We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accommodations and Grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We are owners and use this timeshare every year rather than trade. Staff has been pretty accommodating for such a big property. Only downside is the Palmeras Pool is often times "over run" and crowded. Has tennis, golf, spas, crafts, restaurants nearby and a sundry shop for odds and ends, sandiwiches, salads, newspapers, etc. A great place to spend a few days or a week and you will not want to leave. Do recommend you have transportation and will need to get around the area. Parking is free and mostly covered. However, do have buses to take you around complex and to and fro the hotel nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,855 - 1,861 of 2,308 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

This was such a comfortable trip. Choose the breakfast included and room with 2 double beds and enjoy time with the kids. Took the Tram Ride and Knotts Water Park is close by. The hotel and staff make everything very easy. Lots of photo ops with flamingos, swans and gondola rides. Have fun.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacationJunkie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I love this JW. It has everything. And we love staying in the Villas nearby and visiting JW which is a short walk or the shuttle if it's seriously hot. This is centrally located, has great ambiance: lobby, pools, and cabana type private pool, restaurants (although I miss my Sea Grille), Starbucks, fancy shops and a view tdf. Great staff, beautiful resort.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky-McG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Attended a conference and enjoyed the hotel and its surroundings. Obviously a tad warm in the summer, but I did not find it a problem. Rooms are quite spacious, golf course looked nicely manicured and friends enjoyed the spa. Nice pools and nice overall layout. Staff was helpful overall, especially concierge. Nickel and dime you by charging for desktop internet in business centers (though not for boarding pass and printout). Overall liked it and could have been a five-star with more attentive dining room staff and free internet property-wide.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelbMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The time of year was great to go Aug. its usually over 110 but So. Cal. has had a mild summer it was 104. Hotel was ok you think" Marriott" and you think a bit higher standered, first out Thermostat never work properly its was always hot in our room, the hair dryer was on the fritz, the Iron and ironing board were broke and to top it off we had a fire at the hotel the alarm went off we had to take all our items out down 6 floors!... Pool was ok ( no Vegas pool quality for sure) Not sure if Id return to this Marriott, we will probably pick another hotel next time!

We stayed in room 6158 which over looked the pool

Room Tip: ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura_cali2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Beautiful property however I had a HUGE roach in my room and a spider one night. Reported it and the person at the desk didn't seem surprised or concerned. Said someone would come and spray. Don't know if that happened but within 24 hours I found an every BIGGER one. It was distrubing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJHFLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This resort is perfect for families. After a couple of days in Disneyland, these few days with the kids in this resort was just fabolous. Lots of acitvities for them, kids club and a very nice kids menu with fish and steaks at a very price. The kids enjoyed it a lot and the parents too.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask a room near reception hall. the views are all OK but some rooms are far for kids to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Famillesabord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: £166 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your go-to desert playground at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa. From the moment you approach the palm-lined path leading to our resort in Palm Desert, California, the excitement begins. Our hotel near Palm Springs has it all, including an active lobby complete with gondolas and meandering waterways, six restaurants serving everything from fresh sushi to locally sourced culinary delights, two championship golf courses, and spacious guest rooms. After an exhilarating day of playing and exploring, you may recharge at Spa Desert Springs, or soak up the sun at any of our four pools with gorgeous views of the nearby mountains. Adding to your options are an onsite fitness center, extensive tennis center and volleyball courts, and a nearby jogging path. JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa also features 210,000 square feet of dazzling event space for weddings and conferences. Play in style, experience our resort today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa Palm Desert, California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing