

This won't apply to most, but I'll say up front that for motorcycles, the entrance to the lobby is extremely steep and precarious to maneuver in; as is the rest of the property. It's certainly manageable, but you need to know up front that for some their skills will be tested.

Upon arriving one thing was abundantly clear- the hotel borderline false advertises their property location. Their site leads you to believe that they are quite literally on the ocean front. They are instead across a very busy street from the ocean and actually a pretty good hike from the water. The ocean views? Yeah, if you also factor in the telephone poles/lines that are in every picture you take because of their matched height to the rooms. We all received king bed rooms with jacuzzi tubs and private balconies. The balconies were anything but private as the only thing dividing them was a rail between your balcony and the room's next door. Our friends' room balcony gave them a 1/2 view of the ocean and 1/2 view of the grassy hill behind the hotel. This was also the same area where several locals parked their cars to walk down and surf the ocean. It's not a good experience when there is constant vehicles coming/going (surfers) while you're trying to enjoy sitting on the balcony.

We were also informed upon check in that we were not to operate the jacuzzi tubs after 10 pm because of the noise to other guests. Excuse me? These rooms are over $200 per night- enough said.

Breakfast is provided.....if you consider packaged muffins, yogurt, milk and juice to be "breakfast." I'm not being dramatic people- THAT was their idea of breakfast which was an absolute joke. The lobby could seat 4 people for breakfast......yes, only 4. When we checked out, there was a very annoying robot-like lady asking each guest how their stay was and replying "that's good' *BEFORE* some guests had even replied to her question. She wasn't looking anyone in the eye and obviously cared less about any response given. I had not seen anyone ever act so fake like that before, and there was absolutely no gratitude expressed to any guests for having chosen to stay there. For the money paid, just unbelievable.

If money's no object, your room view is of no concern, and you don't want/expect a romantic stay or plan to eat an actual breakfast, then by all means stay here. Otherwise, do yourself a favor and look elsewhere like other reviewers are *trying* to point out. If only we had known...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tony&Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania M, Front Office Manager at Pacifica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Toni and Barb, first of all let me say that we are sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay. The issue with the driveway is true we do have a steep driveway, as for the breakfast it is a mix of prepackaged items. We do apologize that we did not meet your expectations and I will be looking into the issues that you have described.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon. VERY DISAPPOINTED. We questioned how well the room was cleaned because we found an old room key just laying on the floor. We had a room on the first floor that had a patio door, and were very disturbed when we went to check it out and it was UNLOCKED! If we had not checked, anyone could have entered our room while we were away or come in during the middle of the night. The room just felt dirty and old.
Told the front desk worker about our concerns, but she showed no concern. We would never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HDay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania M, Front Office Manager at Pacifica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Hello Hannah, we want to apologize for the issues regarding your stay. We do value your review and I personally will look into your concerns about the the housekeeping and the front staff and will hold them responsible. Once again we do apologize for the issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Ocean view room was exactly that, gorgeous! The property and grounds are well maintained and beautiful. The receptionist's were warm and friendly. The room was clean, and inviting. The interior hallways are impeccably maintained, despite guests tracking in sand. I enjoyed the covered parking, and comfortable ambiance of this hotel. We ventured to Luigi's, which is featured in their hotel information pack, it's definitely a local experience, we enjoyed the food, and warm reception of "Lu", and his staff.

Room Tip: Our room was away from the road, never heard any traffic from Highway 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bombmom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania M, Front Office Manager at Pacifica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Hannah, Thank you for taking the time to let us know your issues and we sincerely apologize for the issues you had. This is totally not acceptable and I will be personally looking into the items that you described. Once again we are sorry for the issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

For the price, you’re expecting something a lot better then what you get. With the ocean view rooms, the blinds don’t open, the towels have holes in them and the continental breakfast was the worst I’ve been too. I tried to contact the manager and they never got back to me or even seem concerned. I wouldn’t suggest this hotel for the price to NO one.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michele h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania M, Front Office Manager at Pacifica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Bombmom, Thank you for the great review! We are so happy that your stay here was a great one! We are glad that your local dining experience was good. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here in July when it is foggy every day but still an amazing place to stay. The hotel is as old as the coast and the rooms all face the beach and have this massive jet tub in every room so if you like a great view of the water and or surf and want to just cross the street to hit some waves this is the place and after the sun goes down the cars go away and the stars come out so kick it on the beach at night and wow, what a sight

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yukedaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania M, Front Office Manager at Pacifica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello Yukedaddy, and thank you for the great review. We are so glad that you had a chance to stay with us and that you got to experience the beach at night Once again Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I was looking for a hotel to stay one night in San Francisco. They were $300+ per night plus tax. I found this hotel in the internet and very pleased because it is nice, affordable and in a nice area. The room was clean, indoor pool and for my surprise a jacuzzi in the room. It is about 30 minutes drive from the city but I saved money and very satisfied with the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbernwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania M, Front Office Manager at Pacifica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear very satisfied., we are pleased that your stay here was a good one, and we want to say Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Hope you'll come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacifica
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel
2.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 6 in Pacifica
79 reviews
6.9 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
6.7 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
12.2 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacifica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacifica Beach Hotel

Address: 525 Crespi Dr, Pacifica, CA 94044-3423
Region: United States > California > Pacifica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Price Range: £111 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacifica Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacifica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacifica Beach Hotel Pacifica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing