We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be WAY Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Could be WAY Better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was very disappointed in my stay at the JW Marriott in Palm Desert. I was excited after hearing so much "hype" over the "JW Marriott," but when it came down to it, the place wasn't great by any means. The service was terrible. Ex - when we checked in, the bell hop took our bags to our room. But! He delivered different people's bags to our rooms and left them there. Good thing we were trust worthy and called right away to say that we had the wrong bags. We had to call multiple times for coffee and towels. The rooms weren't that clean. When we were at the pool, we had to hunt down waiter/waitresses. The only employee who blew my mind was the older woman who worked in the females' bathrooms by the pool. She was great.

We also went to Makato - TERRIBLE. I will never go back again. Food was overcooked and the chef forgot to put butter in the fried rice. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank u164876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esther f, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your stay at our resort. We greatly appreciare constructive feedback from our guest as we are always working to deliver the best possible experience. Our management team has been made aware of your concerns, particularly in regards to guest services as this is a core emphasis of the JW brand. We hope to welcome you back to the JW Desert Springs in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    649
    307
    159
    102
See reviews for
479
614
47
560
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have stayed at a number of JW Marriott resorts. This one is every bit the JW standard of excellence. The hotel property, rooms, and pools were fantastic. We spent several days relaxing by the pool, without a moment of regret or disappointment. Staff was great. Housekeeping was very timely and unobtrusive. Just one note, Desert Palms is in the desert! Be prepared for the heat in July and August. However, this resort is the place to relax, unwind, despite the heat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1551utahtraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

It is an older resort, I actually remember coming here as a young kid. All in all they have done a good job keeping this place up. The rooms do have popcorn ceilings here but the bedding and televisions are all relatively new. The views from the rooms and pool are quite nice, you see the mountains in the distance. The golf course looks immaculate and is a great contrast to the the mountains.

This would not be my first choice compared to other resorts close by for the same money, it does seem fairly expensive given how old the property is. It is a nice property though and certainly not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Visited in July (last week), first impression upon arriving – WOW!
First experience with Front Desk (Fabiola) – fantastic. We were welcomed with a smile, Fabiola explained everything for us without trying to sell additional services (brief explanation right to the point). Very much appreciated.
Other staff we dealt with – same experience, always polite. Valet service, bell service…..just everyone was very polite and professional.
Room – second impression, another WOW!
We got fantastic room with magnificent view (pool view and Golf Course view) and balcony. Room was spotless, two queen beds very comfortable, bathroom was clean, equipped, big…….complimentary WI-FI in the hotel lobby and pool.
Hotel property is fantastic, huge and well maintained. We spent days on main pool, equipped with more than enough lounges, the best pool towels I ever seen, great pool bar services, Starbucks in the hotel…..
They have few restaurants, although we didn't dine in any of them (we wanted to explore the area and try restaurants in the town).
I read that property can get very busy, however, it was slow week when we stayed and everything was just right.

After this short experience, I sincerely hope it won’t be last time we visited JW Marriott Palm Desert.
I can say that (overall – hotel, property and services) this was one of the best hotels/resorts I ever visited. Well worth the price we paid. I would highly recommend it to anyone,

Room Tip: Pool view room definitely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I stay at many Marriott's including JW around the world and this is definitely a top 2 favorite list.

Setting, if you have a convention like the one I was attending you have two championship 18 courses, I was able to play both during my stay. Also across the street is one if the BEST public courses in have ever played - Desert Willows.

Beautiful lake that comes inside the building and they have boat rides at night. Both pools are amazing and you can't beat the view if the mountains. I recommend getting a room facing the golf course and mountains you definitely won't regret.

Rooms...updated and up to superb excellence of a JW Marriott. Clean and a Great place to unwind especially on the balcony gazing at the mountains with a glass of wine.

Restaurant excellent breakfast buffet that is top shelf with extraordinary choices.

Bar...great place to gather with friends next to the indoor lake..

This JW is pricey compared to other hotels in the area but you Absolutely get what you pay for....I highly recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Crossbonz72 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Definitely a desert oasis. This hotel is massive, located off the 10 fwy on Cook St. I stay here quite often when I am traveling back to California from Arizona. The property is gorgeous, it is known for it's pools. Its so huge it has it's own lake that you can take shuttle boats around the property. Very unique and cool.

Although an older property it is well maintained. I always feel relax and rejuvenated after staying here.

Rooms:

Clean and comfortable beds. Very spacious room with a flat screen TV. It does have a balcony that has two chairs if you wanted to sit outside and take in the view.

Bathroom:

It has dual sinks, the sinks are separate from the shower and toilet which is nice if you wanted to get ready while your partner is taking a shower. It has a standup shower and a stand along tub. Well maintained and clean.

Resort:

This place is huge, man made lake with little shuttle boats to take you sight seeing. It has several pools to relax and enjoy. Definitely a resort known for their pools. Very well manicured lawns and landscapes. A lot of wildlife living here such as flamingos, swans, ducks, other species of birds.

Restaurants:

Plenty of places to eat at including room service.

Definitely a relaxed, family friendly hotel. A very nice getaway if you need to R&R.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Everything was great about this hotel!!! The only bad thing was after the checkin the room door would open because the battery died!! So when i pass room key card wouldnt open the door after 30 min they fix it!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank purotj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your go-to desert playground. From the moment you approach the palm-lined path leading to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, the excitement begins. Our Palm Desert hotel has it all, including an active lobby complete with gondolas and meandering waterways, six restaurants serving everything from fresh sushi to locally sourced culinary delights, two championship golf courses, and spacious guest rooms. After an exhilarating day of playing and exploring, you may recharge at Spa Desert Springs, or soak up the sun at any of our four pools with gorgeous views of the nearby mountains. Adding to your options are an onsite fitness center, extensive tennis center and volleyball courts, and a nearby jogging path. Our JW Marriott also features 210,000 square feet of dazzling event space for weddings and conferences. Play in style, experience JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa Palm Desert, California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing