We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Mission Viejo, California
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We asked for a lower level room by the hotel so we could use the pool. We are in rooms 9325 and 9326 - there is a wonderful view of the golf course. We were able to sit on the patio and watch the golfers, have the ducks come and visit. We were a short walk to the small pool- great for adults. If we had small children - it would be better to ask for a unit closer to the larger pool that has a kiddie area, volleyball nets etc. plus that pool has a bar and restaurant. Our location was in short walking distance to the hotel which you are allowed to use Mon- Friday for free as a Villa 1 guest. If you want to use the pool as a Villa II or during the weekends it is a whopping $20 a day.... better off staying at the villa pools. The rooms are spacious, plenty of room for a family to have space. We took the two bedroom villa so the kids could have the second room and have some space. Enjoyed the whole experience- would come again.

Room Tip: We loved being close to the small pool, the hotel pool and the tennis courts- room 9325
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    127
    36
    19
    19
See reviews for
168
139
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

The 2 bedroom lock out unit we stayed in late may was very large. even the lock out portion was spacious with its own patio. We had a corner unit with nice view of the golf course. The resort location was convenient to highway, golf courses restaurants and shopping. We would definitely return to this resort.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Our trip was very relaxing. We stayed in a newly refurbished unit. It was very roomy. The deck floor was very dirty. Would come in with black feet. Many pools to choose from. Ended up going to the kids pool most of the time. The only issue with the pools was there was a lot of stuff floating in there. (Bugs, bees, leaves, other stuff.). Also saw a lot of children using pool with diapers without pull-ups on. If you get a chance have to go to the JW Marriott very nice clean pools and take a ride on there boat ride. Very nice for the kids. We got food at vans not too far away.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhwollner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Visiting with friends who own a timeshare and it's always a great location. Villas have been redecorated nicely and we love the updated kitchen with the gas stovetop. The lockout is big and a great second room with double beds and a giant bathroom. Villas are stocked well with the basics in the kitchen and bathroom. There is a marketplace that is perfect with the extras you need or forgot. Marriott workers have been very personable and nice.

Room Tip: Villas 1 is older than Villas 2 but larger and have been remodeled. Villas 1 you can use the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The place (Palm Desert) is absolutely gorgeous. Perfect for resting, enjoying the sun, swimming, playing golf and dining in very good places.

The hotel is OK. Very well situated, but a little old.
The pillows, however, smelled very bad (as if they have been used by many people who don't shower!). We had to cover them with towels.
We found one hair in one of those pillows.
There were many mosquitos INSIDE the room, which bothered us a lot.
Personnel was very nice.

Room Tip: Rent larger villas with view to the Golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernesto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

If we could have stayed another week, we would have. As a timeshare Interval "Getaway" (extra week at great price) we stayed in a two bedroom villa on the second/top floor. We were delighted to get a corner unit in building W, overlooking a fairway at the center of the property. The villa was HUGE, the kitchen and bar area perfect, the sunken living room . . . TWO sunken soaking tubs . . . two furnished balconies which was the setting for breakfast and dinner a few times. we didn't cook much, but we could have done much more as the kitchen was set up so well.

Our family doesn't own here, but this is the second time we've nabbed a Getaway week here. Last time it was an efficiency/hotel room size unit over in Villas II. We would consider owning here.

One thing we especially loved was the White Tiger Yoga/Tai Chai/healthy back & rotator cuff classes. Monday through Friday, starting at 8am, there are three classes: Yoga/Tai Chi, healthy (back or whatever), and water fitness. We took part of at least two every day with trainer Jessica and met some nice people also staying at the Villas. The price for these classes are $99 if you sign up at the Monday morning welcome meeting, but after looking at the White Tiger website, I learned you can pre-pay for $69 for the week, so we both signed up. WELL worth it.

Another activity, we had hoped to bike but the rental bikes at the property were pretty rickety. We went next door to the JW Marriott next door and rented there at a colonnade store two nice eight-speed handle break bikes. We didn't think there was an option to rent there, as it was primarily a motorcycle rental store, but the bikes were in very good shape and only $8 an hour. Riding is fairly limited to the property and neighborhoods nearby on streets and sidewalks unless you want to ride up to El Paseo. Next trip we'll bring our bikes- Frontier Airlines will check backs as regular luggage, same price.

Villas guests can use the JW Marriott spa facilities and fitness rooms. I frankly found the fitness area just a little better than the Villas, and the spa had all the amenities in the locker room, water treatment and steam and sauna as well as massage, etc. I've been to better, with more, different water treatments. I'd rather be outside. Villas guests can use the spa/fitness area at the JW M-F at no charge. Parking costs, but the shuttle/van that runs around the Villas also goes to the JW, so take that or enjoy the walk and see the pink flamingo "herd" on the way.

At the main pool is a nice option for lunch and/or drinks. We had lunch there three times during the week. This pool got really crowded, so we tried the other pools- there are so many to choose from, all over the property, one of which is designated as "quiet"- nice touch. It would be nice if the property management would monitor the area- families had floats in the pool which was clearly marked as not allowed, and a senior in our fitness class was bumped into by someone who wasn't very nice, and kids were all over on floats. On weekends it's just too crowded, and what is it saying to kids that they don't have to abide by the pool (or other) property standards/rules?

On a high note, the main pool has two self-serve ice water and ice machines where the ice is the best EVER!

FYI on smoking- not allowed in villas nor on the porches/balconies. Unfortunately, someone underneath us was smoking cigars frequently and it was pretty bad until I gently commented. Then it wasn't a problem.

So- we'll be back. The area is rich with interesting things to do (the Annenberg estate "Sunnylands" where we had a work meeting, Desert hot springs spas) and many other things that we just didn't get to (architectural tours of Palm Springs mid-century modern, they have an app for self-guided tours, very cool; we also didn't get to the museums).

Room Tip: Avoid next to pools unless it's the quiet pool. I would also stay away from the activity center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValerieinVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Traveled with my wife, 2 year old son, and mother in law. Booked a 2BR unit in Villas I for the AAA discounted rate of $314 per night. This was a peak travel weekend for Palm Springs / Palm Desert, so all of the properties were running what I thought were overpriced rates. It was either pay for two $200 - $250 per night rooms, or book this 2BR unit.

As you have probably read, Marriott Desert Springs Villas I is an older timeshare property. The units are larger than Villas II, and they have all had their hard surfaces recently remodeled with solid 4-star finishes. About half of the Villas I units have NOT had their interior decorating updated yet (buildings K through X, I believe). Don't let this deter you, as the older interior design is contemporary from the mid-2000's and in good condition.

The property is quite spread out, and it can take 10-15 minutes to walk from the far end of Villas I to the flagship pool located in Villas II. There is a shuttle service, but we never used it.

Service is pretty much non-existent as expected, as this is not a full service hotel. The front desk staff is definitely at the lower end of the Marriott experience, and I believe could benefit from some more formal hospitality training.

As others have said, the beds are average, and the pillows are not particularly great.

All in all, this property represents a convenient and comfortable place to stay for families or groups of friends traveling together.It's a solid 4-star choice and is appropriate for people who like having extra space and those who prefer residential style living while on vacation. I would not call this a good place for solo travelers or couples looking for a romantic getaway. It's not particularly well suited for business travelers either.

N.B. Pool & Spa access at the adjacent JW Marriott resort is included for free Mon - Fri for Villas I guests, but there is a $20 per person charge on Sat-Sun, and everyday for Villas II guests.

Room Tip: Corner units next to one of the several pools are the best mix of privacy and convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank symantix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.0 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.4 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
913 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embarc Palm Desert
Embarc Palm Desert
#8 of 22 in Palm Desert
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
2.5 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I

Property: Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I
Address: 1091 Pinehurst Ln, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260-1636
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Desert serves as the exceptional setting for Marriott's Desert Springs Villas. Beautifully designed on 400 acres. Adjacent to the JW Marriott Resort & Spa. Enjoy 36 holes of manicured fairways, exquisite tennis facilities, a lavish European spa and tempting cuisine. On-site, soak up the sun and relax with 7 luxurious pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Desert Springs Villas i Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriotts
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I Palm Desert, California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing