We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Marriott resort property - Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Typical Marriott resort property - Great!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My disclaimer here is that we used this property as a base for exploring the desert valley, so we didn't use the golf club, pools, restaurants or any other facilities. We look for a great sleep, clean rooms and well equipped kitchen. As Marriott owners we swapped into this property through Interval International. The facility was very, very nice and exactly what we wanted and expected. Gated property although cars often line up to get into the gate, so the first one puts in the code and 2 or 3 can tailgate into the resort behind that guy before the gate closes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Calgarytravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
As a Marriott Vacation Club owner, we are thrilled to read your positive review! We are excited to hear your first stay exceeded your expectations on your recent trip to Palm Desert. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon to Marriott’s Shadow Ridge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    366
    125
    74
    47
See reviews for
465
338
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at the Shadow Ridge for 7 days and loved the location. Upon arrival, you first encounter the beautiful grounds. The roads are lined with palm trees and gorgeous gardens. The villas are entirely gated and you are given a gate code upon check in. The pools are centrally located, although we didn't use them on our trip, they looked well kept. The resort is centrally located to everything; 15 - 20 minutes from nearby Palm Springs, 15 minutes from the living desert (a must see!!) and 15 minutes from the famous shops of El Paseo. We stayed in building 1000, which had a nice view of the mountains. During the day you could see the road behind the building, but you are far enough that you don't hear the cars at night. We had the 2 bedroom villa which was very nicely sized; full size fridge, dishwasher, oven etc. Fireplace in the living room below the tv. Very nice balcony with chairs and table outside. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We had lunch at the Grill which was very pleasant, outside seating overlooks the golf course; the food and service was excellent. Would highly recommend this Marriott for the amenities and location. Many good restaurants are located in Indian Wells,Indio and Rancho Mirage which are only 15-20 minutes away. There are also many shopping areas close by such as Target,Walmart, Costco, etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awaywegoNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Shadow Ridge! It sounds like your family had a great stay with us and enjoyed the many amenities at the resort. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Palm Desert!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We spent the weekend with friends who had a unit for 2 weeks. Enjoyed happy hour at the pool and proximity to area amenities. Family friendly as well as a great place for couples and particularly Snow Birds.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShantyOhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your positive review of Marriott’s Shadow Ridge! We are thrilled to hear your family enjoyed their vacation with us in Palm Desert. Our team looks forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Our daughter's God parents invited us to join them in Palm Springs for a week of golf and relaxation. And we did and we are. Beautiful two BRw with Hawaii overlooking heated pool, two Jacuzzis at over 100 deg. Great for morning soak and swim. Exercise room, Spa, 18 hole goalscorer. Everything you need. Multiple Casinos. Everyone has to try this once!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High River, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Studio suites are small. Housekeeping costs extra?! Grounds are immaculate and paradisaic. The Grille was very good. Pool bar service and food was excellent. Pools are fantastic. Staff were all very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 173Jack173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Our stayed was for 10 days, so we experienced most of what this property had to offer. Very pleased with the staff. Friendly and helpful in the lobby and The Grille. While I worked during the days, my wife and 2-year old were able to keep busy at the pools, cookie-making classes, stuffed animal making class and movie days. The food at the The Grille was pretty good (spaghetti and meatballs recommended) and the bar served a nice IPA for only $3...cheaper than most places sell domestic.

The room itself was great. We had a 1-bedroom with a separate living room and full kitchen. Overlooked the golf course, where ducks and geese roamed every morning. Very clean and a good layout.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotelYorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We truly appreciate your positive review of Marriott’s Shadow Ridge! Our team is happy to hear your family enjoyed the many amenities the resort has to offer. We also appreciate your kind words for the associates who made your stay unforgettable. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Shadow Ridge and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We exchanged two weeks through Interval for a "two bedroom" suite which is actually an efficiency connected to a full one bedroom apartment. Furnishings were acceptable and decorating, paint, etc looked to be recently done. The bed was rather firm but comfortable and bedding was lightweight and warm. The large baths were modern but the showers were lacking in shelves for necessities and had no grab bars. The kitchen area was poorly stocked and I had to request a frying pan three times. The stove cooked well. We very much enjoyed the view of a waterway with very tame ducks and amusing coots. We do not play golf but thought the extensive course looked well used. My son and daughter in law enjoyed the large pool within walking distance but found the club house to be primarily for children. We faced west and were delighted to see some wonderful sunsets. Altogether we had a most agreeable visit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
On behalf of our entire team, we thank you for your positive review of Marriott’s Shadow Ridge! We are happy your villa exceeded your family’s expectations on your recent stay. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.5 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
2.0 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
897 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
0.0 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
2.3 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages

Property: Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211-2057 (Formerly Marriott's Shadow Ridge)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages Palm Desert, California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing