We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, not perfect, but good”
Review of Pueblo Viejo Grill

Pueblo Viejo Grill
Ranked #72 of 273 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Orange, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food, not perfect, but good”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were there from out of town--wife like the pictures of the food on the internet so we went. Server waited 8 minutes to place our drink order for the "2nd happy hour" at 8PM for cost savings. Good salsa--favorable, but not too spicy. We both had the Combo 6: shredded beef taco and enchilada. Both very tasty, although we had to wait a while and actually saw people served prior to us that had ordered after us. Food was warm, not hot. Bean and rice were more warm and very flavorful as well. Server was nice, but seldom checked back on us--had to flag down another server to get bill.

All in all 4 stars for tasty food, excellent service would have gotten a 5....maybe.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mamitch52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This location is as reliable as the original”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have been going to their restaurant in Indio for years, in fact this year when we arrived without a reso, there were at least 20 people waiting. Darn, our little secret is no more.

However, their newer location in Palm Desert is just as good and just as reliable. The service was as expected, the salsa great, as always, and my fish tacos exactly like they were previously.

Not sure who the naysayers are, however, they are not telling the truth and should have their reviews removed. Their false misleading comments undermine the spirit and credibility of legitimate reviews, and falsely impact a restaurants reputation. Tsk, Tsk people, you should be ashamed of yourselves.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loveStGermain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Service by Giovanni :)”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Pueblo Viejo Grill is now our go to Mexican restaurant in the desert. We have been going there since it opened and have had great service and tasty American style Mexican food. The chips and salsa just keeps a coming even during their Happy Hour. On our last visit eight of us after golf made the Happy Hour in time for drinks. The restaurant was full and we were lucky to find the large table for eight available. Giovanni quickly gathered our order and when my husband asked for two beers to get in on the Happy Hour pricing he suggested he'd put in the order but bring the second beer when he was ready---very much appreciated. Those that love margaritas will delight in the fact that the Happy Hour size is quite large and wonderful. We are not the easiest group to deal with after a hot afternoon on the golf course but Giovanni just kept up his smile as he gathered chips, condiments, drinks, separate checks etc... Thank you!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GinaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Take out”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had take out one night of our vacation - seafood enchiladas and chicken chimi. Both very good. Restaurant looked nice as well, would have preferred to eat in but kids were exhausted after a day in the desert.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KiF1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food...so so service”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We had a good dinner tonight, but I was disappointed with the service tonight. Requests not fulfilled until the second reminder. Missing items.... Too bad really.

Helpful?
Thank Patty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pueblo Viejo Grill also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Pueblo Viejo Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing