We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-So”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Desert Breezes Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“So-So”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2006

There's nothing terribly wrong with Desert Breezes. The rooms are clean, the units are ok, the pools are fine, there's just nothing really wow about it. Everything is really dated and in need of some ooomph. The grounds are mainly dead grass right now, the units are 70s style with old tvs and outdated everything. There are almost no amenities or activities. Decent gym-not many machines but I rarely saw people in it. Everything is kept clean, it's just more on a Motel level than a desert resort. I wouldn't recommend this place unless you get a pretty dirt cheap rate.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — The whole place is a bit blah
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Justin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    48
    20
    11
    11
See reviews for
53
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2006

I was very nervous about going to Desert Breezes, Had heard it was not clean (by reviews) and overall looked aged. We had a great time - planning our next trip back - there is a pool for about every 4 condo units, ours was updated, I believe they were built in 1982-85. All four of us ages 50-62 loved our stay, utilized the gym and water aerobic class for all four of us. I 100% recommend this place. I think Desert Breezes is the overall community and "4 seasons" is the timeshare section & appears a bit newer. Go enjoy the quiet and location Room 411 was perfect 2 master bdrm and 2 mstr baths - with laundry. About 1500 sq feet in size - unit was stocked with what we needed.

  • Liked — Pools and Gym were great - pool classes were fun - bikes and just walking around - no on-site eating but our unit was fully equipped for our cooking style.
  • Disliked — Not as well stocked for people staying 1-2 weeks (bathroom, washroom etc)
  • Tips/Secrets — Use a single story unit, get by a pool. close to the clubhouse is good
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank vijocass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2006

On the outside, this resort looks pretty nice, but from the inside it's a different story.

The units, and the onsite management, (including housekeeping and maintenance) are in desperate need of an overhaul. Upon our unfortunate arrival to the 2 bedroom unit, the 4 of us, (6 pp capacity) immediately noticed the dirty condtions. It was very obvious, even to the most forgiving person, that years of dirt had been allowed to build up. From the permanently stained walls and cabinets (inside and out) and microwave that was sticky/gummy with food, to the carpeted floors and furniture that had not been vacuumed or cleaned for a very long time. The smell of rotting foam rubber carpet padding, permeated the place. The refrigerator had a daily flood of water that accumulated under the drawers and ran out onto the floor. When the AC turned on, it sounded like a convoy of semi's coming through the place.

There were several safety issues such as exposed wires hanging out from 3 uncovered electrical outlets. We had to alternate showers, and toilets could not be flushed during a shower, because of the immediate scalding you'd received.

Both bathrooms were disgusting, with peeling enamel from the shower stall floor and the tub's floor and sides, and both were stained from years of use. Thick black mildew outlined the tile walls, with caulking faling out.

There were only 2 bathrobes in this unit for 6. We asked for 2 more, and they absolutely refused to give us any more, saying, "You only get 2, even if the unit is for 6." This is the attitude we dealt with throughout our week long stay.

Neither bedroom had a chair, mirror or table. The second bedroom had no alarm clock or TV, but both had been promised by the management before our arrival. The second bedroom had no nightstand of any kind, with only 2 very small dim wall lights. The furniture consisted of 2 twin beds and 2 small 3-drawer chests, and that's it. In this same bedroom, the sliding closet door was broken and was leaning against the wall.

The walls are extremely thin. We wound up listening to the TV below us (as in every word) until 3:30AM for several nights.

Each building has 6 units and one small hot tub. The black algae covering the inside of the tub, was so extreme, it was unusable. It need to be drained and scrubbed, but when we asked them to clean it, their answer was to dump more chlorine into the tub.

The topper was, they told us if we needed replacement towels before our midweek cleaning, (and I use the word cleaning loosely) we had to haul them 21/2 blocks down to the laundry room, next to the clubhouse. They proceeded to count the amount and type of towels we turned in, and replaced only those towels, then we signed for that amount. I asked for 4 addtional pool towels (you are allowed 4) and they made me feel like a criminal.

As you can imagine, we made a series of calls to the front desk almost everyday, for basic things (like a sponge and toilet paper) that should have been provided without asking. A few items were taken care of, but mostly WE were left to do the clean up and hauling towels etc. We were frustrated and tired of having to pursue another problem on a daily basis. We actually bought cleaning supplies to help with the living condtions.

Thanks to the Desert Breezes Resort, we couldn't wait to come home!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman Oaks, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2006

We have exchanged to this resort three times, and will be doing so again this year. The property is extremely well cared for, the units are well equipped and kept in good repair, and the staff is friendly. A car is definitely necessary.....but there is plenty to do within easy driving distances.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank JanGroshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2004

We stayed at "Four Seasons at Desert Breezes," but all the welcome packet materials said "Desert Breezes." Anyway, the properties are in the same gated neighborhood of timeshare condos and what appear to be houses.

The neighborhood was prettier than the others we saw nearby. It's very quiet, grassy, lots of older couples playing tennis in the morning. Mediterranian styled.

As for the condo, it is spacious and the living area was nicely decorated, but the bedrooms were sparse. Central air (imp. in the desert!) and a fireplace. Lots of windows, though our kitchen window was cracked and held together with masking tape. We tried to ignore that. The place showed its age -- sloppy touch-ups and caulking, dirty cabinets from not using drawer liners. The bedding was of lower quality. Don't get me wrong, we were happy with our accomodations, but not blown away by them. Definitely not 5-star, but it could be a 3- to 4-star.

As for the service, the receptionist was very sweet and check-in went smoothly, but she didn't seem to know the area well or how to get to tourist destinations. Our broken-faucet complaint was never answered, but a lightbulb was replaced in 10 minutes.

There is plenty of shopping in Palm Desert, from the same ol' chain stores you'd see all over California to upscale boutiques and antique shops. Palm Springs is 20 minutes' drive away.

We are a couple in our late 20s and have no children. We like to stay in really nice hotels, where rooms are about $300 a night. So this is what we thought of the resort in comparison to the luxury places we've visited. Also, this was a bonus week vacation, so I'd imagine we got whatever was left. In all, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Jaea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2004

What a great place to spend a relaxing holiday. Peaceful and quiet, but plenty to do within driving distance if thats what you want. Temperatures unbelievable, 110 degrees in the afternoon in October. Would recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday, in plenty of sunshine.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildomar, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2004

We have been owners at Desert Breezes since 1998. It has large beautiful grounds and very nice accommodations. Our 3 young boys love the 3 large pools and the game room.

Some of the facilities are beginning to show their wear and age, but the resort continues to upgrade with new appliances and furnishings. Each time we go there are nice new touches and upgrades, although some of the cupboards need to be replaced sooner, rather than later.

They have recently refinished all their pools and spas. They provide a washer/dryer, at no charge, for each condominum complex which is great when you have kids.

It does seem they are always struggling with crickets and sometimes ants, but I think that is just the desert environment. The rooms always are very clean and any issues that arise are always dealt with quickly by the accommodating staff.

While not a 5-star resort, it is definitely, very homelike and comfortable.

Helpful?
17 Thank superboymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
4.4 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#16 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
1.3 mi away
Indian Wells Resort Hotel
Indian Wells Resort Hotel
#4 of 4 in Indian Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Breezes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Breezes Resort

Property: Desert Breezes Resort
Address: 77955 Calle Las Brisas S, Palm Desert, CA 92211-8265
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Breezes Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of the Santa Rosa Mountains you'll find 10 buildings clustered around a beautiful water feature, and surrounded by lush landscaping; Desert Breezes Resort condominiums offer exquisite luxury and comfort. Each Mediterranean-style villa has a fully equipped kitchen and cozy furnishings, and the resort includes multiple pools and spas and on-site clubhouses. It's your perfect home-away-from-home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Breezes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Breezes Hotel Palm Desert
Desert Breezes Palm
Desert Breezes Resort Palm Desert, California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing