We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, ideal for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Desert spring villas were good for us as the villa was spacious, comfortable with good amenities. We had a two bedroom villa which was by the lake. Our girls loved feeding ducks every morning. Weather was also good which made our stay really a memorable one.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank FiddlingTravelNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

We appreciate your five-star review of Marriott’s Desert Springs Villas I! As a loyal Tripadvisor contributor, we take great pride in providing you with an exceptional vacation experience. We are also happy to hear your girls loved feeding the ducks during their stay! Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed here for the first time, and I hope it won't be the last. The property is the first phase of the development, but it has been kept up and the grounds are clean, inviting and safe. Our one-bedroom unit was spacious and clean. There is a shuttle available to the two golf courses on the property. Played both course twice and both were fun to play. Challenging but not intimidating. Very quiet and a nice verandah for lounging, readin, napping.

Room Tip: If you want to be near the quiet pool (no Kids), get buildings N or O
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

My family of five - children ages 9,13 and 15 staying a week I these lovely villas. The resort is one of the largest I've seen and there's loads to do. Since the villas are so close you can walk to the JW and use their facilities for free during the week days.

Villa- spacious and some newly decorated each has a washer and dryer, full kitchen huge balcony- 2 if you get the double.

The set up we had is where you have the 2 room option. You walk in and there's 2 a small hall with 2 separate doors- the first is a small 2 full beds and small balcony microwave and small fridge. Nice bathroom. This combines with the larger unit with the sunken living room with sectional couch that can be turned into another bed. The mattress was much better than a spring!

The master bedroom was large with king bed, vanity area, enormous soaking tub, shower etc. the master can also access the large balcony with chaise and outdoor dining area.
Because of the design you don't see your Neighbours but golfers may see you.

Pools- Villas have 4 pools I believe one with bar and food service and the Marriott has 3 large pools - one gradient with 2-6 feet deep.

Everyday there's lots of activities for adults and children of all ages- jewelry making, henna tattoos, desert animal visits and more. Some are free and some cost a few dollars.

Can't wait to return! Get these from owners and not the Marriott - saves a bundle.





Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank MonkTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We just completed a 4-night stay at this property. We had a 1-bedroom villa with an adjoining 2-queen bed room for our daughters. We traveled there for a family gathering nearby and didn't spend much time on property so I can't speak to the other facilities. Our experience and this review is based only on our room experience.

The rooms themselves were excellent. Very spacious, with split bathrooms and great golf course views. Lots of TVs and plenty of room to spread out.

Unfortunately, our experience was marred by several gaps in service. Nothing horrible, but enough to tarnish our feelings for the property and at a cost of about $400 per night, I don't believe our expectations were unreasonable. We had the following issues:

1) Our first night there, we checked in, immediately left for dinner, and didn't return to our room until almost midnight. Once in bed we realized that none of the beds had comforters or blankets...just sheets. It was late and we were tired so just went to sleep. But clearly, the rooms had not been fully prepped prior to our arrival

2) Our first morning, we went to make coffee but there were no coffee amenities (creamers, sugar, etc). I spoke to the front desk and they were very apologetic about the bedding and coffee and assured me that it would be taken care of. In fact, they sent housekeeping over immediately with comforters and coffee stuff.

3) Although the hotel advertises free WiFi and provided an access code, we had no signal in our rooms. I asked the front desk about it and they gave me a 1-800 number with which to call AT&T. I'm not sure why guests are put in the position of debugging their WiFi, but I did call AT&T who acknowledged there was a problem and said they have their engineering department take care of it.

4) We returned to our rooms the evening of day 2 to find that they had not serviced the rooms. But they had started. All the towels had been removed from both bathrooms but no replacements were provided! I called the front desk and they sent housekeeping over with towels. And there was still no WiFi.

I spoke to the front desk manager the next morning and she was extremely nice and apologetic. She assured me that there would be no more housekeeping snafus and that our WiFi would be working that day. She also agreed to take $50 off our bill.

Epilogue: On our last day there were no housekeeping problems. But we never did get WiFi service in our rooms. At some point you just get tired asking for the same thing over and over. In summary, the room was very nice, but the service annoyances really dampened our enthusiasm for the place. And I don't believe the manager's response of a $50 credit was adequate for the hassle. (It represents only about 3% of the cost of our stay...)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SIG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for your detailed review of Marriott’s Desert Spring Villas I. There is no question that the Wi-Fi should have worked throughout your stay and that your room be cleaned properly. We apologize these problems impacted your stay and will follow up with the appropriate departments to correct the issues. Our team would also welcome the chance to personally respond to your concerns as this was not the level of service you expect or deserve.

At your earliest convenience, please contact our customer care team at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or at 800-860-9384. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Superb location, superior accommodation, nice surroundings, fine facilities, atmosphere when the best - cool place.. Nice people, cleaning in the top - the place to go on holiday and relax for real. Lot of stars!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacomo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Where do I start. We are dual owners in Hawaii and have stayed here the last two years with our parents who need a handicap room. We are Marriott platinum customers for three years running now. In other words we are Marriott committed customers.

This place seems to have focused on the wrong part of "customer service". They are very image sensitive, so the staff is always friendly and grounds are very nice but none of the maintenance staff seems to know how to do their job and the management team only cares about the response not the resolution. Also it seems whomever built the units did a horrible job.


internet from AT&T is very slow and every morning you have to login again and it's impossible. Ended up on my own hot spot every morning.

Local sounder alarms going off every morning and night for the water heater in the equipment room outside our front door. Maintenance couldn't fix it.

Cockroaches. Ugh!

Heater vent/registers painted shut

Sliding glass doors that barely open

Knives and dishes dirty when we arrived

Dishwasher broken in one of the units.

Toilets in handicap room overflowing in the middle of the day while we are out of the room. Maintenance guys didn't do anything to fix it.

Shower in handicap room doesn't drain properly and the whole bathroom floods.

Trash bags left outside the rooms and no one will pick it up. Maintenance guys that drive by the trash bags and won't touch.

Brand new this year the couches that are so uncomfortable.

Bed in handicap room is way too high.

HVAC that doesn't work properly. Room is always too hot or too cold and it runs when all the doors are open.

Trash and recycling dumpster not clearly marked and everyone throws trash in the wrong one.

Fireplace that doesn't work in one of the rooms.

Why no ceiling fans? Every other place we stay has them.

The paper products provided are so CHEAP, admittedly this complaint applies to all Marriott timeshares.

Cable that only works partially. Several channels listed do not show signal or are so snowy it's impossible to watch.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Jkwconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Desert Springs Villas I. While it is never easy to hear when we have not met our guest’s expectations, we appreciate your honest feedback about your stay. The service you described is not typical of our resort experience and we would like to personally respond to your concerns. At your earliest convenience, please contact our Customer Care team at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or at 800-860-9384.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We are Marriott owners and one thing I enjoyed about the villas here is the setup. The villas are housed in 2-storey blocks with 2 external staircases. There are eight villas in each block, 4 up, 4 down. It makes a cosy setup. So if you book with your family and friends, you can have the whole block to yourself!

Each unit consists of a studio and a one bedroom. Since we booked a two bedroom, we had both the studio and the one bedroom. So the outer door opens in a small lobby where you see two doors, one for the studio and the other for the one bedroom. So if you book a studio, you will be sharing your lobby with the one bedroom neighbor, but of course you have your own front door to your apartment.

As other TA members have indicated, the studio does not have a kitchenette. But it has a small fridge, a toaster and a coffee maker. Some plates, cups and cutlery, and a tiny sink. The one bedroom has a full kitchen, a sunken living room and a round dining table for six. Plus a washer dryer. Both the studio and the one bedroom has a large bath tub.

Please note this resort does not have daily tidy unlike the other Marriott vacation clubs we have stayed in. In that sense, the clubs do vary in their architecture as well as in their practice!

Lay of the land.
Think of the main club house as the center of the clock. And two hands at ten o'clock. The Pinehurst villas run in two parallel tracks along the long minute hand due north. This is parallel to Cook Street. So if you select Building A thru G, you will be on the right hand row and next to the road, separated by a strip of green. We were in Building A. But we were never disturbed by any traffic noise. Of course, it was winter and the sliding doors to the patio were never opened. If you were at Building G, you would be closest to JW Marriott. At Building A, we were closest to the main club house and that was very convenient for going to the gym.

The other strip of buildings on Pinehurst, runs on the left hand side of Pinehurst Lane, Building H, etc and would not get any traffic noise because they are shielded by Buildings A to G.

The hour hand at ten o'clock would be the other rows of villas. This is well away from the road and amidst the green.

There are no elevators, so if you are on the upper floor, you will have to lug your luggage up. The car park in directly in front of the building. One open row and one covered row. Very close to your villa. Unlike other the other Marriott resorts like the Grand Vista in Orlando or the Ko Olina in Oahu, where they are huge tower blocks and equally large parking lots.

There is Wi-Fi. But at times it gets spotty. We noticed that our MacBook gets better connection in the morning but our windows laptop gets better connection in the evening! So sometimes when we want to get the laptop connected in the morning, we just walk over to the club house, since we are in Building A, get a connection and then walk back!

Lucky Supermarket is just 5 minutes away. There is no on-site restaurant but you can dine at the JW Marriott. They have 3 restaurants there. Nice. Of course, if you drive out 5 minutes, where Lucky is, there is Morton's Steakhouse, City Wok and an Italian place. Lots of places to eat out. At Desert Springs Villas, we are close to town. If you should be staying at Shadow Ridge, that is a tad further out.

Great place. Things are in working order. Staff is friendly. The concierge desk is very helpful.

For non-Marriott owners, just to take note that this is a vacation resort and the check out is 10 am and the check in is 4 pm. So it's different from a typical hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SpringZephyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for your detailed review of Marriott’s Desert Springs Villas I! We appreciate your thorough feedback and willingness to provide useful information for other travelers. We look forward to your next visit and thank you for being a part of the Marriott Vacation Club family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.0 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.5 mi away
Embarc Palm Desert
Embarc Palm Desert
#9 of 23 in Palm Desert
245 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I

Address: 1091 Pinehurst Ln, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260-1636
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: £116 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Desert serves as the exceptional setting for Marriott's Desert Springs Villas. Beautifully designed on 400 acres. Adjacent to the JW Marriott Resort & Spa. Enjoy 36 holes of manicured fairways, exquisite tennis facilities, a lavish European spa and tempting cuisine. On-site, soak up the sun and relax with 7 luxurious pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Desert Springs Villas i Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriotts
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I Palm Desert, California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing