We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great,not even good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
madison, wiscosnin
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not great,not even good!”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Booked on Hotwire. I never do that now I know why. Location good. Hotwire claimed 95% love this property. Oooookkkkay. That surprises me. King room next to elevator. Tiny, window a/c very noisy. Dog doo smell in the lobby. Sink is so tiny, like a baseball cut in half. No room to spread out the make up. About 2 feet between bed and tv. Got to walk sideways.
Bed is comfy. Asked for extra pillows. The terrace is smaller than all the others and above the lobby.
Breakfast is bad coffee and all carbs.
You have Got to see the pool. The view is of the electrical station.
Dumb move on my part to book Hotwire.
Btw, the desk person told me that hotwire and Priceline guests get specific rooms...there you go. I didn't think they could do that or at least wouldn't admit it.
We are off to Morton's for dinner..

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35islandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
As with any review or comment we are very concerned when a guest is dissatisfied even if the reservation has been made through a third party. All feedback, whether good or bad, can give us something to learn from and helps us to constantly improve our operations.

I am sorry to hear that you are not part of the 95% satisfied Hotwire customers. If we had known your stay was unsatisfactory we certainly would have offered to move or upgrade you to a bigger and better room in a different hotel location. I would very much like to speak to you to get details of your stay and reservation. I have listed my phone number and email for you to contact me at your convenience.

Again, I do appreciate your comments and feedback.

Thank You


Luis E Valderrama
General Manager
Lvalderrama@hiepalmdesert.com
760-340-4303 Ext 376
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    161
    58
    30
    23
See reviews for
101
152
46
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here during our recent few day trip to Palm Desert as we wanted something a little more economical. This fitted the brief and overall wasn't as bad as we might of expected. It was the weekend and the Saturday night was sold out, never the less they coped well and breakfast was good and kept well stocked. The room was comfortable well furnished. It's a shame that the pool and rooms overlook an electricity sub-station but it's not their fault and it is liveable. Good value hotel in a good location other than the comment above. Would stay again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ABritEnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert. Your comments are very important and your comfort is our number one priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This hotel was clean and quiet. Although others have said the breakfast room is small, there are tables outside off the lobby, too. The pool area was pleasant. All members of staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. This hotel is located across the street from a mall that has more restaurants than shops. Rancho Mirage is in much better shape than Palm Springs who has definitely seen better days

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Semsensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express in Palm Desert/Rancho Mirage, Your comments are very important to us and they will be shared with our staff.

We look forward to having you the next time you visit Palm Desert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was a great hotel for the festival. All rooms in the area during the festival are at premium rates and this was still a good value. We did go for the larger room with the sofa which provided additional needed space. The rooms were well acquainted and the bed was very comfortable. Even with the hotel at full capacity, everything was very neat and clean. The breakfast was better than expected. The entire staff for the weekend was very friendly and helpful. Would recommend for a trip to the area

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWPaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
We couldn't have said it better! We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts in creating guest experiences from “hotels guest's love”!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Spacious room, loved the little balcony, pool was heated pool area nice. Other amenities/restaurants close by. Easy parking, we were on our harly's.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoLoco69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for the great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to access so many of our amenities and local restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA state
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The facility is past its prime and luster. Our room had a moldy ceiling over the tub, an old split toilet seat, dark splotches on the tile floor that may be hardened glue, a floor-to-wall seam that looks ghastly with rusty mold, and water damage, broken wood laminate and peeling paint on the bathroom side of the door to the toilet room. The fan was very noisy, as was the fridge. The sink and counter space were very tiny and outside the bathroom. We could not set the thermostat lower than 70.

Supplies were inadequate.....we had 2 conditioners, 1 lotion andno shampoo. There was no paper or pen in the room.cma

The breakfast room seemed to take up most of the lobby space and it was crowded with guests.

There were no restaurants within walking distance that were open after 8 PM, so we had to resort to Del Taco (a chain that was not okay).

Overall, we were underwhelmed with this stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you for your review, it’s important for us to not only see the good in what we do, but also some of the negatives so we can work towards fixing those for the next guest.

I also appreciate you thoughts on the rest of our hotel. With our hotel approaching 28 years of age, we are clearly not as shiny and new as other hotels in the area. With that said we are continuously working hard to maintain the property and keep it as fresh and welcoming as possible for all of our guests.

There are a variety of restaurants within waking distance that are open until 11:pm, Sonoma Grille and Ruth’s Chris Steak House are located across the street, Don Diego’s, Café Italia and St Germaine, just to mention some of them are located next to the hotel at the Ralph shopping center.

Again, I do appreciate your comments and feedback very much and hope that despite your disappointments with your last experience, you may be willing to give us one more try and come see what's new at the Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert and the surrounding areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john016
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

NIce clean hotel and grounds. Free breakfast was very good and had a nice variety. Very nice staff.

Room Tip: Room had a small refriderator, sink and microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HM-ESA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert. Your comments are very important and your comfort is our number one priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0.3 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#14 of 22 in Palm Desert
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
3.1 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Property: Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
Address: 74675 Highway 111, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260-3803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert Rancho Mirage/Golf Hotel, directly in the city of Palm Desert, is in the heart of the 'World Capital of Golf'. This award winning quality Palm Desert hotel, known for its 'friendly and helpful staff,' awaits your next visit to Palm Desert, California. Stay where the leaders stay. Players from the PGA, LPGA and Senior PGA have made this hotel their home away from home. The Holiday Inn Express hotel is centrally located to over 120 'world class golf courses' and Coachella Valley's corporate community. Minutes from El Paseo, Palm Desert's renowned Shopping District, the Living Desert, Desert Willow & Indian Wells Golf Resorts, famous Palm Desert restaurants, the Bob Hope McCallum Performing Arts Center, Indian Wells Tennis Gardens, La Quinta Art Festival and world famous Palm Springs. When you are ready to unwind, take advantage of our large heated pool and spa, play an invigorating game of tennis or shuffleboard or workout in the executive gym. All rooms have semi-private patios or balconies. Start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start breakfast. In addition to breakfast, watch the events of the day on the 47' plasma screen TV and notice the new decor that includes fine leather furniture and granite throughout.The Hotel is undergoing lobby renovation from November 1st to January 31st,2017 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage Hotel Palm Desert
Holiday Inn Palm Desert
Palm Desert Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing