We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine place, great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fine place, great views”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was looking for a place with easy airport access at the end of our trip to San Francisco and Yosemite and started looking at the small towns surrounding SF for better deals and came across this place. Our room was looking out over the ocean with amazing views of the cliffs and the water. Sure the place is old but it was comfortable and we had a great time walking the cliffs and watching the sunset. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbergin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel, conveniently only 15 miles from San Francisco International Airport, and were able to enjoy the beautiful walking trails and amazing sunsets!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    418
    185
    71
    46
See reviews for
355
462
49
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Despite asking ahead of time for the handicapped room, it was inadequate. No continental breakfast, poorly heated outdoor pool. Broken thermostat. The beds were very comfortable however. Best Western's good reputation is tarnished by this motel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Beverly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback but we are very disappointed that we didn't meet your expectations. I am glad that we had a chance to correspond via Best Western Customer Service Channels. Please call me directly if you want to discuss further. We do hope to see you again. Marty Cerles, General Manager, 650-355-6300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We loved the location- Rockaway Beach is beautiful & the local shop owners are very nice. The hotel, unfortunately, wasn't quite what had been advertised or described. The floor we were on smelled overwhelmingly of turpentine & mildew, our room was hot & not equipped with an air conditioning unit, & the bathroom was somewhat grimy making us unsure if it wasn't entirely clean or just needing to be refurbished. The only way to cool the room was to open the patio door to our fake balcony, but the screen door kept popping off the rails. Our partial beach view also included a gross view of the attached restaurant's alley, as well as their dirty roof & the designation of being the only bay area hotel on the ocean would come as a surprise to the other 2 hotels also located on Rockaway Beach. Any concerns we brought to the hotel staff were met with an insincere smile & no visible sign that they understood or pretended to care about our issue. We loved visiting Pacifica CA & will definitely return there, perhaps even stay in the very clean looking Holiday Inn Express also on Rockaway Beach.

Room Tip: There is no A/C unit so visit in the cold months. The 1st floor didn't seem to smell as bad as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We are disappointed that we didn't meet your expectations and we do want to make it up to you. We will be looking into your concerns. Please call me directly so that we can discuss further and I can demonstrate my sincere concern. Thank you and we do hope to see you again. Marty Cerles, General Manager, 650-355-6300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl Junction, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is right on the ocean with bluffs on both sides. Check in was quick and easy with polite staff. The hotel is a little older and could use some updates, but we really had no complaints. It was clean and the ocean view was spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and we are glad that you enjoyed the beautiful ocean views that our rooms can offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Great ocean view if you willing to pay for it, and the rooms, pool, and common areas are clean. Staff nice.

Had a plumbing issue in both rooms, screwed up my shower and afternoon romp plans with maintenance coming in and out. Maintenance Guy was very nice and apologetic. Both rooms have a persistent mildew like smell, had to constantly burn scented candles to regulate the smell.

Might return.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Myron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed the view and your stay with us. We are, however, disappointed that we didn't meet your all expectations and we do want to make it up to you. Please call me directly so that we can discuss further. We do hope to see you again. Thank you. Marty Cerles, General Manager, 650-355-6300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed her during our drive up Highway 1 while driving across the country. This hotel was right off the highway and right on the beach. We slept with the sliding door open all night and I watched the waves crash up on the rocks right under out door...literally a sidewalk was all that kept the hotel off the beach. This was my favorite stop during our 15 day trip. I loved this area so much, I keep trying to convince my family that we need to move here! Or at least go back and stay longer....a lot longer!

The room was very clean and very roomy. The beach was a few steps away. However, when the tide comes in, there is no beach. I watched a man fish during hte night from a dock and the waves were crashing up on him. Absolutely wonderful to see! Plenty of restraunts and shops withinin walking distance, cute little town. We didn't eat at the restraunts in the hotel but I can imagine the view from the nice eatery in the hotel (don't remember the name) but the menu listed outside of it was a little pricy.

Definately work it, stay here, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: As for a high level room for better ocean views..the ocean view, is definately worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pleasantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience here at the Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel! We are thrilled to have been a memorable part of your wonderful trip across the country and hope you will be back with us soon to enjoy the sweeping ocean views and surrounding beaches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nites and it was overall very pleasant. Easy trip to San Francisco for sightseeing without the high price of in town hotels. Cute coffee shop and good restaurants nearby. Our only complaint was they had recently shampooed the rugs and they were still damp when we checked in. Easy walk to the beach. Enjoyed watching the surfers.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosieChicago2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacifica
0.8 mi away
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Pacifica Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Pacifica
287 reviews
7.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
931 reviews
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 6 in Pacifica
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
257 reviews
12.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel
Address: 105 Rockaway Beach Ave, Pacifica, CA 94044-3253
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Pacifica
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A San Francisco Bay area hotel located at Rockaway Beach in Pacifica, California, the Best Western Lighthouse offers 97 superior guestrooms and 21 spacious suites. Relax in our Pacifica hotel and enjoy breathtaking Pacific views, take a refreshing walk along the beach, or explore the endless Pacifica attractions including the Fitzgerald Marine Reserve and the Pacifica Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacifica Best Western Lighthouse
Best Western Pacifica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing