We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation with Grandchild”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Vacation with Grandchild”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This was such a comfortable trip. Choose the breakfast included and room with 2 double beds and enjoy time with the kids. Took the Tram Ride and Knotts Water Park is close by. The hotel and staff make everything very easy. Lots of photo ops with flamingos, swans and gondola rides. Have fun.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationJunkie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    664
    317
    161
    104
See reviews for
492
632
47
575
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I love this JW. It has everything. And we love staying in the Villas nearby and visiting JW which is a short walk or the shuttle if it's seriously hot. This is centrally located, has great ambiance: lobby, pools, and cabana type private pool, restaurants (although I miss my Sea Grille), Starbucks, fancy shops and a view tdf. Great staff, beautiful resort.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky-McG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Attended a conference and enjoyed the hotel and its surroundings. Obviously a tad warm in the summer, but I did not find it a problem. Rooms are quite spacious, golf course looked nicely manicured and friends enjoyed the spa. Nice pools and nice overall layout. Staff was helpful overall, especially concierge. Nickel and dime you by charging for desktop internet in business centers (though not for boarding pass and printout). Overall liked it and could have been a five-star with more attentive dining room staff and free internet property-wide.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelbMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The time of year was great to go Aug. its usually over 110 but So. Cal. has had a mild summer it was 104. Hotel was ok you think" Marriott" and you think a bit higher standered, first out Thermostat never work properly its was always hot in our room, the hair dryer was on the fritz, the Iron and ironing board were broke and to top it off we had a fire at the hotel the alarm went off we had to take all our items out down 6 floors!... Pool was ok ( no Vegas pool quality for sure) Not sure if Id return to this Marriott, we will probably pick another hotel next time!

We stayed in room 6158 which over looked the pool

Room Tip: ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura_cali2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Beautiful property however I had a HUGE roach in my room and a spider one night. Reported it and the person at the desk didn't seem surprised or concerned. Said someone would come and spray. Don't know if that happened but within 24 hours I found an every BIGGER one. It was distrubing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJHFLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
133 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This resort is perfect for families. After a couple of days in Disneyland, these few days with the kids in this resort was just fabolous. Lots of acitvities for them, kids club and a very nice kids menu with fish and steaks at a very price. The kids enjoyed it a lot and the parents too.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask a room near reception hall. the views are all OK but some rooms are far for kids to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Famillesabord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed here about 8 to 10 years ago and it was a very relaxing stay. There was a pool toward the back of the hotel that was 'adults only' which we enjoyed immensely. (With 4 kids, we just wanted a peaceful, quiet vacation.) That pool is now a 'family pool' and has a huge generator next to it that is so loud! The pool guy who would spritz us every so often is gone too.

The other main pool has music blaring all day long, and when we asked for it to be turned down, so we could talk to each other and be heard, one of the pool attendants was accomodating, but the others were just grumpy. There was nowhere to go at this resort that was relaxing and peaceful! It's a party resort.

Also, they have hundreds of lounge chairs out everywhere, even on the grass. It was like being in sea of chairs rather than at a resort. When we asked why they have so many chairs out, they said that on the weekends, the chairs are full. Well, by Friday afternoon, we started to realize what they meant.

Security guards were stationed at all the entrances to the pool, and despite having been staying there all week, we were now being stopped and questioned like criminals. One guy demanded to see our wristbands and, having no idea what he was talking about since no one ever mentioned wristbands to us nor had they given us any, he then said that he'd throw us out if we didn't get one. We are a middle-aged couple quietly vacationing, not young college kids trying to crash the pool scene. We were shocked.

Shower head in our room was barely spraying and when I mentioned it, they did send a maintenance person up to replace it the very next day. Service was usually always very accommodating and friendly, except for the whole pool situation. But all we wanted to do was hang out quietly by the pool and relax, so that put a huge damper on our vacation.

The internet in the room is not wireless so you have to be plugged into the wall.

Do not stay here unless you want to party. And if you want your view to be of other lounge chairs, this is the place to go. On my next visit to Palm Desert to recuperate from a busy life with kids, I'll find another place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room up high and away from the nightclub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260-1961
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your go-to desert playground. From the moment you approach the palm-lined path leading to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, the excitement begins. Our Palm Desert hotel has it all, including an active lobby complete with gondolas and meandering waterways, six restaurants serving everything from fresh sushi to locally sourced culinary delights, two championship golf courses, and spacious guest rooms. After an exhilarating day of playing and exploring, you may recharge at Spa Desert Springs, or soak up the sun at any of our four pools with gorgeous views of the nearby mountains. Adding to your options are an onsite fitness center, extensive tennis center and volleyball courts, and a nearby jogging path. Our JW Marriott also features 210,000 square feet of dazzling event space for weddings and conferences. Play in style, experience JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Marriott, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa Palm Desert, California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing