We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great remodeled rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Apparently the property has gone through a multi-year, multi-million dollar renovation. It shows. The rooms are very comfortable and with the updated floors and granite counters, very up to date. Lovely position on the golf course. Large and comfortable. Friendly helpful staff. Great amenities for the kids. Only disappointment was the housekeeping service. They did not seem very interested in servicing the rooms properly. It was a "slam bam, thank you ma'ame" level of care

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Got hotel room downstairs which was fine and well laid out. Remodeled, nice amenities on ground floor. Not sure if there are hotel rooms on 2nd floor (called guest rooms). Initial check in was rocky with fast talking younger guy. Requested 2nd floor weeks in advance but got first. It's like non of my requesters were honored. Recommend calling a week out and making sure you get what you want and get name of who you talk to. If at a conference in main hotel, all rooms are pretty close.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at this place on an Interval certificate. It was the best rated place available for our time of travel. The resort is nice (not gorgeous) and is located right next to the JW Marriott hotel. We were had full access to hotel facilities and it was just a short walk from our villa.

We stayed in a second floor studio unit with 2 beds, a small area with a sink, microwave, coffee maker, toaster and fridge. Villa layout is a little odd. When you first enter the villa, it is sort of like a little lobby area with 2 doors off of it. One door was to our villa and the other to what appeared to be a larger villa. I assume that you can put both units together as a lock-off.

No restaurant on site but since the JW Marriott is right nearby, it really didn't matter (they have 3-4 restaurants there). There is a small store on site with coffee and the essentials.

Weather wasn't that warm so we really didn't spend any time at pools. Location is good, convenient to downtown Palm Desert and I-10.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank brergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We spent 5 nights at the hotel and had a wonderful time. We stayed in a unit that was close to the JW Marriott and it worked out well for a conference that we were attending. We stayed in a one bedroom condo and it was very spacious and beautiful. The resort was very well taken care of with beautiful landscaping and all of the pools were very nice. The staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Second floor unit was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cabernetMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We spent a week at the Marriott Desert Springs Villas. We were on the top (second) floor and the one-bedroom condo was great. Just be advised that there is no elevator and if you're on the second floor you have to carry all your stuff up the stairs. The unit was modern, clean and well equipped. There is a large balcony with a table, chairs and chaise lounge overlooking the gorgeous golf course. The sunken living room was spacious with an easy chair and comfortable huge 90 degree couch that also houses a bed. The large flat screen TV was great. There was also a good-sized dining room with table and kitchen area that had a gas stove, dishwasher, washer/dryer combo in a separate cabinet, coffeemaker, microwave, split sink, toaster, etc. The bedroom was roomy with a king size bed and another flat screen TV. It also contained a large bathtub, wash basin and counter that my wife immediately grabbed. The other bathroom area housed the commode, stall shower and another smaller sink and basin area (mine). All in all it was a very nice place; just what you'd expect from Marriott. Everyone on the staff was friendly and courteous. It has a fully equipped fitness center that we used several times. The grounds are meticulously maintained. They do have a number of daily activities that you're free to participate in or not. There are at least four swimming pools available for the guests. The JW Marriott Hotel is also on the grounds and within easy walking distance. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available for your computer and we used it extensively to keep up on email, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course have the best views. Top floor (2nd story) rooms also provide the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed three nights at the Desert Springs Villa. The room had a small
veranda that was right next to the air conditioning condenser so that
was a bust. The TV would malfunction often so that was a bust too.
First day they forgot to clean the room. I called the desk and they
had to look to see if that was included with my room. In other words,
some people have to pay extra for having the room serviced!
And this place was not cheap. All in all, if you just want to golf and
you don't care about the room, it's OK but even then, it's not cheap!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robduchene777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

So I get to this property, and I've stayed at a lot of Marriotts. I asked for a 2nd floor room, and was given 1st floor - they didn't listen. They don't tell you check-out is 10am - NOT normal for Marriott, and they call to remind you 10am checkout - they leave note in bedroom and kitchen on check-out time. And they leave a list for where to put towels and dishes - you must turn on dishwasher. The furniture colors are ugly, and VERY uncomfortable. The sofa was like sitting on bricks. The bed isn't like Marriott Springhill suites - much better beds. Pillow - cheap ones.

As for pool - its not heated. Only 2 tiny Jacuzzi's in new area...a lot of wasted space they could make at least 3 more Jacuzzi areas.

Now for the noise - being on bottom floor - I called to complain, as those above me were like a herd of cattle....Someone played golf and his golf ball his the wall next to my bedroom!!!

Overall this property has gone SO downhill since the first opened up. Unless they change their check-out time and update the Jacuzzi/pool area, I wouldn't be booking any weddings/family stays for my clients.

Room Tip: Book Residence inn or another property that is newer and more updated and a later check-out time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for staying at Marriott's Desert Springs Villas. We are sorry to hear you had multiple challenges on your most recent stay at our resort. As a Marriott Vacation Club resort, the check-out time is 10AM, which allows our housekeeping team enough time to service the villas for the next guest. We understand your frustration if this was not explained to you.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we invite you to contact a member of our Customer Care team by email at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or at 800-860-9384 so we may personally address your concerns. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
1 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
2.5 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I

Address: 1091 Pinehurst Ln, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260-1636
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: £119 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Desert serves as the exceptional setting for Marriott's Desert Springs Villas. Beautifully designed on 400 acres. Adjacent to the JW Marriott Resort & Spa. Enjoy 36 holes of manicured fairways, exquisite tennis facilities, a lavish European spa and tempting cuisine. On-site, soak up the sun and relax with 7 luxurious pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Desert Springs Villas i Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriotts
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I Palm Desert, California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing