We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Desert Oasis”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for the Kraft Nabisco Championship and it was very nice location. Close to the several golf courses included Mission Hills. A short distance to grocery stores and nice restaurants as well. They have a shuttle service within the resort since it is so large with is a plus. Rooms are clean. Very nice resort. Staff is very accommodating and helpful. Plenty of activities to do on the resort premises. Great pools, and nicely landscaped desert grounds. A great place for the couples and families

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are glad to be your desert oasis, Myrna! Thank you for the great Tripadvisor review and we look forward to your next stay at Marriott's Shadow Ridge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    366
    125
    74
    47
See reviews for
465
338
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms are excellent. Fully equipped kitchen so you can make meals in your room and save money. You need to bring pool towels because they run out. Many activities for young kids - but teens and older would not be impressed.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJA735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

5-night stay in the 1500 block with the family. Room (1-bed villa) was very clean and well equipped. We looked at the 2-bed villa but for the additional cost thought we would be able to cope using the pull-out bed and in fact worked out fine. Kitchen has everything you need and more. Check-in was very simple and all of the staff were super-friendly during our stay.

The weather was hot (104-111) so we spent practically all day and every day at the main pool where the kids enjoyed the water and we enjoyed the bar service (which both food and beverage was very good at Chuckwalla's). One evening we had dinner up at the Enclave pool which was pretty good also but a different vibe from the main pool area. The 1500 block is right across from the pool so made for an easy trip every day to/from. One day we went to Wet'n'Wild which cost a bomb but it's a theme park so you can't really complain - rides here are pretty good and made a change from the resort pool. The kids participated in a few activities but it's not really run along the lines of a kid's club where you can leave them for a block of time, but they did have a number of activities every day.

Only gripe was that our neighbors on one side sat outside all day drinking and smoking which wafted over to our patio and stank. I believe the resort's non-smoking poilcy applies indoor and outdoor. I could have complained but didn't so my bad I guess.

We'll definitely come back for another visit in a few months.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZiggyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review for Marriott's Shadow Ridge! We are pleased you had a great time on your recent stay in June. It can be hot during the summer months and there's no better way to cool down than by the pool! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long beach
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed for 3 days and had a great time......yes it is June in the desert and it can be hot, was about 105 when we were there but not miserable.......the resort is great with a lot of activities for all ages. The golf course was challenging but not crazy hard. Well maintained course that I would play again in a minute.
Rooms were very nice and roomy.....we definitely will return. summer rates make this resort appealing.
Just about one mile off the 10 freeway and very easy to find. COSTCO very close by, so that was great. Starbucks close by too......

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlaGioch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I read many of the earlier reviews complaining about bad service. This was not the case for us. Every time we requested something be done, it was done and within a few minutes. More towels, no problem. Fix the pool clock, no problem. This Marriott seemed to have the best service of all the Mariotts we have stayed in.

For adults the 2800-3000 bldgs are closest to the quiet pool. Just across the street. The quiet pool really is quiet. No games, toys or other disturbances are allowed. And if someone does become loud or kids bring in any toys hotel staff come and ask them to go to the main pool which has lots of amenities for kids. We were just 2 of us and thoroughly enjoyed being able to go to the quiet pool and relax in a complimentary cabana which had misters and a ceiling fan ( again something that many hotels charge a lot extra for).

The activities remind me of a cruise ship. There is something going on almost every hour. Many of the activities are free which other locations charge for such as yoga and pool exercises, wine and cheese. The movie theater has a large projection screen and regular movie theater style seats.

The only bad things that we encountered were the strange design of the kitchen where the dishwasher is located one cabinet away from the sink, the placement of all the dishes which was to the left of the stove and in an upper area , making it difficult for a shorter person to get a plate and the distance the lobby is from the rooms ( you could't walk there in 110 deg heat) so we drove our car. You can walk it though when it isn't hot, but the lobby is outside the gated area for all the rooms. We too noticed the strange thermostat. It is more like a car thermostat where heat is applied if you turn the temp up. But it was not an inconvenience, I just turned off the A/c, which I left off most of the day anyway even in 110 outside temp when we were gone.

Room Tip: 2800-3000 if you have no kids and want to be next to the quiet pool. 1500 if you have kids and want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jefinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your five-star TripAdvisor review! We are happy you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us during your visit in June. Your feedback about the villa and location is appreciated and we hope will assist other guests when making their reservation requests. Thank you again for your review and please visit us again at Marriott's Shadow Ridge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just got back from another great week at Shadow Ridge. This was our fourth year in a row always staying either the last week of May or the first week of June. Would have rated our stay a five except for the following problems.

Had some issues with our room on check in. New bedroom curtains installed in living room and vice versa( neither would open or close properly), no plug for the bath tub, got locked out as "smart keys" stopped working and had to call security, no sheets for the couch bed. Staff responded and all was fixed eventually.

New A/C thermostats are a joke. If you want to turn up the temperature by one degree, the heater comes on until it arrives at the higher temperature. Engineering was called and agreed that this is how the new system works. Suggested that I just turn the system off until the room warmed up on its own, which is what should happen if you turn the thermostat up. Crazy, and not efficient( so much for being green).

Loved lounging at the "lounge" pool. Stephanie and Brittany did a great job serving everyone there. All the Shadow Ridge staff is very friendly and professional.

This is also a great place to ride bikes. This is a very large property and you can get a great long ride in without leaving the gates.

All in all, a nice relaxing week. Will probably come again next year. Hopefully they can fix the A/C issues.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49Jerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.5 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
2.0 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
897 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
0.0 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
2.3 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages

Property: Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211-2057 (Formerly Marriott's Shadow Ridge)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages Palm Desert, California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing