We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”
Review of Casa Larrea Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Larrea Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Palm Desert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Mesa, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is a quaint little place down a quiet street in a good neighbor. The rooms are spacious and comfy and surround the pool with lots of chairs, loungers and umbrellas. If you like upscale, fancy resorts, this is not your kind of place. Casa Larrea is personal and homey. It actually feels like you're staying with friends. Everyone's chatty and inviting and the owners visit with their guests. The price is reasonable (especially considering many rooms have a full kitchen). I didn't give it a higher rating because the refrigerator in our room made a buzzing sound which was annoying and the water in the shower was only warm, not hot. Other than that, I found it to be a charming and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
33
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Kim (the landlady) is a superstar, made us feel very welcome, keen to help in anyway she could and very friendly. The rooms were very clean, beds extremely comfortable and the breakfast in the morning delicious. Conveniently located near to a El Paseo shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Casa Larrea Inn was an absolutely amazing choice for my first trip to Coachella. The hotel is centrally located in Palm Desert, staff personable and helpful, and rooms are immaculate and comfortable. Everything from the pristine pool surrounded by lemon trees to continental breakfast provided each morning helped my guests and me feel right at home. I would definitely return to Casa Larrea Inn for my next trip to the Palm Spring/Palm Desert area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramona, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

What a wonderful and fun place to stay. After staying at chain hotels and motels this was a very pleasent difference. It was like going back in time when people really cared about one another and service was the key. Great pool area with a BBQ, fruit trees lawn, pet friendly and extremely relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garcias1gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We loved this hotel for several reasons. The rooms and the grounds were beautiful and unique. Lots of fruit trees and palm trees, a beautiful pool, a cute cabana and bbq, and lots of places to sit. There were even little welcome signs and welcome mats outside each room. Inside was a sofa and a full kitchen. The room was colourful and fun.

The location was quite good, walking distance to all the shops on El Paseo and restaurants, especially just one block from Native Foods, a fantastic vegan restaurant!

The owners are really great. It's almost like staying at a 16 room bed and breakfast. They really try to get to know you and are very friendly, as are their four great dogs!

A couple of drawbacks: We went in December and the pool was not heated. That was a huge disappointment,. They said they don't usually heat it in the winter, so if this is important to you, check before you go.

The breakfast had a lot of options, but we did notice the peanut butter was expired.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We have stayed twice now at this little gem, located steps, (literally), from the upscale shopping and dining centre of El Paseo in Palm Desert. Friendlier innkeepers you won't find anywhere. Kim and Frank will make you feel like one of the family as soon as you arrive. They quite often host B.B.Q's at poolside so that guests can get to know one another. Casa Larrea sits on a very quiet street and is well maintained with an inviting salt water pool and plenty of fruit trees on the property. We have only stayed in room 20 but have seen a few of the larger rooms and all are quite spacious with a small private patio at the rear. Check out their website as it is quite informative with lots of pictures.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NewhavenOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
0.6 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#15 of 22 in Palm Desert
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Deep Canyon
The Inn at Deep Canyon
#14 of 22 in Palm Desert
139 reviews
2.6 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
0.2 mi away
Shadow Mountain Resort and Club
Shadow Mountain Resort and Club
#12 of 22 in Palm Desert
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Larrea Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Larrea Inn

Property: Casa Larrea Inn
Address: 73771 Larrea St, Palm Desert, CA 92260-4356
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Larrea Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Larrea Inn Palm Desert, California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing