We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Buena Park, California
Level Contributor
309 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,036 helpful votes
“I love this place”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Shadow Ridge is a huge property. I stayed in a two bedroom Villa for a week in the 1700 section.

Check in on Saturday was quick, with a lot of staff on duty to assist. I was asked if I wanted to listen to a time share presentation and said no. I was not asked a second time which was nice seeing that I traded in via Interval International.

The entire two bedroom unit was very nice and well stocked.

The pools were nice, with ample seating all the way around. Pool service was limited throughout the week.

All of the staff that I interacted with was helpful and friendly.

If in the area again, I would stay at this location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 90622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    363
    125
    74
    46
See reviews for
459
337
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is an excellent property, boasting 3 pools, a 1/2 basketball court, mini golf, gym, rock climbing wall, on-premise theater, Dillon's Candy Bar location and mini grocery store. Im sure im forgetting something but the bottom line is that the place is fabulous for familes. Tons to do!!

The rooms are beautifully, tastefully and well stocked with plastic cups for the pool, nice pots and pans, and even tupperware. Our unit had a dishwasher, washer and dryer with soap and sponges and everything you need.

The staff is incredibly accomodating and sincere and the house-keeping does an excellent job keeping the rooms stocked with ammenities and towels.

Would absolutely recommend this hotel (it also allows access to the JW Marriott facilities) and will be going back soon......hopefully.

Room Tip: you want to be close to the pools if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, Dina! It's great to hear your family enjoyed their villa and resort activities. We hope to host you again on your next vacation in Palm Desert!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Outstanding comfort in a wonderful location. Great golf course to play. First floor near 10th hole just beautiful. Cooking outside on grill a plus. Patio sliding door from bedroom sweet. Beautiful kitchen and huge bathroom. Pools across the street. View the mountains or view the golf course. It couldn't be a more pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rcasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I have stayed at many Marriott's properties and overall I have had a positive experience. Unfortunately our stay at Marriott's Shadow Ridge was very disappointing. With so many properties at Palm Springs I would suggest that you definitely avoid this one. We stayed there for less than 24 hours but the list of problems was probably the longest one I have to ever write. To list a few - the shower was not working and it was never fixed. We reported the problem at 3:30 in the afternoon and advised the management that we will leave the room for 3 hours so that they can have a chance to fix it. We came back 4 hours later - the shower was still not working and at to top it off the engineer had left allsorts of sharp and point objects all over the place and he was nowhere to be found - we had little kids and this was quite disconcerting. the shower was never fixed; the pools were quite dirty and even though according to the advertisements the pools were supposed to open at 7, they were unusable and closed until 10:30.
Please be aware the check-out time is10 am!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Shadow Ridge. We apologize your stay did not meet your expectations and can understand your frustration. We would welcome the chance to personally respond to your concerns and invite you to call our Customer Care team at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or at 800-860-9384. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
751 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We'd never stayed at a Vacation Club property before (fear of getting hit up for a timeshare!) but it turned out we only got a phone call inviting us to a presentation if interested (we weren't). The room was clean, with a small microwave and refrigerator (not cold enough to keep ice, though). Bath had a tub, and amenities were "First Crush" from Sonoma Soap Co.

In the reception building, there's a Dylan's Candy Bar attached to the gift shop (Marketplace) and Starbucks Coffee was available in the morning. If you want the morning paper, you come here for it. There's a pretty extensive list of daily activities and movies, and while I didn't use the pools, lots of families were enjoying them.

Easy to get to and abundant parking - all said, we would stay here again if in the area!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CleopatraBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of Marriott's Shadow Ridge! We are pleased to hear your first Marriott Vacation Club experience was a success in Palm Desert. Our team hopes to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
245 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Always enjoy Marriott properties so I admit to a bias. Rented a studio that was quite comfortable. Nice kitchenette area with a mini-firdge, microwave, and sink. Bathroom was very large. Nice views of the desert and mountains. Be aware this is a very large property so if you are in more than one unit make sure to get them close together. Front desk staff was very helpful and went out of their way to provide information when requested.

Room Tip: Look at a property map online to determine your favorite spot when reserviing, ie close to pools, re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharkhunter2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We come out here often and love the Marriott brand....no real complaints that could not be avoided. Some upgrading is being completing so some extra noise that is not normal and they did provide notice. Did have an issue controlling the AC temp...again minor. Otherwise love the property. Clean and well maintained. 2 bdrm villa fully equipped and made good use of the grills.
Golf course in excellent shape. Pool areas were also good. Great resort for families, though we do not have young kids. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you prefer quiet section....choose a building away for the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, Dan! We are happy your family had a great stay with us in April and hope to see you again soon at Marriott's Shadow Ridge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.5 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
2.0 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
0.0 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
2.3 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages

Property: Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211-2057 (Formerly Marriott's Shadow Ridge)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages Palm Desert, California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing