We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Family Reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shadow Mountain Resort and Club
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside, Calif.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place for Family Reunion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

We rented 18 units for a family reunion. As each condo unit is individually owned, there was some variation in the quality of rooms. Of the 18 units, 3 could have been better maintained (worn, older furniture,appliances), but the other 15 units were very good to excellent. All units were very clean, had kitchens or kitchenettes, and house keeping did a great job.. The grounds are fantastically maintained. Within a few feet of each unit you have a gigantic pool, nice BBQ area, volleyball court, table tennis, tennis courts.and a golf course. The management was very good in accommodating our needs.

The resort is a gated community, located two blocks from El Paseo Drive (upscale shopping) in a quiet, secluded neighborhood, We had approximately 50 family members staying at the resort. THEY ALL LOVED THE PLACE. Even the three units with average furnishings were so convenienetly located close to the pool that the families chose to keep the unit because their children loved the location.

As the coordinator of the reunion, it took some negotiating to resolve a few issues with the Resort contract, but when we hold the next family reunion in So Calif, Shadow Mountain will be at the top of the list for consideration. Overall, a very positive experience and for the price, a consumers "best buy".

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiversideTed_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    48
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
50
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2008

Pricey, but great for tennis clinics and lessons!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank twf315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2008

A nicely kept, quiet getaway. Tennis courts and several pools. Ping Pong, Volleyball, Bike Rentals....lots to keep everyone busy. All units are individually owed and only 80 some are rented. We stayed 'creekside' in a studio, older units, but clean. Kitchens are tight, yet functional. We had a nice balcony upstairs. I would stay again when its not so hot, so we could enjoy the activites provided.

  • Liked — The clean, quiet property
  • Disliked — Didn't have a least..........
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2008

Spent six nights in January 2008 at $100/night, single. Property is security gated and well maintained. Large figure-8 swimming pool kept at eighty degrees with its length approaching thirty yards - no lap lines, but pool rarely occupied. About a dozen tennis courts and a $45 charge to use the adjacent golf course (including electric cart). The course is private, so entry fee must be paid in the resort lobby. Bicycle riders can rent equipment also in the lobby. One morning newspaper is free and must be collected in the lobby.
Room was a large studio in Polynesian motif with a kingsize bed and small kitchenette with microwave/coffemaker/refrigerator. Bathroom was good size with roomy shower but NO bathtub.
TV had many channels but Turner Classic Movies was the only available Premium channel.
Central , prime location of Shadow Mountain permits an easy drive to casinos (20 minutes) and the Palm Springs Airport (30 minutes). I would stay here again

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank trippingJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2007

We just returned from a Thanksgiving weekend stay at Shadow Mountain -- our first trip to the Palm Springs area. My boyfriend and I are avid tennis players -- I'm a beginner; he's been playing for 30+ years.

We stayed in one of the studios that surrounds the figure-8 pool -- a very nice pool. We were a little nervous about the quality of the room, since we usually stay in 4- or 5-star properties. But we were pleasantly surprised. It wasn't a luxury room by any means, but it was clean and well-appointed, very comfortable, and conveniently situated near the courts and the pool.

We joined the 3-hour morning tennis clinics every day, and I liked the instructors very much -- Andy, Michael, and John. The quality of the instruction varied, according to how many participants there were -- this is typical and likely unavoidable. On the last day, there were fewer people, and I even received some great one-on-one instruction.

We ended up going into Palm Springs every night for dinner, so we were happy we had a rental car. But there are restaurants within walking distance of the resort.

  • Liked — remarkable value
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jjenn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2007

We recently returned to the Shadow Mountain resort after a ten year absence. It was a wonderful, late summer, relaxing trip with our family.

The value for the accomodations was outstanding: $80 per night for a studio with kitchenette, king bed, sofa bed, and patio!

The room was spotless, the decor was a bit dated, and showed slight signs of wear and tear.

The higlight of the property is the main pool. It is a huge figure 8 shaped pool, open until late at night., which enthralled the youngest family member.

The hotel is within a short drive (or walk during the cooler months) to area restaurants/stores.

I reccomend both Tony Roma's, and Murph's Gaslight--an old fashioned style fried chicken emporium. Yum!

It is also a short drive to supermarket/drugstore type locales, that can be used to stock up on items for the kitchenette--very convenient.

All in all, it was a great weekend getaway.

  • Liked — excellent value, and spacious pool
  • Disliked — decor a bit dated
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank howlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2007

Two blocks from the Gardens on El Paseo; tennis pros that will set up matches with locals and guests, reasonable tennis lesson rates; golf at $40 with cart during the week for their Golf Course if you stay at the resort-(sarazen designed- a bit short by current standards but in super shape); big figure 8 pool with 12 foot deep end; fresh oranges and grapefruits off the tree each morning all added up to a very nice stay. The golf rate and the location along with the kitchen made things much more reasonable than usual for a palm dessert location.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Teljuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
3.3 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort
0.6 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#16 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
2.7 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
2.8 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Resort and Club

Property: Shadow Mountain Resort and Club
Address: 45750 San Luis Rey Ave, Palm Desert, CA 92260-4728
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Mountain Resort and Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming resort, breathtaking views, figure-eight swimming pool, home to the Desert Tennis Academy with lessons & clinics. Located in the heart of Palm Desert, California, the Resort is walking distance to the fabulous shops, restaurants and art galleries along the famed El Paseo Drive. Resort offers cafe & bar (breakfast and lunch), complimentary tennis on 16 tennis courts, pickleball, tennis pro-shop, four heated pools, five hot tubs, fitness room, massage service, saunas, poolside patio BBQ, volleyball, basketball, bicycle rentals, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shadow Mountain Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Resort And Club Hotel Palm Desert
Shadow Mountain Hotel
Shadow Mountain Resort Palm Desert
Shadow Mountain Resort And Club Palm Desert, California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing