We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Diverse Zoo”

Living Desert Zoo & Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.95*
and up
Palm Springs General Admission to The Living Desert
Ranked #1 of 58 things to do in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The botanical gardens of this park offer great opportunities to see desert vegetation.
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprising Diverse Zoo”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My group thoroughly enjoyed an afternoon at the zoo. It was in February and the temperature was mild. Check out the educational programs; they're good for young and old alike.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DaveCan1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,337
    549
    159
    27
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Must See!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This place is great. Take the tram around and you can hop on and off as you like. Animals all seem happy! The model train display is unbelievably great and has a sort of Disney feel to it a it has several "Lands" as it travels. Terrific train diorama!! The butterfly house is really nice too...can't say enough about this place. You just have to go!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ploofy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun Desert Zoo”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I especially enjoyed the camel rides ($5 per person), and the open viewing of the lynx and badger. The badger was particularly energetic, and we were very close to the little guy. Good day of walking and viewing animals. We also enjoyed the bird exhibit, which cost an extra $2 plus $1 for a stick of bird seed. It was fun to get to feed the birds, and my wife loved it. Happy wife = worth it:)

We went to the reptile show, and I would not recommend that. Think your old science teacher reading a book to the class. That was the reptile show. Though at the end kiddos did get to pet the turtle...worth it? Not for us:)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
396 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Lots Of Beautiful Things To See!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

What a fantastic way to spend a morning! I say morning, because in the summer months, this attraction is only open for four hours. The temperatures can reach over 100 quickly, so get here early, wear lots of sunscreen and bring water with you!
This park focuses exclusively on plants and animals found in desert climates. I saw things here that I've never seen anywhere else in the country. Have your camera ready!
Hint: There is a tram that costs an additional $6.00 per person. The park isn't so big that you cannot walk it, but if you have small children or elderly guests who are heat sensitive, this might be a good investment, as it's hop on and hop off.
HINT: There is an animal hospital on-site, and tours are available. Incredibly, all procedures are video streamed live for visitors. Call ahead of your visit and find out if an animal is going to be examined or operated on that day. If so, you can observe! This is an incredible opportunity, and something I have never seen offered before, and it's free!
Hint: There is a giraffe feeding. Get here early and don't expect to be able to stand around and take pictures. The giraffe is very sensitive to crowds, so you will be encouraged to give her a stalk of green and move on!
Hint: There is a nursery on site so you can purchase plants you see in the exhibit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VanEsq12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Time”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A lot more than a zoo, desert gardens, interactive displays, one of the largest outdoor train displays I've ever seen. First zoo I've ever been where I didn't have to pay to feed the giraffe. Also, the tram was a good send in the heat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Living Desert Zoo & Gardens also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Living Desert Zoo & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing