We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just completed a two week holiday at the Westin Desert Willow villas and the resort is every bit as good as the advertising would have you believe but for one thing....
Right next to the pool is the ongoing construction of the next phase of villas with the metal frame being constructed and the hammering of metal against metal for 8 hours a day (Sundays excepted) although there was notification of the work this was not what we expected and I mean loud, very loud hammering and banging. This detracts from the purpose of having a relaxing holiday as your ears ring with the tubular bells melody!
However, moan over, the place is very good, the villas are ample in size and overlook the golf course and the staff are very very friendly. The pools are good and during our stay were only busy at weekends.
Would not go here again until building work is completed but if you take some ear plugs you should be ok.

Room Tip: Ask for block 5 to get away from the builders
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbostoke76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear guest, thank you for providing us feedback on your experience. We were happy to hear that the amenities met your needs. It was pleasure to know that you were able to also enjoy some golf during your visit. We look forward to your next stay in the future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Desert Willow Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is my third visit to the property since 2011….accompanied by my teenage daughter who won't even consider trying another property. We opted for the premium villa this time instead of the deluxe villa, and it was well worth the extra cost. With the premium villa, you get a larger unit, a king bed instead of queen, and a full kitchen instead of a small kitchenette. I believe we saved money because we cooked more and ate out less than on previous visits. We were in Building 18, which I believe is the latest building, and were literally right next to construction. We have been next to construction on every visit. I have never minded it, as I love the idea of being in the newest unit more than I dislike the construction noise. The rooms have great soundproofing so the sound is quite muffled when your sliding door is shut, and in this heat you would want to keep it that way. There are brand new pools right behind Building 18 which are less crowded that the original pools so ideal for fun and games. That said, the construction is also right next to the pools, so it is very noisy. We played catch with the balls we won at pool bingo so were were having our own noisy fun and didn't care. In the interest of full disclosure, I am mentioning the noise issue, so those who would not like it plan ahead and get assurances they are booked in the original buildings 1 and 2 far from the construction. The fitness center continues to be well maintained and we used it daily…with my daughter now being 15 this is a great mom-daughter activity. Also, due to the heat and distance from building 18 to the main part of the property, we used the shuttle every time we needed to go there…the shuttle drivers were prompt nearly every time we called, and very courteous and personable. We had a few small service issues…had to call the shuttle twice one time when driver didn't come and we were trying to get to the Mirage Deck for a 3 pm "name that song" contest…we ended up getting there in time. Also, I called for coffee supplies that were not replaced and housekeeping never came, so I just hunted down a housekeeper nearby and got them from her. These flaws were minor, and the enjoyment we had was immense. We've been back less than 24 hours and I wish we could go back and do it all over again. By the way, I am one of those people who has no one to back me up at work as I am a "remote" employee (my boss fondly called me the "island")…I worked every day in the room for at least four hours…early morning and evenings. The wifi connection was great and never interrupted…so if you are planning a working vacation, this place is perfect.

Room Tip: Building 1 and 2 are the furthest from construction taking place in June 2014. Building 18 is newest...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pwillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayron G, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Hello-
I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your vacationing at our property. Thank you for score you bestowe upon us. I will like to take this opportunity to thank you for your loyalty and feedback. I appreciate your detailed feedback as it will help us exceed your expectations on a future visit. I look forward to welcome you back!

kind regards,
Bayron Garcia
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Enjoyed a week here. Beautiful, newer resort with large pool area and a smaller, quieter pool to chose from. Plenty of activities to keep kids busy, including the water slide. Food was very good and service was excellent. Concierges were extremely helpful and pleasant. The only drawbacks were the construction noise (yes, they're expanding), but I have to say, we couldn't hear it when we were in our rooms. In fact, we couldn't hear anything but ourselves in our rooms. We were told we had daily maid service, but only had service three times during the week. That was not a problem for us. It would be lovely if they would build a walking path over the golf course to get to the main lodge area more quickly, but hey, then this place would be perfect. Great resort, worth a visit, one of the best in the area.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed away from construction and near the main pool area (if you will use it frequently).
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayron G, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Bayron Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

absolutely delicious lunch. Every choice for our table of 6 was excellent.
The only problem was that a new server was assigned. She had no clue about any of the food, and had not ever tasted anything. She should have been shadowing an experienced staff member for a week.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Irvinggetthecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayron G, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Bayron Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I am an owner who has discovered the need to visit various resorts in the group and this is a typical Westin property. It met all my expectations great property well maintained friendly and helpful staff.The Villas are typical Westin luxurious well finished and clean.The proprty has gfreat views over the golf course and is situated only a short drive from the shops, Walmarts etc.The pools were well maintained and for the first time saw that they really care aboout the kids as there was a 10 minute break where the pools were closed for a sun cream and water break just to make sure everyone was not burning etc. Well done staff, great idea. I also like the idea of having the buggies pick you up and drive you to where you wanted to go within the resort saving you having to walk in the heat of the sun. Certainly is forward thinking. Everything about the resort was great, the food in the bar area was also good anf freshly cooked with plenty on the plate.I will be back to this resort in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayron G, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Hello--
I am happy to learn that you enjoy all aspects of your visist. I wanted to personally thank you for your loyalty and your feedback, Owners are like family for us and its always gratifying to receive such praise. I look forward to welcome you back !

kind regards,

Bayron Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is a great Westin! Jim Moran (the G.M.) and his team are wonderful people and are so engaging, whether you're at breakfast, or around the pool, or grabbing a drink...

Everything about the Villas are so accommodating! Very spacious and comfortable...and loved the ensuite laundry.

Can't wait to be back in California and go back to the Westin Desert Willow Villas!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLY_GUY62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear guest, thank you for your loyalty to our brand! The staff will appreciate your comments on how engaged they were. We look forward to having you back as a guest in the near future!

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our family and friends had another great memory day weekend at the Westin Desert Willows resort. The rooms are spacious, the beds are comfortable and the staff work hard to make sure everything goes well. The workout room is well equipped and was used several times over the weekend. The pool area is where we spent most of our time. The pool gets crowded (as expected) on this holiday weekend, especially on Saturday. We bring our own coolers and food down there and enjoy a good time. There are not enough wait staff going around the pool area for the amount of people that are there. We usually just went up to the bar ourselves to order something if needed.

The staff had several activities for the kids and people there. The kids always enjoy going there and going down the slide.

Lori (activities director) did a great job and made sure we were well taken care of during the weekend. We continue to come to this resort because of the staff like her who go out of their way to make sure people are doing a good job.

Separately, I would like to see some electric vehicle chargers installed at the resort. The Marriott across the street has several.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheersman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear guest, thank you for choosing the Westin Desert Willow Villas as your location of choice here in the valley. The staff will appreciate the comments regarding the slide and activities. We will be sure to share your comments with Lori our Director of Fun. We also like to let you know that we have plans to install electric charging stations in the near future. Hoping to see you again.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
3.4 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
936 reviews
2.6 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Desert Willow Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Desert Willow Villas

Address: 75 Willow Rdg, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260-0305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: £89 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Desert Willow Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A villa resort offering just-like-home amenities in a world class destination. The Westin Desert Willow Villas features villas up to 1,420 square feet with fully equipped kitchens, private balconies or patios, washers and dryers, separate living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Experience the value of a villa and enjoy no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Desert Willow Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Desert Willow Villas Hotel Palm Desert
The Westin Desert Willow Villas Palm Desert, California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing