We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of John's Restaurant

John's Restaurant
Ranked #143 of 273 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Restaurant details
Irvine
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

There are 4 John's in So Cal and have the best food I have had. Eaten there for 25 years and the burgers and breakfast's are the best

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler714025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    24
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Breakfast in Palm Desert”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This restaurant has one of the better breakfasts in the Palm Desert/Palm Springs area. Note: you order at the front, which probably accounts for the good prices. Diner-type restaurant and worth going to if you like to start the day with a good full breakfast.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Simple restaurant, ambience could make alot of difference, prices higher then Del Taco next door and service is better next door with a great cup of coffee for 50 cents Senior at Del Taco.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Buncy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good and affordable!”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stopped here because we were starving and couldn't find much else around the area that looked decent for a quick, substantial bite with the kids. We were pleasantly surprised by the varied menu with everything: fish, tacos, burgers, pasta, salad, breakfast, the list goes on. A very extensive menu, capable service, and quick turnaround. Took us longer to order than it did to have our food, which was amazing.

We ordered cheeseburgers, chicken strips, fish tacos, and spaghetti. All of the food was served quickly, hot, and just as we ordered it. For a quick homecooked style meal, you can't beat this place.

The restaurant is a bit grungy and the service a little spotty in terms of getting refills on drinks, but it served our needs well and we were pleased overall. I would definitely return here again with the kids, everyone found something they would eat and nobody complained. That is saying something when not a single kid complains!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food, Reasonable Price”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Great meal and a lot of it for price. Fast service, friendly staff, conveniently located to several hotels on Hwy 111 in Palm Desert.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John's Restaurant also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to John's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing