We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel to say for tons of pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel to say for tons of pleasure”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stated there for a few days in Hot CALI Summer and spend most of the days in pools. They do have nice pools around and it is totally fun for kids. Place is big and I would say that it family oriented. Lots of families around, just make sure do not get there during youngsters time like school spring or other types of breaks if you are planning to be there with kids. Other than that good to hang around with friends and all accommodations are nice and gradually increasing in price if you need something more that average room and so on. Not 5 star Vegas stuff fun, but at least much closer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garaz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    931
    659
    313
    160
    104
See reviews for
487
625
47
571
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This is a great Hotel. It offers a little of everything you could ask for. Great pool, great golf, and excellent tennis. I have stayed a few times here and it is always nice. I love the room service and you have to get the dipped chocolate chip cookies. They will find you a diet coke vs Diet Pepsi. also. The Front desk people are as nice as any hotel I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: High Floor on the Side facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertSpringsJW, General Manager at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our property. I’m very pleased to hear you were impressed with so many of the resort’s amenities, and it is particularly great to hear of specific examples as to the extent our staff goes in order to ensure guests are enjoying their stay to the fullest… everything down to accommodating preference in soda brand! We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This was my third stay in 3 years and each time was a pleasure. My room faced the pool and the mountains and had a beautiful view. The resort staff are amazing always very helpful. Other resorts should send their staff here to be trained. If I didn't find what I wanted on the menu, the chef could prepare what I desired. JW Marriott sets the standard for excellent service.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view. Facing the mountains and the pool is an beautiful relaxing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertSpringsJW, General Manager at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your most recent stay at our property. We are always thrilled to welcome loyal guests back to the resort, and I am very pleased that this visit, once again, exceeded your expectations. I am most proud that you feel our customer service is so superior, that you suggest other resorts send their staff to be trained here. That is what we strive for, so it is wonderful to receive such a generous compliment in your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We hosted a manager's retreat at the resort for 6 couples and the experience was excellent. The personal service, spa and dining were all wonderful. Our little group was treated like VIPs in spite of the fact that 2,000 people were arriving at the same time for a Tony Robbins event. Although the Marriott team had their hands full they never dropped the ball when it came to our needs. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
498 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

This is a followup visit having stayed here on business before but only several months ago . That experience was not good but this trip is much better .

To be fair , I was on business and look to the hotel facilities and services . The resort aspect is far less important to be.

My reception this time was professional and efficient . The room this time was great with a terrific view . ( no pull out of the wall bed this time !!! Not what I expected as platinum member from a JW )

Breakfast was a disappointment . Most food was warm to cold , potatoes were not cooked through and the help was not friendly .

Lobby bar was a disappointment as well . And the lady at the conceirage desk was very unpleasant .

If this was a std marriott my expectations would be different but this carries the JW name and I have stayed in many of them and while I did see improvement , this is not to JW std and the culture needed for consistent service is not here .

I can get this level of service much cheaper at a std marriott in the area .

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertSpringsJW, General Manager at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed the accommodations, but I am very sorry to learn of the issues you encountered at breakfast and the service at our Lobby Bar. Please accept my sincere apology as I will look into the details you have outlined so we may quickly resolve moving forward. Outstanding customer service is one of the pillars of our resort and the JW Marriott brand so these concerns are very disappointing. As a Top TripAdvisor Contributor, we understand you have high standards in your travel experiences, and we look forward to having another opportunity to win back your confidence in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed three nights. Room was excellent, bed very comfortable. The service provided by the staff was very attentive and way above average.

The property is stunning and quite large. Be prepared to do a lot of walking especially if you use the self service parking.

The only real downside is the onsite restaurants close early and there is no dining option except for their overprice room service if you get hungry after 10.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the lobby. Side rooms are a long walk away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Certainly enjoyed the trip here, it is a nice hotel in the desert with all the modern facilities. Good place for families and plenty of places to walk in the fresh air. Pool and Spa were pretty good. Would return and enjoyed the room with a pool facing the balconies.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of everything including the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoingGlobal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertSpringsJW, General Manager at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to share the highlights of your stay. As a TripAdvisor Top Contributor, we know you have high hospitality standards and I am happy to hear you were so impressed by the amenities of our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260-1961
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your go-to desert playground. From the moment you approach the palm-lined path leading to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, the excitement begins. Our Palm Desert hotel has it all, including an active lobby complete with gondolas and meandering waterways, six restaurants serving everything from fresh sushi to locally sourced culinary delights, two championship golf courses, and spacious guest rooms. After an exhilarating day of playing and exploring, you may recharge at Spa Desert Springs, or soak up the sun at any of our four pools with gorgeous views of the nearby mountains. Adding to your options are an onsite fitness center, extensive tennis center and volleyball courts, and a nearby jogging path. Our JW Marriott also features 210,000 square feet of dazzling event space for weddings and conferences. Play in style, experience JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Marriott, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa Palm Desert, California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing