We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Sanctuary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights the first week in November. Overall I would rate this at 4.5 stars and they only reason it didn't get 5 stars was because they charge $15 dollars a day for parking when there is clearly no shortage of parking. Also when we were there, there was a camper/RV type vehicle parked in a parking spot with people clearly staying in there ( sleeping in the parking lot). Overall checking was very easy. Although I still have to contact Starwood to see why this stay did not qualify for my points. They offer a gift card/ round of golf if you go to their presentation on property vacation packages. The property seemed very secure. Room was nice. Full kitchen with dishes/ports/ pans/ fridge/ dishwasher/ etc. Living room, dining room table and a nice size bedroom. Bathroom has a standup shower and jacuzzi tub. Back porch in nicely secluded, although you can still hear neighbors loud and clear on the porch. It seems like a good place for families or for couples looking for a nice weekend away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loverlylyllah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear guest, thank you for the feedback regarding your experience at Westin Desert Willow. It was great to know that the accommodations met your needs. We do have a parking fee for all guests not using their ownership. We hope to be your families location for future visits.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Desert Willow Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

673 - 679 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We received a promotional offer for a 4-night stay at the Westin Desert Willows. Upon arrival we had a brief(10 minute) meeting with the concierge who gave us a welcome packet and explained how the SPG vacation program works. She also gave us a $75 Visa gift card. They asked if we would be interested in attending a 90 minute presentation on their program. In exchange for attending, we'd get an additional $125 on the Visa card and something like 15,000 SPG points. When we declined, there was no pressure. They were respectful and said if we changed our mind, we could let them know. As far as the resort, we stayed in one of the newer buildings(#4) on the first floor. We were near the outdoor grills which was nice since we used them everyday. Building 4 is about a 5 minute walk to the main pool area/tennis courts/fitness center. If you call, they will pick you up in a golf cart and take you anywhere on the property. There is another pool area right behind bldg 4. We found it very nice. Also has beverage/snack service. About the only negative thing I could say is that a couple days the housekeeping staff didn't check our room and change towels etc. I don't know if they do that everyday for all guests. If you have a car, downtown Palm Springs is about a 25 minute drive. There is a local shopping area within 5 minutes. Palm Desert is VERY easy to get around in. The property is right on a golf course. Unfortunately, I was not able to play(surgery recovery) but I visited the course and thought it looked great. Gives me reason to return!!!!

Room Tip: First floor rooms have walk out from bedroom to a patio with table/chairs. Upper rooms have balconys...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MnGoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear guest, thank you for selecting our resort for your long weekend. We were excited to hear that you may return in the future. The staff will be excited to know that your experience was a positive one. We hope you can return and play some rounds on the golf course next time!

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have stayed at many Starwood properties and I must say from the concierge (Lupe) To the service at pool and just the friendliness of all the employees. It was the best We needed extra towels no problem extra shampoo done. Also issue with our TV fixed when we returned Location is also great 10 mins from most places to eat. Cleanliness was spotless inside and out. We were in brand new building #18. Which is away from the main bldg but have separate pool in back. View of golf and pool. Asked for highest level. Got top floor. One thing I do miss is there is no hotel on this property so there is no spa or nightlife at all. Other than that was very pleased with visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wpunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear guest, we appreciate you as patronage and hope your can come again. We will be sure to inform Lupe and the pool team of your comments on friendliness. Thank you for staying with us.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

If you have small children you may want to stay elsewhere. We have two children (7 weeks and 3 years) and have been regulars here for the past 3 years. We had been told many times that the new pool would be perfect for small children and were anxiously awaiting the opening. Well that time has now come and let me tell you that the new kids pool (Palo Verde) isn't exactly "kid" friendly. While it is zero entry there is nothing to entertain a child like you would expect from the other Westin Villa properties. There is not one water feature, slide or anything you could find at other Westin Villas or local resort. Don't expect to be able to purchase sun screen, water toys or ice cream either. Instead of finding creative ways to boost revenue they decided to sell over priced microwaved food and cocktails. Imagine my surprise when I found out I paid $8.00 for a 6" over microwaved pizza for my 3 year that she wouldn't even finsish. I think they really missed the mark here....

However if you are empty nesters or want a weekend away from the kids there is no place better. Feel free to sit by the pool and fire up a cigarette or two while enjoying a signature Westin cocktail with the other adults surrounding the kiddie pool.

As for us we will be selling the weeks we own here and we will be reinvesting somewhere else where we and our small children can feel more welcome.

Room Tip: Any upper floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank greggfi626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I apologize for the service issues that you encountered during your stay. We will definitely use this as an opportunity to learn and improve our service to our guests. We are looking into an area where we could possibly place a playground set for our younger guests in future phases. It is disappointing to us as well when our team doesn’t perform as it should when delivering service to our guests. If I can ever be of assistance in the future please let me know. Thank you again.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Went back to Desert Willow 15 months after our first visit and were just as impressed as we were the first time there. Was nice to visit during another season to experience the change in weather but nothing about the resort has changed, perhaps only gotten better. We requested and were able to stay in the newest building (#18) which shares a new pool and hot tub with one other building (although it's accessible and usable by anyone staying at the resort) and which we used quite a lot.

Service and friendliness were great as we remembered. The amazing Joe is still the bartender and we hope he never leaves! As I said in my first review, his martini class is a blast and we took it again and he made it new all over again. Happy hour food and drinks in the bar are a bargain and we indulged on several evenings.

All in all a great experience and I would highly recommend this facility to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a bad room throughout the resort but we generally opt for the newer construction i...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabuddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear guest, we were excited to hear that you were able to return for another visit. It was nice to know Joe is continuing to make lasting impressions with our guests. The will be pleased to hear your comments on service and friendliness. Thank you for taking the time and we hope your 3rd visit is just as positive as your previous two.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

From the Heavenly Bed, to the staff- this Westin was awesome! We had a minor issue upon checking in, however Daniel, the manager, solved it right away and even sent us a gift of wine and toffee to our room. We would definitely stay here again. We traveled with our 13 year old and 10 year old and they also had a great time. The only downfall is that it was a moderate distance from all the shopping and good places to eat. So you definitely do need to rent a car.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear guest, thank you for providing us feedback on your stay. It was refreshing to hear that we were able to resolve your concern during your stay. We will be sure to share with Daniel your comments on how he handled your situation. Hopefully, you and the kids can come back soon for another visit.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed at this location while on a business trip because I needed to have the comforts of home away from home. The location is well located and a short drive from many restaurants. The villas have all you will need for cooking and entertainment. However, the one I was in would not be suitable for a larger group, especially if you wanted to cook using more than two pots or pans. The pool was great. There are bbq grills if you need them. Golf carts will take you around the property. And if you like to golf, the property has a course. Overall, it was a peaceful locale that I would be happy to return to when in the area.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Peaceful, thank you for choosing our resort for your lodging needs. We were pleased to here that our accommodations met your needs. We appreciate you as a guest and hope you can return in the future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
3.4 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
936 reviews
2.6 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Desert Willow Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Desert Willow Villas

Address: 75 Willow Rdg, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260-0305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: £89 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Desert Willow Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A villa resort offering just-like-home amenities in a world class destination. The Westin Desert Willow Villas features villas up to 1,420 square feet with fully equipped kitchens, private balconies or patios, washers and dryers, separate living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Experience the value of a villa and enjoy no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Desert Willow Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Desert Willow Villas Hotel Palm Desert
The Westin Desert Willow Villas Palm Desert, California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing