We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet in the desert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet in the desert”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed at this Hampton Inn May 2014 for 3 nights. Requested and received an upper level floor King room. The view was ok, as it looked out over the entry and the gas station across the street. Bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Towels were normal, nothing great, would've expected a bit better towel for a hotel of this grade. The hot water came on quickly in the shower. The room had a fridge and kept beverages ice cold. The AC worked well though for some it would be noisy. I like the white noise at night so not a bother to me. The fan in the bathroom was annoying and the bathroom layout was awkward.

Got a great rate of $89 a night and the breakfast was free. The first night it was scramble eggs and slices of French toast which I found a weird combination. There was also oatmeal, baked goods, fruit, waffles and yogurt. The second morning it was a preformed cheese omelet and sausage patties. I found this a better breakfast.

Parking was not a problem, I didn't use the pool or other facilities. Location is a bit away from the urban areas of Palm Springs and Palm Desert, but it is right of Interstate 10. There is a Starbucks, Jack-in-the-Box and Carl's Jr. within walking distance, as well as a couple sit down food places. AM/PM gas stations also. Being out in the valley like this it was very windy and dusty in the evening. Getting to where you want to go is easy as the main roads have high speed limits, few traffic lights or traffic.

Would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkemows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonPD, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear mkemows,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel on Trip Advisor! We appreciate the information you've shared with us and we are glad to know that our hotel and staff met all of your expectations. We are happy you found our rooms to be clean, beds comfortable and that you enjoyed the variety of breakfast items we have to offer.

Please let me know if you need anything during your future stays with us.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope you come back soon, because we love having you here.

Sincerely,

Maria D. Banning
Hampton Inn and Suites
Palm Desert, Ca 92211
760-340-1001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    191
    71
    30
    11
See reviews for
199
214
46
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menominee, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Nice hot tub and pool for a less expensive hotel. My bed was comfortable. Nice breakfast, good location and friendly staff. Our air conditioner worked just fine in the 97 degree heat. They had a nice tv in breakfast room. Breakfast room was airy and sunny. Cookies upon check in was a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billiebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonPD, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear BillieBob,

On behalf of the hotel, I can say that we truly are glad to hear the positive response and feedback from you on Trip Advisor! We are glad you enjoyed breakfast, hasd a comfortable room and also found the staff to be friendly! You can be confident I will share your comments with them.

Please let me know if you need anything during your future stays with us.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope you come back soon, because we love having you here.

Sincerely,

Maria D. Banning
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites
Palm Desert, California 92211
(p)760-340-1001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Looking for a good place to stay, convenient, not in the bustle of Palm Springs but still near restaurants, etc. This is a good choice. The breakfast, while standard, was served nicely and had decent quality. The Internet access was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank KennethWeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonPD, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear KennethWeene,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the information you've shared with us and we are delighted that our hotel and staff met all of your expectations.

Please let me know if you need anything during your future stays with us.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope you come back soon, because we love having you here.

Sincerely,

Maria D. Banning
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites
Palm Desert, Ca 92211
760-340-1001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Robert Smith was very personable and helped with our luggage when there were no luggage carts. The swimming pool was so cold that it was practically unusable. The air conditioner compressor on the roof (I assume that this is what is was) made an unpleasant vibration noise even when our A/C was off.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank LA108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonPD, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear LA108,

Hello, my name is Maria and I'm the Front Desk Manager at the Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Palm Desert, CA. On behalf of the hotel, I'd like to let you know that we truly appreciate your honest response regarding your stay with us, because our guest’s feedback is very important for continually improving our hotel. You can be confident I will share your comments with Robby and I know he willl be delighted!

We want our guests to have the best experience possible where every part of their stay is pleasant and comfortable.

We value you as our guest and hopefully we will see you back again so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Sincerely,

Maria D. Banning
Front Office Manager
Hampton inn and Suites
Palm Desert, Ca 92211
760-340-1001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

First the good - the cost was very reasonable. The free breakfast was better than most. The room was clean.
Now the issues - the most crucial was that the bed was like a slab of concrete. Rock hard and extremely uncomfortable. Tossed and turned all night long as could not get comfortable and woke up every few hours all night long.
The next problem was the a/c - it was set on auto so it would start and then when the temp was at the right level, it would shut off. Then the room would get stifling hot until it started again. Plus it was very noisy.
Overall, wouldn't stay there again as I did not sleep well due to the bed and the noisy a/c.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CB90292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonPD, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear CB90292,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the information you've shared with us. I would like to apologize for the hotel not meeting your expectations regarding the comfort our beds and noisy AC. All of our products including the beds are part of the standard set forth by Hilton and ithey are items we must purchase from approved Hilton vendors. In regards to your noisy ac, we are in the process of upgrading some of our older models to newer quieter ones.

We want our guests to have the best experience possible where every part of their stay is pleasant and comfortable.

We value you as our guest and hopefully you will be able to give us another chance so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort. If you would like, please contact me next time you are in the area and I will personally make sure you have a pleasant stay with us.

Sincerely,
Maria D Banning
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites
Palm Desert, CA 92211
760-340-1001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
319 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel was very clean and my room and bed were very comfortable. The breakfast area was very clean and well stocked. The hotel looks fairly new and is well kept. The hotel is not real close to a lot of restaurants but then it's only about a 15 minute ride to the downtown area and the airport. The staff was friendly. I would stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drrosenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonPD, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear drrosenthal,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel on Trip Advisor! We appreciate the information you've shared with us and we are glad to know that our hotel and staff met all of your expectations. We are happy you found our rooms and breakfast area to be very clean and the beds comfortable. We are also glad that you found the staff to be "friendly."
You can be confident I will share your comments with all our team members!

Please let me know if you need anything during your future stays with us.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope you come back soon, because we love having you here.

Sincerely,

Maria D. Banning
Hampton Inn and Suites
74-900 Gerald Ford Dr.
Palm Desert, Ca 92211
760-340-1001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel is very well located and the staff should all be given awards for their warm and welcoming manners. A couple of the ladies actually remembered us from a previous stay. The dinners served are very nice and we are sure all guests enjoying having dinner and breakfast served in such a homey manner. this is a very nice hotel but they do need to install new carpeting and update the furniture to bring it above the Extended Stay America hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Wanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
1.5 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Springs/Rancho Mirage
2.1 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
Address: 74900 Gerald Ford Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92211-2081
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palm Desert
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're staying for business or vacation travel, here at the Hampton Inn & Suites in Palm Desert, we're passionate about taking good care of you and providing you the best place to stay. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities at our hotel to make your stay exceptional. The best part is we have a very enthusiastic and friendly staff that aim to make your stay more personable...we like to call it having great "Hamptonality" to share with each and every guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites - Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Hampton Inn And Suites - Palm Desert
Hampton Inn Palm Desert
Palm Desert Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing