We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Special, Just Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Palm Desert
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
367 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Nothing Special, Just Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This Embassy Suites is really just average, and while I will probably stay here again, if the price is right, I would not go out of my way to return. It is an older property, and the furnishings are ok. The wifi works fine. But it is the other stuff, the breakfast and the manager's reception that really were disappointing. The breakfast is set up oddly and I had to ask another hotel guest how to find where they cook the omlettes. (It is set off to the side in a seperate room. You have to walk out a side door and into another area.) There is no signage to help the guest find this area. The rest of the breakfast foods are set up in the large room that includes a very large old fashioned bar area, the pool table and the arcade machines. The tables and chairs are very cafeteria style. The Managers Reception is nothing special. The bartender didn't really seem to care too much about making things enjoyable. There are stools at the bar and he did take good care with those customers, but for us sitting at tables, there was really not much interaction. The area for the breakfast and manager's reception would be more inviting if there were no arcade games or pool table in the same space. It was no fun to talk over the noise from these things.
I did have room service for dinner and the person delivering the food was very professional. I also arrived early and my room was ready.
If you shop around there are probably lots of other options for a stay in the desert. This one isn't bad, it is just ok.
September is more of a low season in the desert so maybe that is why things seemed lackluster here.
Again, it wasn't bad. It was just ho-hum.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wardgarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    195
    171
    151
    143
See reviews for
291
260
43
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The hotel was in a good location, but very dated. The room had dated furniture, the beds are not comfortable, the breakfast is okay, just have to make sure you get there early enough or there's not enough there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taft, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Arrived full of expectations for another wonderful Embassy experience. Left extremely upset with this facility and the staff running it. First night: lights not working in bedroom, toilet had to be flushed by hand (eventually flooded the bathroom), sofa bed torture to try to sleep on, drunken guests using profanity kept us from using the pool, more loud noise at pool area all during the night, staff arriving for work the next morning shouting to each other at 6:00 a.m. Reported problems and were moved to another room. That was a great improvement, but upon checkout, staff on duty offered only a 40% discount of the first night and said she wasn't even sure her manager would approve of that. This is not Embassy policy. We should have had a 100% discount on the first night with no further questions asked. I am currently pursuing a full refund with Embassy, but do not hold out much hope that they will honor their 100% satisfaction guarantee. Avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Deenie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan A, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Palm Desert, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Benjamin,

I am very sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserved during your recent stay with us. Please know that this is not typical of our hotel or our staff, and we are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced. We are always looking to improve our guest experience as your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider giving us another chance to not only meet, but exceed your expectations should you return to our area in the future. If we may be of any additional assistance, please do not hesitate to contact our offices directly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

The facility is a very relaxing environment. The pool area is clean and well laid out. The pool is very good. The complementary breakfast was very comprehensive and well furnished. This was a repeat stay and will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Timothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

If you are looking for a cheap hotel in the desert where your kids can run free and scream, look no further. If you are traveling without children, keep looking. The nightly reception is the worst I have experienced at an Embassy Suites. The line for a drink took over 20 minutes with only one bartender. The bar is also right next to video games for the kids. The room was ok but dated. At 11:30 PM we got a call from the front desk explaining our car was not parked in the right area and that they were about to tow it. My husband tried to tell them we were parked in the right zone and the front desk employee argued that he was wrong and we were going to be towed. Needless to say, it was not our car after my husband had to go into the parking lot and prove it to the employee. No apology or any sense of wrong doing. Terrible experience. Not the level of service expected from an Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lamarjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Except for those pesky pigeons at breakfast, everything was perfect and the cost was reasonable. We were right by the pool which worked well for an early morning swim. The room had a den with a couch, chair and desk. The bathroom was clean. I would stay here again for the same price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Hotel-great. Elevators, like from Hell! Hot! Hot! Hot! Room was nice, big and clean. T.P. was in short supply, but overall aquite good. Evening reception was O.K. but snacks came up short. Good place to come to in winter, but in summer, well???????

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort
2.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Palm Desert

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Palm Desert
Address: 74-700 Highway 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Palm Desert 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Embassy Suites Palm Desert hotel - where outstanding accommodations and superb hospitality await you in the heart of beautiful Palm Desert, California! Guests of the Embassy Suites Palm Desert hotel enjoy their stay in one of our 198 spacious two-room hotel suites, complimentary cook to order breakfast, complimentary wine and beer Manager's Reception in the Evengins, with either majestic mountain or lush courtyard view. Each of our Palm Desert hotel suites is equipped with a range of amenities, designed to make your stay with us in Palm Desert, CA as comfortable and enjoyable as possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Palm Desert Palm Desert
Embassy Suites Palm Desert
Palm Desert Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Hotel Palm Desert California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing