We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless evening.”

Mastro's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Mastro's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 272 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Faultless evening.”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Everything was wonderful. The food the drinks and the service and the place itself. Very expensive and very worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Moquis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    66
    29
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“OK for a Mastros”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I like the Mastros in Scottsdale so this was a new one. The Filet was ok. The Cesar salad was tasty. Good solid martini's and desert was delicious.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank GolfingYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“the food didn't match the atmosphere”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The restaurant is beautiful. Very stylish, open, spacious. Love the decor and the openness. However, the food wasn't good. My husband ordered a very thick piece of meat (don't remember the type) and it wasn't seasoned or hot. My chicken was a little tough and just served like that. A piece of chicken. The dessert was chocolate cake (lava, or molton) and it wasn't dark or rich or anything special. The drinks were fine, I had a couple of cocktails (one with jalapenho), not bad. The waitress was very attentive and always taking care of our water and drinks.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotusflower111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
131 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“BEEEEEF”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

What a CRAZY bar scene with all the glam of Palm Desert, food is wonderful but bring a wallet or 3. Sat in the awesome bar with great cover band -- will return

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“"Where's the Beef"”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Mastro's Steakhouse has been a favorite of ours for years in the Scottsdale area. Always a treat... Wonderful decor, valet parking, and some terrific food. We decided to celebrate a Special Birthday with them recently. We had asked for a nice and quiet table, for a romantic dinner. Our server, Monica, greeted us with a Big Smile, and a Big Personality! A real pleasure... The restaurant was almost empty when we arrived, but it was Super Bowl Sunday, and the game was still on?
We began with the Lobster Bisque. Very rich and buttery.
Decided to share the 20Oz, Chefs Choice Steak... Way too much for one of us, and the Scalloped Potatoes. Just as we were getting down to business....the music started! Not, Frank and Dean...or even Michael Buble? We were treated to The Rolling Stones, and a Top 40 type playlist...and it was loud?
Next....the live music in the lounge area began... Very nice, if you were looking for a Club Scene, but strange for a Fine Dining Steakhouse, in Palm Springs? We asked Monica if they could turn it down. We were not even in the same room, and it was incredibly loud? She explained that Management wanted a Young Buzz.... An upscale and hip crowd from areas like LA etc..? Most of our fellow diners were well into their Golden Years, and looked equally as puzzled as us? This was Sunday Night at 6:30? The loud music compromised our "Romantic Evening". This is a very expensive restaurant...Steaks can go over $100.00, and drinks are close to $20,00... ? So much for the "Buzz"!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aladdin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mastro's Steakhouse also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Mastro's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing