We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good place for families with young children to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a good place for families with young children to stay.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

The pros: the suites are nicely decorated and are spacious. But there were many cons for our family, mostly stemming from the fact that we have a two-year-old toddler. First, we weren't allowed to check in until late in the afternoon because our suite (which was a two-bedroom suite) was having tile work done in one of the bathrooms -- which is not a satisfactory explanation when all one wants to do is unpack food/drinks in the kitchen area and other belongings in the bedroom areas that were not affected. Second, after checking in, our room keys didn't work later in the day. Third, we were kicked out of one of the pools because there were no babies allowed in the pool that afternoon (even though, as one guest told us, our daughter was being quiet and well-behaved). Fourth, we had to fight tooth-and-nail for a SLIGHTLY later checkout of 11a insteads of the 10a checkout time. When I asked for the later checkout, in light of our late check-in, the manager whom I spoke to initially responded by asking whether I had ever worked at a hotel before. It was a rude response that was reflective of an overall negative, inflexible, intolerant attitude towards families with young ones. I would definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dcbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Desert Springs Villas. While it is never easy to hear when we have not met our guest's expectations, we appreciate your feedback. We would welcome the chance to learn more about your stay and invite you to contact our Customer Care team at customer.care@vacationclub.com or by calling 800-860-9384.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    124
    36
    19
    19
See reviews for
163
137
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stay in Palm Springs several times a year, different resort. This was my first time at Marriott Villas and the worst experience. We stayed at Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I. Check in is at 4 pm, check out 10 am.?? We arrived there at 3 pm. They told us they will call when room is ready. When no one called us by 4:30 pm, we drove back to the check in desk. After looking at the computer for more than 15 minutes, they told us the room's #.When we arrived there, the cleaners were still cleaning the room. We could not check in until past 5 pm, but when we asked them to stay an hour late due to checking in late, their answer was "absolutely Not". They also added that we would be charged for a full day if we check out later than 10 am. I guess it's ok for them to check us late but it's not ok for us. They advertise for having 7 outdoor pools. For a big resort like that, they need more than 20 pools. Our pool was so far from our room and it was very small. We could not find any empty chair by the pool. We also did not have access to the hotel's pool. We could not use any swimming pool for the entire stay. I have never stayed anywhere in Palm Springs that has swimming pool issues. I will never go back to this resort. Waist of money...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vievien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Desert Springs Villas. We apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay with us. We would welcome the chance learn more about your experience and invite you to contact our Customer Care team at customer.care@vacationclub.com or by calling 800-860-9384. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We did a timeshare trade and had a corner hotel room unit on the 2nd floor in Bldg T, which faced south and had a view of the golf course. We were granted all of our room requests except for the mountain view, which was fine. Check in was easy and didn't take too long. Room was comfortable, 2 full-size beds, would have preferred a king size bed, could have had better pillows, but overall it was ok. We have stayed in nicer Marriott's, Shadow Ridge being one, but this resort was closer to the Indian Wells Tennis Garden, which we were attending and was mainly why we were visiting. Didn't use any of the amenities. If we stayed here again, we would try Villas ll.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor End Unit in Bldg H, I or J for sunset view over the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Desert Springs Villas. While we are disappointed for not exceeding your expectations, we appreciate your feedback and will share it with the appropriate managers. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again at one of the Marriott Vacation Club resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I have been Marriott Vacation Club owners for more than a decade and we have stayed at several of their resorts around the world. We have never had a particularly bad experience, including this one. However, it is also the case that our stay at Desert Springs Villas 1 was the worst visit we've ever had at a MVCI property. While these villas are well located in the Palm Springs area, they lack the amenities that would classify them as a luxury accommodation; the place really felt more like a fairly nice condo complex than a first-rate resort. The fact that it is adjacent to a JW Marriott property is nice in principle, but fairly impractical in reality since any direct access to the hotel from the villas appeared to be gated off. However, our bigger issue with Desert Springs 1 is that the service was well below average and by far the most indifferent we've ever experienced. To be sure, the staff was uniformily pleasant, but they also were uniformly unconcerned with actually helping us. For example, the phone in our room did not work--the line appeared to be crossed with another room somehow--and although we informed the Front Desk about this within the first day of a four-day stay, the issue was never resolved. (The "engineer" sent to our room merely unplugged the phone and told us he would report the situation and then someone would let us know what was going on.) Unfortunately, no one ever followed up with us in any way, so we were without phone service for our entire visit. Upon checkout, no one even bothered to inquire whether we had enjoyed our stayed, although they did try to sell us some more timeshare points on our way out the door. It appears from the experiences of some other recent reviewers that this property has some significant management issues and, I'm sorry to say, we would have to agree with that assessment.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank br0wner56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Desert Springs Villas. As a Marriott Vacation Club owner, we take your feedback seriously and appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. It is concerning that you were not given the high level of service that Marriott is known for providing . We would like to learn more about your experience and invite you to contact our Customer Care team at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or at 800-860-9384. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at Villas I for the first time - first time ever in Palm Desert. Loved the proximity to the JW Marriott, attractions (Living Desert, Joshua Tree, Flea Market, Palm Springs Aerial Tram), shopping/restaurants in the Coachella Valley.
Check-in was effortless - our agent tried to obtain a corner hotel unit - to no avail. Once we checked in it was obvious why corner units are prized. At least we had a 2nd floor unit - much preferred.
The arrangement of the hotel units is strange - kitchenware/tableware/utensils in the dresser by the beds, not by the microwave/refrigerator; one small table with two upholstered chairs; no arm chair or love seat. A nice-sized room, but it could be so much better. The soaking tub (probably a jacuzzi before renovations) is wasted space - expand the kitchen there, why not?
Beds were comfortable, balcony nice, but with four people, we needed to take upholstered chairs outside to eat! Unit was clean, but it took some repeated calls to get all the linens and table/dinnerware we needed for four people.
Our neighbors invited us to see their one-bedroom unit - try to get a one-bedroom if it is available - much preferred!!
The bathroom fan needed repairing and it was repaired almost immediately. Our in-room safe was locked open and it took two days to get it fixed - poor communication by front desk.
Used the amenities at JW a couple times and they were excellent, as were the pool areas, recreation, and laundry facilities at Villas I.
The place is beautiful, and with a one-bedroom, it would have been a perfect vacation.

Room Tip: If you want a little more room with a hotel unit, try to get a corner room - bigger balcony, view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jhvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Desert Springs! While we are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us, we apologize for not meeting your expectations when it came to service. Your feedback about the maintenance request is appreciated and will be shared with our operations team. Thank you again for your Tripadvisor review and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We usually stay at the JW Marriott nearby, but since it was full we thought we would try the Villas. The Villas 1 is the closest to the JW so we chose to stay there. We arrived at 1:00 and tried to check in early but our one bedroom villa was not ready. Check-in is supposed to be at 4:00 so we were ok with it. We walked to the JW and sat by the pool until 3:30 when we received a call that our Villa was ready. We were pleasantly surprised, Our villa backed up to the golf course and had a balcony with a table and also a chaise. The room was clean and very spacious. Kitchen is nice with granite countertops and stainless appliances. Drawbacks were parking which was usually full near our villa, and the 10AM checkout which is too early if you're going for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Desert Springs Villas! We are thrilled you enjoyed your luxury villa and the close proximity to the JW Marriott. Our team appreciates your feedback and looks forward to your next stay with us in Palm Desert!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

As long time Marriott owners, we have stayed in many of their properties. This one has serious management problems. You are asked to check in at 4 pm and leave at 10 am. We try to follow the rules. We did request an earlier check in if possible. When we arrived at 3.30 pm, there was a line of at least 30 people trying to check in. I never saw such a trashy ambiance in a lobby of people milling around in frustration. We were told our unit would not be ready until 5.30 pm. There is absolutely no way management didn't know the room inventory for the day. Knowing the room control situation, they should be hiring enough housekeeping staff to accommodate the numbers and be ready for timely check in. Desk staff gave weak apologies.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Desert Springs Villas. We take your feedback seriously and appreciate you bringing your concerns about your check-in experience to our attention. We would like to personally respond to you and invite you contact our Customer Care team at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or at 800-860-9384. We look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.0 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
2.5 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I

Property: Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I
Address: 1091 Pinehurst Ln, Palm Desert, CA 92260-1636
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Desert serves as the exceptional setting for Marriott's Desert Springs Villas. Beautifully designed on 400 acres. Adjacent to the JW Marriott Resort & Spa. Enjoy 36 holes of manicured fairways, exquisite tennis facilities, a lavish European spa and tempting cuisine. On-site, soak up the sun and relax with 7 luxurious pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Desert Springs Villas i Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriotts
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I Palm Desert, California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing