We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful family vacation spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Desert Willow Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Enumclaw, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful family vacation spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a great time at the Desert Willow. The slide was a special treat for our grandchildren. Lots of things to do on property for all ages. Don't think any of you will be disappointed. While sitting around the pool and getting food or drinks be sure to look for Gabriel. He is one fantastic employee. Takes care of it all.
Gramann/Eldridge Families

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayron G, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hello--
Vikki G, I am happy to learn you enjoy your stay with us. thank you for your support and loyalty. I have shared your comments with our staff and we are looking forward to exceed all your expectations on your next visit.

kind regards,
Bayron Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    272
    64
    27
    18
See reviews for
372
311
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed with our family in building 5, over-looking the golf course and the beautiful mountains in the distance. The room were clean and well-appointed. The real star of this trip was Kathie the concierge. My husband and I had planned a mid-week drive to las Vegas. Kathie printed us out directions, maps and pointed out several points of interest in and around Palm Desert.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We will be sure to share your comments with Kathie and we were happy that we could accommodate your needs. Hope to see you again.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I just spent a week here relaxing in the desert heat with my wife and infant son. Since this was the first vacation with the cherub, I noticed attractions for kids that I normally would not have paid any attention to. Most notable was the shaded baby pool near building 18. We spent at least an hour here every day and the baby absolutely loved it. Since I am a ginger and the baby is also on the fair side, we definitely appreciated the canopy over the pool; this probably saved me over $10 in aloe and hours of stinging pain.
Our room in building 3 had a great view of the 16th tee and Mt. San Jacinto, so no complaints there. The patio maybe could've been a little more open to allow a breeze to blow through, but it was still a great place to drink a beer and watch golfers much better than myself. The kitchen and bathroom were both really big for a vacation villa and came equipped with everything we needed for the week. Some of the furniture was dusty, but that is probably my biggest complaint.
We thought the staff was helpful and friendly. The golf course also looked really nice; too bad it was too expensive for someone that sucks at golf, like me.
The plans to expand and add another ten buildings seems a tad ambitious. The pools were both pretty full every day, so adding another hundred people or so and only one small pool will probably leave things a bit crowded. But if you're going right now you'll be in good shape.

Room Tip: Buildings one and two are closest to the big pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rojowop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us. We appreciate the feedback and we were glad to know that your stay was enjoyable. We hope you can return in the near future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband and I are owners here and we went for our first visit during the middle of April. For anyone looking to stay here, the place is clean, new, and fine. With older kids, it's a good place to go. But, keep your expectations LOW for the helpfulness of the staff. It felt like we were staying at an apartment complex rather than a resort, which can be very disappointing when you've spent thousands of dollars to be an owner and are used to the "SPG Treatment" from other places. When we arrived, we didn't know where to check in and the two employees at the valet kiosk didn't even notice we had arrived. We asked them "where do we check in" - and the response was "oh, this is your first time? Go in those doors". Then, there was not a single employee at the check in desk, so we had to ask a concierge girl to find someone to check us in (it was 4pm). We sat there for a few minutes before someone arrived. The first impressions of the place just weren't great.

We had to book two separate reservations for our stay because the place was booked out. We were scheduled to change rooms on our third night, and totally understood. The front desk girl during check in told us to pack up that third morning and come to the front desk so they could assign us a new room. We spent more than an hour cleaning and packing up everything for our 10 month old and ourselves, went to the front desk and were told we didn't need to switch. We never got a notice, a phone call, or anything. It was so frustrating.

Another thing to point out - they are still building here, several more buildings are going in and they don't have any plans to build any additional pools. If you are planning on going during a busy time, expect the pools to be extremely overcrowded because they were already and hundreds of villas still haven't been built.

It's clean, new and an average overall place to stay. If you have low expectations for the staff and feeling, you shouldn't have any problems. But if you're an owner or SPG traveler, don't expect anything fabulous.

Room Tip: Building 1 was close to the main pool and the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeshTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear guest, thank you for providing us your feedback on your experience. I apologize for the shortcomings of the staff you encountered during your stay. We will definitely share your comments with our teams to ensure that we correct these issues moving forward. We hope to have another opportunity to win your trust in the future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Everything about this resort is beautiful: the nearby golf course, the facilities and the nearly-new rooms. If you have a family with kids this place is perfect for you. Nearly everyone staying there have children. The rooms are large, the pools are kid friendly and the grounds stay open with the lights on, until 10 PM. Kids are encouraged to run around and play on the grounds and in the pool area. One pool has a water slide and there is a kids club. If you are a couple without children, be prepared for noise.
As stated in other reviews, there is construction going on at the site. A new building is being built. They work from Monday to Friday but not weekends. It looks like it will take a long time for construction to be completed, so check with the hotel before you book. There is also a lot of noise early in the morning at the golf course(cutters and blowers), so be prepared for that as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction and golf course noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear guest, thank you for providing us with your feedback. It was nice to know that the resort met your needs. We appreciate you as a guest and hope you can return in the future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachbeauty69
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Beautiful new Westin Resort. Premier room with kitchen and king bed was perfect. Very tastefully appointed. Friendly staff. Two large pools, fair size gym, and 3-4 tennis courts. Great location. Free parking and free internet a bonus.

Thank You Westin.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandytoebeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear guest, thank you for giving us your feedback regarding your experience. We appreciate you taking the time. We will share your comments on friendliness with the staff. We hope you can return in the future.


Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We spent two days at the Westin and were impressed with each and every staff member. Friendly greeting at check in and the bell hops quickly unpacked our car and told us
to follow the golf cart to our unit in Building B. Though this unit was not located near the main pool,, it was just a 3-minute walk. Loved the Clubhouse pool area. Lots of families in the lower deck "kiddie" area where the Jimmy Jammer slide was located, but we found privacy at the upper level "adult" pool where a jacuzzi was located in the corner. Loved the hammocks and ambiance of this very large pool. Great for swimming laps. My sister and I decided to try the huge slide (minimum height 48 inches and found it moved very quickly. More like a slide you'd find at a water park....not complaining, I went down it twice! Had lunch poolside and the sandwiches were big enough to split. Great Bloody Mary's. Though this resort caters to families, there are plenty of diversions for adults. Bike rentals, tennis courts and of course golf. Yoga and Water Aerobics offered on certain days for a fee if a minimum of 3 signed up. I liked the outdoor shower just off the hallway outside of the gym. Gym was immaculate; nothing too special but larger than most resort workout areas. Didn't have time for the El Paseo walk & dine tour ($55) but hope to do this next time. Concierge (Ms Davis) was very friendly and helpful with happy hour suggestions for restaurants at the River area and shopping tips.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexander19902014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear guest, thank you for choosing The Westin Desert Willow Villas as your location of choice here in the valley. We appreciate you as a guest and will be sure to share your comments with Marilyn Davis and the team. The staff will be excited to hear the feedback regarding their friendliness. It was nice to know that the slide and pool side dining met your needs. We do hope you can come again in the near future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
3.4 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
1.2 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Desert Willow Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Desert Willow Villas

Property: The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Address: 75 Willow Rdg, Palm Desert, CA 92260-0305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Desert Willow Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A villa resort offering just-like-home amenities in a world class destination. The Westin Desert Willow features villas up to 1,420 square feet with fully equipped kitchens, private balconies or patios, washers and dryers, separate living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Experience the value of a villa and enjoy no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your The Westin Desert Willow Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Desert Willow Villas Hotel Palm Desert
The Westin Desert Willow Villas Palm Desert, California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing